We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation at Le Chateau Aruba”
Review of Le Chateau Aruba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Chateau Aruba
Montreal (QC)
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice vacation at Le Chateau Aruba”
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We had a great time in Aruba. The owner was very nice. For pepole who like to take a walk at night, this is the spot. Only 5 minutes of walk to the town (restaurant, shopping, casinos and nightlife). My second time in Aruba and first time at Fred's house. I rent the executive suite with the garden view and I enjoy my staying. We were 4 couples that each rent a condo at this place. If your travalling with friends, this is the place and if you like the carnival, the parade, you are only 1 street away to watch it. You can have your privacy and it is very secure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jojim911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

First of all it was my 1st time in Aruba. We were 4 couples. We had reserved some condos in another complex and a week before going we found out they had declared bankruptcy. So this is how we found Le Chateau Aruba. The owner Fred is a kind and respectable person who would help you in a heart beat. The condo's are extremely clean and very nice. The price was VERY reasonable especially because we were very well situated.(Nice shopping area) The restaurants are very good and very reasonably priced. Always check your bill and understand what they are charging cause nearly every place would charge me something I had not ordered.Also if you are a group, make it very clear if you want seperate bills cause they will put everything on one bill which is even harder to understand. Had we booked an all inclusive vacation it would have costs us 4 times what we paid, food included and car rental included. The food is the same price as in Montreal Canada and the wine a bit less. You can drink the tap water so I bought some bottled water and when the bottles were empty we would fill refill them and put them in the fridge so when we went out we would have cold water. In Aruba if you want to see everything it is worth renting a car. Shop the rentals cause you can get a good price just abit outside of the airport area and they come and get you at the airport.
Le Chateau Aruba does not have access to a beach but all the beaches are public and don't belong to the hotels. You have to rent a chair (between 5 and 8 dollars) depending which part of the beach you go to. You can go by bus.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bachou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Le Chateau is located on the corner of a residential block in downtown Orangestad. Ten minutes away from the airport, a 5 min walk to the Renaissance Hotel and other downtown shops and places to eat AND the beach is right across the street! Fred, the owner, was a wonderful host! The apartment was clean, spacious, and offered a nice sized kitchen with pots, pans, plates, and utensils. Le Chateau is a beautifully built residence that has a quaint and charming outdoor space perfect for lounging and enjoying the sweet breeze that flows through the island while munching on a big bowl of cereal :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hsf218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Le Chateau Villa in Aruba in February 2008, one week in the Junior suite and one week in a deluxe suite with a separate bedroom. We were very happy with our accomodations and thought that we received excellent value - the suites were roomy, clean and the one bedroom suite was beautifully designed, furnished and airy! We didn't even turn our air conditioning on once!The Junior suite was perfect for the two of us and fit our budget limits. The proprietor is an excellent host and will provide any information required on sight seeing or restaurants. We will definitely go back next year! We specifically didn't want to stay in the hotel zone at a 5 star hotel on the beach because we love to cook ourselves especially the wonderful fish that is available at the local markets! And the 5 star hotels are very expensive!Then when we do go out for dinner, its very special for us! I can't wait for next year, loved staying at le chateau,
Also, le chateau is very centrally located to shopping and some excellent restaurants and very safe as the building is surrounded by a fence with locked gates. Recommend renting a car to get to the fantastic beaches and giving you the freedom to sightsee the whole wonderful island!

Almost forgot, the water in Aruba is wonderful, you can drink it safe from the tap!!

  • Liked — Location, full kitchen and cost fit our budget
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chrisEdmonton_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2008

Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. I have never seen such a dirty place in all my life. Paint missing from the walls, not to mention unfinished areas. Bathroom and kitchen infested with roaches. Air conditioning always shutting off. Pictures of what was supposed to be in our room was not there when we arrived. No beach or access for miles! Caught owner steeling our mail and signing for it.

  • Liked — Absolutly nothing
  • Disliked — Stealing, and the roaches!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank j_s_v_s_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChateauOceanVilla, owner at Le Chateau Aruba, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
We take pride in our property, has been hosting many wonderful and happy clients and will continue to do so, Our place is dedicated to clients who are looking for a quiet and joyful atmosphere, unfortunately in rare occasion we refuse to continue hosting clients who don’t respect other clients peace and comfort,
Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, WI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2008

We have stayed at Le Chateau for 5 years now in the Junior Suite.
We love it. We are seasoned vacationers and do not like the hub- bub of the resort areas. It is quiet and peaceful. Fred, the owner, has become a great friend to us and always welcomes us with open arms. The place is clean and in a great location in Oranjestad near restaurants and shopping. I also like the security of the place. (Guests have a key to the front gate.) We look forward to
seeing Fred every Christmas and ringing in the New Year with him! It is fun to meet the other guests from year to year and we feel like we take home more great memories with every stay.
Donnita & Steve Lazers
Wisconsin

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — There is not a pool
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dslazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

I wish I would have read other reviews before staying. The pictures are very decieving. You are not on the beach! The grand suite was what we booked. Planned on staying at least six months. Two weeks later and we are moving to a much nicer part of town with a pool and closer to beaches for half the price. Walls were dirty and not finished being painted. Not as clean as I would have liked it. Air conditioning always shuts off. Cable TV is fuzzy. Internet connection is so week, we constantly had to reboot our computers. No hot water!! We had no view of any ocean. We could look out to the street behind. You are more than 20 yards to the ocean, and the beach that allows swimming, that is in walking distance belongs to a resort that we don't have access to unless you use the towels that the owner has, that resemble the resorts. You are in walking distance to the shops. Thats the only positive we have for staying here. We didn't like having to ask permission to do laundry. I wouldn't feel safe walking the area at night. You do have a locked gate around the rooms though. I would recommend looking for other places to stay. There are great places for great prices. This is not one of them!

South Dakota

  • Liked — Walking distance to shops.
  • Disliked — Not as described!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jenniferch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
0.5 mi away
Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Flamboyant Garden Villas
Flamboyant Garden Villas
#24 of 30 in Oranjestad
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aruba Breeze Condominium
Aruba Breeze Condominium
#6 of 16 in Palm - Eagle Beach
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aruba Surfside Marina
Aruba Surfside Marina
#2 of 12 in Oranjestad
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cadushi Apartments
Cadushi Apartments
#2 of 30 in Oranjestad
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rutena Suites
Rutena Suites
#7 of 30 in Oranjestad
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau Aruba

Property: Le Chateau Aruba
Address: Julianastraat # 14 | Mon Plaisir, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Chateau Aruba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only boutique hotel in down town Oranjestad in Arubauniquely located in down town Oranjestad, Two blocks from the Renaissance Resort, Twenty yards off the ocean and with in walking distance of the surf side Beach and vibrant center of Oranjestad, the restaurants, casinos, night clubs, shops and all exciting down town attractions and less than ten minutes drive from the air port, Specious two rooms suites fully air-conditioned with full kitchen And all luxury amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Chateau Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Aruba Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing