We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worthwhile attraction ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lourdes Grotto

Lourdes Grotto
Book In Advance
$64.98*
and up
Discover Aruba Half-Day Tour
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worthwhile attraction ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

An outdoor Church cut into natural limestone caves is very unique and worth seeing. There is another one across the street. Would like to see lit up at night.

Helpful?
2 Thank Wmertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    11
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not a lot to this grotto. Quite simply and small but well maintained and you can't beat the price (free).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BA4ISU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Really interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have never heard of Lourdes' Grotto until this year. We kind of stumbled upon it, and it was really cool. I'd love to know more information about it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Biki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth seeing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visit yearly to the site. It is very humbling. There are two sides to see and people go often. It is located on the south of the island so it is a little tough to get to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vbedus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lourdes Grotto
Seroe Preto, San Nicolas, Aruba
Visited here on 2 August 2013. We were looking for it and thought we made a wrong turn but manage to stumble on it. We were glad we did. To us it was beautiful and it was worth it. The Lourdes Grotto (Grot di Lourdes is located and built in Seroe Preto (black hill), on the southeast coast near San Nicolas. On the opposite side of the road across from the Lourdes Grotto (commemoration of the Virgin Mary) is another shrine built into the rocks also. In 1958 the Grot di Lourdes was created under the direction of a priest called Erkamp; the Virgin Mary statue was placed in the grotto and blessed by Monsieur Holterman. You can bring a candle if you like to leave it lit. For those of us who enjoy our religion or religious life this was a nice site to visit. You will have to climb steps up. But this was worth it to us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank msworldadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lourdes Grotto also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Lourdes Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing