We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely Local Entertainment”

Bonbini Festival Show
MARYLAND
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Truely Local Entertainment”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was very enjoyable. It was local Arubians, giving a local show. I always enjoy seeing the REAL local activities. There was a band, some folk dancers, a few jokes. Locals prepared some aruban food that you could purchase. It was all very good and very affordable. This is not a real big event, a true local cultural event. If you want to see some real everyday Aruba visit this event.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SISSPENCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    80
    49
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent way to learn about Aruban culture”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

As an attraction in general, I'd give this a generous 3 stars, however, given that there are no other attractions in Aruba that shares some of its culture and history, I had to bump this to a very generous 4 stars. Its true, this "festival" reminded me more of a cultural show put on by a school than something professional, as it seemed to be the same dancers coming out doing different dances and the same singer coming out with different songs, it was still worthwhile to learn a bit more about their history, given the rest of the tourism here is so Americanized/materialized.

The food was nothing to write home about, but worth checking out to get a little taste of a typical home-cooked meal...and of course afterwards you can wander to any of the tasty restaurants nearby if the fish/chicken here doesnt satisfy your hunger.

I wouldnt recommend going completely out of your way for this, i.e., taxi ride, as its barely just over an hr show, but make it a half-day trip by coming downtown, doing some shopping (there is highend designer brands as well as souvenirs stalls too), then grab one of those free tourist booklets that has a "walking guide to Oranjestad" in it, and explore some of the neighborhood history, and end with checking out this show.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NEAutumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Find Something Else to Do”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went to the show on August 28th and were very disappointed. The admission charge is $5 per person and you can't really see the venue until you pay and turn the corner. If we could have seen the venue, we would have saved the admission price. The "festival" such that it is, consistes of three craft sales tables at the front, a cash bar, food vendor stand, and a stage on which local performers do native dances. We opted to get dinner at Que Pasa a block or so away and returned for a rather underwhelming show of commentary (long winded) and dances. We were very disappointed. I would not recommend. Go somewhere else for entertainment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bring back the 1920s DJ!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband read up about the Bonbini Festival Show in a pamphlet, so we decided to go. Took us a while to find it (look for the clock tower), but got there at about 6:20. We found out admission was $5, and saw through the gaps that there were lots of seats, so we decided to be good sports and try it out. There are a few vendors selling souvenirs, and some selling food. $7 for a tilapia dish with rice, salad, plantain and some sort of potato cake; not bad for the price and it was actually pretty tasty. Drinks cost us $6.50 for 2 beer and a bottle of water. We got in early so got pretty good seats; try to show up as early as possible because a lot of people ended up having to stand for the 1.5 hr duration of the show. We were greeted by an emcee, which, like may have mentioned, droned on and on about the history of Aruba and unbearably took about 5-10 minutes to describe every single month of the year in Aruba and what they did to celebrate (needless to say, we were extremely excited that he grouped May/June/July together as one speech and Aug/Sept/Oct as well). The dancers were the same girls, but not bad... Then they brought the "1920s DJ" which was a music box and a metal.. some sort of instrument that ... I don't know, but the first time they played it, it was loud, they were off beat, and actually made the child behind us cry... Which probably was the funnest part of the show because it was so bad. Now we're 20somethings that came to Aruba for our honeymoon, so maybe this show is geared to another crowd, but even within 10 mins we considered slipping out, but we decided to suck it up and see what else it had to offer... not much. We ended up leaving 5 mins early because we couldn't stand it anymore. On our cab ride home, the cab driver told us he knew the show wasn't very good... now where was he 2 hrs ago when we went to the show? The dancers and the musicians put up a good effort, but would we recommend it? Probably not.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good introduction to the Culture of Aruba”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We dropped by the Fort and paid the entrance fee to their museum. We found out it was a private museum. We decided to come back that evening for the show. the price was right $5 and we were told Carribean food would be there for sale approx $5 - $7 a plate. drinks were also available. If you want a front row seat get there early, however they start at 7pm

the dancers were wonderful and we were taken through the Aruban calendar month by month. By the time we hit September it was getting a little long winded, ( reason for the lower rating) however the band and dancers with their change of costumes and audience interaction made the evening.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonbini Festival Show also viewed

 

Been to Bonbini Festival Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing