We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ATV Tour from Hell”
Review of Watapana Tours

Watapana Tours
Ranked #74 of 76 Tours in Oranjestad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether business or pleasure, Watapana Tours delivers. With 20 years of experience in the industry, we are the leaders in providing fantastic vacation experiences. Let us help you combine the perfect adventure. From a rugged ATV extravaganza expedition to a comfortable air-conditioned island tour by Bus. You can count on us for great value and unforgetable experiences.
Billerica, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ATV Tour from Hell”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Jeff M

This was our first trip to Aruba so we decided to tour the island on one of the ATV tours. These brochures were in bags given to us at the airport when we arrived. Everything started out wrong from the beginning. The bus was over an hour picking us up. The women who took our money barely spoke English and was quite rude. We were told we would be given a discount if we called in our reservation and that didn't happen. There were going o be a total of ten on the tour and two quit almost immediately because their equipment kept stalling. Once we finally took off on the tour tow of the machines broke down which delayed the tour for over an hour. Mine was one of those machines. All of the ATV's were in pretty bad shape. Once we were returned to the starting point there was no bus to return us to our condo. The customer service women locked the doors and wouldn't even speak with us so we could call a cab or request some of our money back. The bus did come eventually, but after another hour delay. I'd rather have thrown away money in the Casino. The only good thing about the tour was the guide who seemed as frustraed as we did and because of all the delays we didn't get to see all the sights we were supposed have seen. This outfit is also part of a tour group called Bon Bini Tours. Just beware and spend your dollars wisely.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    9
    11
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mixed bag of fun”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had a difficult time rating this tour because the customer service and the condition of the Jeep would get no stars. Our tour guide, Jonathan was fabulous..he's a 5 star plus guide! As stated in other reviews: we were late being picked up; the woman at the office was not in any way nice. After we waited for other customers to be taken care of (thankfully, it was a Saturday and they weren't very busy), we paid. As we were waiting for the mechanic to finish working on the Jeep ( seems to be a recurring problem) the woman from the office told us we owed her more money.. $6 for Nat'l Park fee and $1 Aruba taxes. Hmmm... Because we were the only 2 people on the tour, Jonathan was nice enough to customize the tour to see what we wanted to see, which for me was a real bonus. The Jeep did break down at the Gold Ruins but did not cause us any delays. In fact, we were given extra time on the tour which Jonathan didn't have to do. As it turned out, this tour was less expensive than others and we got to see more, but consumer beware! Know what you're getting into prior to booking and sometimes cheapest isn't always better. I feel we got a bargain..don't know if that would be the case, particularly in high tourist season, which October is not. If you do decide to go..definitely ask for Jonathan!!! Can't speak highly enough about him!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dune buggy from hell”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The guide was great, but the equipment was horrible. One of the units broke down twice. Spent over a hour on the side of the road. Would not offer any refund. Another couple got completely screwed. There dune buggy died, they had to take a jeep back. Then they charged them for a Jeep Safari. I am sure they will be out of business by the time I return to Aruba next year

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Equipment”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The tour and the guide was great. The only problem was that their equipment was very run down. My wife and I did the dune buggy while the other two couples rode the ATV's. We had to stop three times for a mechanic to come to our location and either fix the equipment or replace it. I was told that they ordered new equipment but it hasn't come in yet. If they are telling me the truth and new equipment is on it's way than I would highly recommend this company. I would not use them again unless I was sure that the equipment was replaced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bram79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ATV adventures with Sebastian the crazy man from the Netherlands”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We reserved a slot for an afternoon ATV tour with Watapana Tours. We were picked up at our time-share by a new coach bus, early and took off immediately. The other tourists cancelled or did not show up leaving my two adult sons and myself.

After talking to Sebastian, our tour guide, he suggested, based on our past experience with a similar tour, that we take an alternate route.

Saw some great sights such as the the "three-way" bridge, a nice venue for what you're thinking, but a geological formation where the sea enters and exits in three directions. Swimming in surf of the incoming waves were brialliantly colored parrot fish with neon-colorings similar to their parrot name-sakes.

Sebastion took us OFFFF-ROAD as we worked our way to the natural pool rather than our original destination, the California Lighthouse.

Our adventure, and it was an adventure, began at 1:45 and ended at 5:30 - 45 minutes longer than advertised.

It was a great time and great entertainment value. For a really exciting way to spend an afternoon in Aruba and see some venues that you may not on a typical tour, try Watapana's ATV adventure and make sure you ask for Sebastian!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watapana Tours also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Watapana Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing