We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place very good grill”

Yemanja Woodfired Grill
Ranked #2 of 225 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Yemanja is relaxing and welcoming with a passion for tradition and excellence. Serving international food with strong Caribbean influences prepared on our wood fired grill. Also, offering healthy foods with an extensive vegetarian menu and catering to all your dietary needs, such as vegan and gluten-free. Seating is either inside (air-conditioned) or outside on a cozy terrace. Both inside & outside seating are non-smoking.
Burgos, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place very good grill”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Going there with family, nice atmosphere both terrace or inside, menu has wide variety and the woodfire grill is worth. Service average, tried to be kind but nothing special, wine list a bit short but. I had the Seafood chowder 8$ with pernod touch and picanha $28 and im glad with my choice. Other items in the menu are too pricey but oh well this is Aruba.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarodrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,388
    334
    88
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“My new favorite place!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

On our last nite in Aruba we decided to try Yemanja and are so happy we did! We had Doreen as our waitress who was awesome! I had the onion soup for an appetizer..it takes 15 min to prepare but soooo worth it, and my fiance had the fish chowder which he loved. I had the Grouper entree that is stuffed with boursin cheese and my fiance had the fish trio...mahi, grouper, and shrimp both entrees were served with an assortment of sides that we shared and the DESSERT was the bomb!! I had a banana tart served with banana gelato...The wine selection was impressive as well. And Doreen shared a few good laughs with us! This restaurant will be a place we will keep coming back to year after year!! LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best dinning experiences in Aruba!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We always have Yemanja on our list of restaurants when we come to Aruba. The food was great. We all had different entrees plus steak tartar for an app and the chocolate molten lava cake for desert. You can go wrong. Foodies will love it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Poo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a let down”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

After hearing great things about this restaurant, I made a reservation for our family of 4. We were 15 minutes early for our reservation and seated right away inside. There was hardly anyone in the restaurant yet. Everything started out ok..ordered drinks an appetizer and salad. Other people started coming in our section. This is when we started to notice other tables that came in after us got their appetizers and salads before us. Then we waited too long for our meals. The other tables had their meals and were practically finished before we got ours. We counted at least 6 to 7 tables that came in after us were getting their food. At this point a good waiter/waitress would bring out more bread or something but we were just left there to keep noticing how neglected we were. I finally asked about our meals and we were told there were still 2 tables ahead of us. Finally our meals came out one by one. Nothing together. My husband never got the wine he ordered either. The food was good but the mood was ruined. Customer service was horrible. With a meal being $161.00 and that is just 1 app, 1 salad and 4 meals. (We all drank water. ) we can definitely spend the money elsewhere and have a great meal with great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Dining gluten free is always an "experience". One thing we have found about dining at Yemanja is there is never a worry about getting not only a safe meal but one that is appetizing as well. The selection of gluten free items in extensive and the management and wait staff are extremely knowledgeable when it comes to having to dine gluten free. Our only regret is that we did not find Yemanja until our fourth trip to Aruba. It is far and away our favorite dining spot now. Five visits in the last two years and each one just as exceptional as the one prior.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John08753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yemanja Woodfired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Yemanja Woodfired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing