We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”

Yemanja Woodfired Grill
Ranked #2 of 229 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Yemanja is relaxing and welcoming with a passion for tradition and excellence. Serving international food with strong Caribbean influences prepared on our wood fired grill. Also, offering healthy foods with an extensive vegetarian menu and catering to all your dietary needs, such as vegan and gluten-free. Seating is either inside (air-conditioned) or outside on a cozy terrace. Both inside & outside seating are non-smoking.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We read other begative reviews and were a bit worried. Don't be turned off. The place is great! Service was excellent food was, too. Looking around all of the other diners were having a good time and the service was prompt and friendly. Follow the good reviews for dining advice but our beef meals were both first class.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wagiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,438
    342
    91
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice casual place”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate at Yemanja our first night in Aruba not long after arriving. We were tired and hungry. We were staying at the Renanasaince close by. When we arrived with no reservation we were told they were full but we could eat at the bar. The bartender Michichana was great. She was very helpful with wine selection. Dinner was delicious. We both had the grouper. Highly recommend. Besides the fish we got black beans, potatoes, rice and veggies. A lot of for the money

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pjhofoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, NY
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“My favorite place”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Their food is so good and service is great, i make sure i go every year! The staff is so friendly and they have a great menu

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank shahow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“service issues”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were seated for nearly 20 minutes with no water or waitress. The waitress finally acknowledged us by saying she would be with us soon....soon was a long time. I had to ask for water twice before we finally got some. When we ordered we were told that they were out of the special that my husband was going to have. We should have been told that when we got the menus. We ordered drinks which finally came AFTER we had been served our entrees. The waitress got the drink orders wrong but, couldn't understand what we had wanted. (drinks were taken off the bill) Dinner comes with sides of rice, beans, mixed grilled veggies and mashed potatoes, we were not impressed by the sides except for the veggies.
The skirt steak was salty. but tasty. We would not go back to this restaurant again, there are so many other good places on the island. This restaurant needs more bus people to help with the water service and clearing of tables, none seemed to be present. The appetizers were very expensive as were the main courses. NOT worth the money we spent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great. Went back for more”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The food here was so good, we cancelled another reservation and went back for a second meal - which was just as good as the first. That said, dining outdoors is better than indoors.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMSBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yemanja Woodfired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Yemanja Woodfired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing