We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vegetarian options”

Yemanja Woodfired Grill
Ranked #2 of 222 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Yemanja is relaxing and welcoming, with a passion for tradition and excellence. Serving comfort food with a twist prepared over wood fired grill. Also, offering healthy foods with an extensive vegetarian menu and catering to all your dietary needs, such as vegan and gluten-free. Seating is either inside (air-conditioned) or outside on a cozy terrace.
allentown,pa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian options”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We dined here last evening after a few disappointing meals. Our oldest son is a vegetarian, it was like eating at an indian restuarant. He had multiple choices and was not sure which to order. He had a super food salad and vegetarian burger which were both delicious. Two people had onion soup which they both enjoys. My son, whose food opinion I value more than mine said the skirt steak was excellent, he would not share. My mahi mahi sauce was wonderful, fish itself was just ok. If we return to Aruba we would definitely return. Thank for a great meal.

Ps Service started slow but when she realized we wanted to eat quickly service improved

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,353
    329
    85
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for Great Food!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Great food prepared in unique ways. With a reservation we were seated within minutes. I had pork tips which were prepared in a grilled onion/blue cheese/ bacon sauce. Delish. The blue cheese was a little strong but I guess that a good thing if you like it. Wife had seafood trio. Service was great (a young man from Guana) and very attentive. We did not have dessert but they sounded great also. Atmosphere was very authentic Aruba/South American feel. Flavor on all dishes were good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An absolute must-try if in Aruba! The food is made with LOVE!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a reservation and were seated within minutes in the cozy, torch lit backyard where you could tell that the grill was on. We had the trio (grouper, mahi mahi & shrimp), shrimp with salad & rice and vegetable tempura as well as chocolate mousse for dessert. Everything was cooked, seasoned and decorated to perfection and absolutely delicious! I loved that there was a little bit of everything on the menu: fish, shrimp, steak, even multiple vegetarian options (I am the only vegetarian in the party and was very pleased). Service was professional yet warm. It was easy to tell that the food was made with love! Yemanja is phenomenal! If you don't try Yemanja when in Aruba, you're missing out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elskin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Simply GREAT!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Had a wonderful meal with a group of five adults and one teen. Ma-hi Ma-hi with creole sauce was cooked to perfection, nice NY strip, wonderful salmon with a slight asian twist, ok Italian style grouper. Total tab for 6 including three bottles of sparkling water and drinks plus tip $250. Service was amazing. Very cool venue in a wood covered patio.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jadams5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“didn't live up to the hype”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was hoping this would be a great meal based on TA reviews but unfortunately it wasn't - especially considering the price. Our waitress Doreen was great. I told her we'd like to be served promptly and she took good care of us throughout the night. I had swordfish with risotto and it was mediocre. My wife ordered a local specialty - blackened triple tail - but she didn't like it. They offered her another entree and she chose grouper which was very good. The cream bulee was very good. The manager checked on us a few times which was appreciated. Very nice people here. We would come back b/c the service was so good but for what we paid we feel like there are better options.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gicoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yemanja Woodfired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Yemanja Woodfired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing