We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll definitely be back!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aruba Surfside Marina
Ranked #2 of 12 Oranjestad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I went for time of rest and relaxation.....and that's exactly what we received....the stafff was Great.....Very helpful and friendly!!! The rooms looked exactly like the pictures shown on the website....we are already planning our next trip there!!! The sunsets were spectacular!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 126 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

The website for this tiny hotel is completely acurate. The place is as beautiful as it appears to be. Every morning we had a lovely, simple, & more than adequate breakfast accompanied by juice & coffee served to us on the balcony outside our suite. The sunsets were beautiful as viewed from our room, balcony, beach, or marina restaurant. Intimate spot, fabulous location. Some construction on the LGSmith to prepare a new park leading to downtown. So right now it is a little dusty for parking, but in no way does this interfere with your enjoyment at this spot. The friendly staff at the office, open weekdays only, will answer any questions. We felt secure at this location at all times. Missed seeing a wedding by one day! The courtyard is beautiful, especially at night. Easy to contact by email with any questions. Do not hesitate to stay here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice and comfortable. Email hotel with any questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kowalisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Thanks to Simon and your staff for a great couple of weeks. We stayed in the grand suite for two weeks with an extra bed put in for my daughter. The location is ideal for town and theres Pinchos and barefoot within a stonesthrow. Breakfast was excellent served on the terrace every day though could do with a bit more variety if being picky but then its not normal for two week stays. Rooms excellent with excellent aircon fans, comfortable furnishing, a big old bus of a tv fridge and microwave to keep your tinnies cool and reheat those snacks if necessary. As with anything to fully apreciate aruba you must hire a car get up to both ends of the island etc. You can walk into town easily and will be even better when the promenade is finished hopefully this summer go to the fort on a Tuesday night, a great cultural evening. My wife will be using this as her stopover point when travelling to Ven each year from now on, couldn't be better for airport convenience and a friendly, clean, safe stopover.

Room Tip: Grand Suite is superb. wife hasd a studio here earlier in the year to be honest they're all good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here for 8 days in the grand suite, and we loved it here. It was far enough away from the touristy areas, yet you could walk to downtown Oranjestad from here. It was very quiet and romantic here. Our room was very nice, and housekeeping kept it very clean. The breakfast consisted of a plate of fresh fruit, bread, lunchmeat, yogurt, orange juice, coffee, and danish or cake. It was very good, and filing. Everyone here was very nice. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful, and it is right on the beach! They are building a park on either side of the hotel for walking and bicycling. It should be done in a few months. The construction didnt bother us or wake us up early, so it was of no inconvience to us. If you dont like staying in the the busy, touristy areas, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jefersonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We booked this B&B for four nights and couldn't have been happier. The rooms are spotless. The room had a balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean. There are only five units so it is quiet. If you are used to the highrise area, this place is not for you, although the highrise area is a mere 10 - 15 minutes away by car.

A huge breakfast is served on your balcony at the time you select.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. There is some routine maintenance and upgrading going on but there is no noise or distractions.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. When we return next year we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gatorpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My girlfriend and I loved this hotel. We consider it a key part of why our trip to Aruba was so enjoyable. There are 3 "best" features that will bring us back on our next trip. 1) There's only 5 rooms. We saw so many people on the north side of the island jammed into huge hotels and we'd go back to our secluded, quiet room and be very happy. 2) The rooms were, in fact, very quiet. Yes, it's close to the airport but it seemed that the rooms were sound proofed in some way because we really couldn't hear anything through the doors or windows. 3) We ended up loving the location because we decided to travel all over the island to see everything (yup - first time in Aruba). And as I mentioned before, it's close to the airport so you're off the plane and in your hotel room in a few minutes.

Additionally, we loved that our room (and all the other rooms) have a balcony over looking the ocean. There was always breakfast served, at the time requested, right on the table outside our room. The rooms and hotel were all nicely decorated and very well kept. Also, in speaking with the owner as we were leaving, he mentioned that they are in the process of changing over the entire hotel to energy efficient cooling systems "to help reduce the hotels carbon footprint".

We seriously thought about writing a negative review to keep our secret safe but we want them to still be in business when we come back!

Overall, we'd absolutely stay there again. It really was central to everything we did.

Room Tip: just email them. We got pics back of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Innerstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Our party had 7 people in 2 families. We booked adjoining units with a connecting door and had meals together. We were very pleased with the location of the hotel relative to the airport, and also far enough away from Oranjestaad and cruise ships, etc. to be peaceful, though the planes taking off were frequently noisy. The sunsets from our balcony were spectacular, those alone worth the price of the room.

Breakfast was fresh, filling, and somewhat varied across the days (bread vs, croissants, meat/cheese vs.eggs, varying fruits) across the week. Don't expect omelets/bacon/hash browns -- it's continental style. Housekeeping was excellent. There are microwave and full-size fridge in the room. Simon and Ianthe, the hotel managers, were extremely hospitable and accommodating throughout our 8-night stay.
A few logistical tips:
- The Aruba tourist office is in a building immediately across the street from the hotel. We were able to get some good advice there about the Bon Bini festival that takes place every Tuesday evening at Fort Zoutman in Oranjestaad (it was OK, inexpensive at $3 and worth seeing once).
- When exiting the hotel parking lot to drive north toward Orangestaad you often have to wait a long time to turn left across traffic. Instead, turn right and drive 1/4 mile to the traffic circle and use it to do a U-turn. Often much faster.
- Stock the fridge with Balashi beer, which is fantastic! Cheese is good and affordable in Aruba. There are lots of grocery stores north of Oranjestaad, plus Hu Chada bakery. Stores close by 8pm and the bakery's hours are erratic -- get there early.
- There is a very good smoothie stand (fresh tropical fruit) named "Happy Spot" across the street from Rotena Mall. Pleasant owner too. It's located in a sort of parking lot one block behind a Dominican fruitstand that sells many types of tropical fruit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlbanyHokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
0.2 mi away
Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club
2.9 mi away
Paradera Park Aruba
Paradera Park Aruba
#1 of 1 in Paradera
461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wonders Boutique Hotel
Wonders Boutique Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oranjestad
381 reviews
7 mi away
Club Arias B&B
Club Arias B&B
#1 of 4 in Savaneta
945 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Surfside Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Surfside Marina

Address: L.G. Smith Blvd. 7 | Surfside Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oranjestad
Price Range: $192 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aruba Surfside Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruba Surfside Marina Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba Surfside Marina Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing