We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Gem!”
Review of The West Deck

The West Deck
Ranked #19 of 267 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Bar, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was one of my favorite meals during our trip to Aruba. We had eaten at some other lovely, but upscale places and we were hunting for something casual, beachy yet special. We found it at The West Deck. Eugene at the door accommodated our request for a "good" table - he had Harlem seat us at a table with an unobstructed view of the water which we greatly appreciated Our servers were Joanne and Sol who were really great (my friend has some serious food allergies and Joanne really made sure that her meal did not contain any of her allergens). I loved that they had a guy playing steel drum - definitely added to the ambiance especially as many other restaurants seemed to play American 80s music (I don't want to hear the Dirty Dancing soundtrack while in Aruba! ;)). My only suggestion there would be to have him do songs from the Carribean. The food was yummy - my favorite was the coconut shrimp and my huge margarita was delicious. I also had the funchi (corn polenta smothered in cheese) - yes, please!!!! Eugene called us a taxi to go back to our hotel which was nice. We felt taken care of by the warm staff and loved our experience here!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

We read the reviews and were excited to try it. The food was just ok. The prices were cheaper compared to other restaurants on the island. However, we would have rather spent more money for better quality food. The bar food at our resort taste better. We won’t be back.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank NutMeg2399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela P, Owner at The West Deck, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all feedback in order to improve our guest experience. We would like the opportunity to having you back in a future visit in order improve, please inform us ahead of time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

Free Parking is hard to find in Oranjestad these days. Just outside the center on L. G. Smith Blvd., this eatery on Governor's Bay is a terrific place. We had lunch there two times this trip. Under cover, but open air dining. We watched boats and Sea-dos being launched and put back on their trailers. A few fishermen. Our waiter was Ivo (he of the best smile) both days. Ask and he will tell you the best way to work the menu, where the seafood comes from, best way to sample Aruba specialties. We talked about the island's economy, the current challenges facing Venezuela, and the natural beauty of the island. We chose to share appetizers in order to taste as many items as we could without having to waddle out to our car. Great food, reasonable prices, tasty Pina Coladas,
Wonderful wait staff, and no rushing! Free parking. Near Queen Wilhelmina Park. Within walking distance of the Renaissance.
15% service charge is added to the bill and distributed "among the staff on a point basis and becomes part of your server salary"

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gretchen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

... great evening, tasty food and nice ambient aside the main centre of Oranjestad tourist madness! We got a table seaside without reservation - we were lucky!

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank Chrjs81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019

This restaurant is only a few hundred yards from the popular tourist traps. It looks like a boat launch but dont be fooled. This place is a beachy low key hangout. The staff were friendly and helpful. Joan was out waitress and was amazing. I suggest getting a bucket of Chill and any entree, and just sit back and enjoy. Seating is outside but there are no pest. Just the nice warm breeze. You will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The West Deck also viewed

 

Been to The West Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing