We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The West Deck

The West Deck
Ranked #16 of 225 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Bar, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Goffstown, New Hampshire
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Raul welcomed my husband and I with a big smile and helped us pick out a cold beer and helped with the menu the food was full of flavor and plates were perfect portion.The West Deck was very clean and beautiful views .Can't to visit again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arubabingo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,035
    468
    121
    40
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makkinga, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place, nice food”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Don't expect fine dining, but great atmosphere and great local food.
Ambiance is key here, created by the very nice people of West Deck among which is Raoul, our waiter on 2 occasions. Fair prices. We had diner and lunch here and both were very enjoyable.
So, order the fried grouper, take a local Balashi Chill and relax!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winooski, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A new discovery for us on this trip! We had a great time with the owner and staff.Myrna was very friendly as well as everyone else. Great place to watch the planes land or watch a cruise ship leave!! Great place for tapas!! Will b back next year!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaritafix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Great food on the beach, close to Renaissance hotels”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A chance walk along L.G. Smith Blvd from our hotel led to the discovery of this picturesque beach front dining spot. Warmly welcomed by pretty,young and blond Dutch Annemiek, on her last few days of her seasonal contract, we were seated on the covered deck, enjoying the changing colors of the sunset sky over the ocean.

The concept of the establishment to offer appetizer sized entrées with encouragement to feel free to share those, we were very pleased by the menu selection. We ordered and thoroughly enjoyed a Governor Bay Beach Salad of baby lettuce, strawberries, mango, blueberries, Feta, Jamaica rum raisins, cinnamon pecan nuts with a mandarin and orange vinaigrette. This was followed by pan fried chunky Trocadero Garlic Shrimp, and grilled Mahi Mahi with a mango chutney. All was delicious, portion sizes ample to satisfy my wife and me, and coupled with decent wine by the glass, we left only regretting that we had found this place too late during our stay. However, we promptly returned on our last day to enjoy besides the salad a beef tenderloin medallion, roasted with Port wine, and a dish of seared scallops We finished it off with a delicious desert.

Anyone in one of the two Renaissance hotels should not miss to venture out for a short walk of a few minutes and enjoy some delicious food in a pleasant beach front setting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Be careful of tipping”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Location was not ideal for sunset as there were obstructions for picture taking.

We were greeted very warmly by Raul who shook our hands and introduced himself for us before seating us. (Looks like standard practice for the entire staff. It was a nice touch.)
We had pina colodas and appetizers to go with our sunset. The drinks were fine, the conch fritters as stated by our waiter Raul was the Best. They would have been excellent if they were fried for a few more minutes and hot all the way through. But they weren't and I knew they would be cold on the inside when the order came out sooo quickly. I did not fuss as it was our vacation and we were just relaxing.

The service was fantastic until Raul discovered that were not having dinner. Then we were abandoned. More disappointingly, their was a service charge on our bill, and Raul did not bring back our change. Hmmm, I guess he felt that he deserved a 30% tip. He was nowhere to be found after he picked up the money and we just decided to leave and I decided I should post this review instead!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelimmigrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The West Deck also viewed

 

Been to The West Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing