We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reputation Deserved”

Yemanja Woodfired Grill
Ranked #2 of 222 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Yemanja is relaxing and welcoming, with a passion for tradition and excellence. Serving comfort food with a twist prepared over wood fired grill. Also, offering healthy foods with an extensive vegetarian menu and catering to all your dietary needs, such as vegan and gluten-free. Seating is either inside (air-conditioned) or outside on a cozy terrace.
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Reputation Deserved”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We finally made it to this wonderful restaurant that consistently receives high marks. Our evening was as close to perfect as possible -- lovely environs, great service, and unique food prepared perfectly. They definitely deserve their reputation as one of the finest restaurants on the island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MyBrideandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,357
    330
    85
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I don't give a 10 out of 10 , but it is a 9.5”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

First, I will tell you that we have been looking at going here for some time but never gave it a try till tonight. The service was very good. The potato soup was the best I have ever had. Then I had the Yemanja salad with portobello mushroom and added chicken. This is a very expense salad, but once again one of the best I've ever had. I loved it. This is now my new favorite place to eat in Aruba. Don't wait like I did. You will be missing a great meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1justfishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord, Aruba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We go over and over again to Yemanja. We love the meat and the atmosphere!
I love this restaurant because everything is home cooked and it is not a factory.
We will be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gluten free paradise!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Always has been one of my favorite restaurants but since discovering my gluten intolerance a few years ago I have a new appreciation for restaurants that not only create wonderful dishes but can also cater to those gluten free diets. Now I cannot attest to how safe this restaurant is for a person with celiac but for someone like me its PERFECT. Just let your server know at the beginning of your meal that you are gluten free and they will cater to your needs. They offer a gluten free bread that according to my wife is better than their regular bread. Their menu indicates which items are gluten free or vegan. My wife and I had grilled salmon and creole pork chops and both were excellent. My wife had an appetizer salad in a filo dough wrap filled with goat cheese which was amazing.
We are planning a second visit to Yemanja this trip and I continue to rate as one of the best restaurants on the island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hsmolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten at a ton of top eateries across the world and know what good a restaurant is all about so I'll get right to the point:

Pros
- the food is ridiculously great, off the charts outstanding

Cons
- service is slow, even by Aruba standards and not very good. We went for my 40th birthday celebration and they botched that up. I read from many others that service was great so I guess it depends on who you get
- decor, not much to say about that. Outside is nice but you will go home smelling of smoke from the grill. Inside reminds me of a Jose tejas and was a bit dirty (a few dead bugs on the floor)
- overly expensive ($38 for a watered down pitcher of sangria)

The great food doesn't out way the negatives when you take cost into account, especially when you have a ton of other options to choose from. Won't be coming back here

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank atkahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yemanja Woodfired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Yemanja Woodfired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing