We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My First Trip to Aruba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My First Trip to Aruba”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

returned 3/16/13 - I enjoyed Aruba very much - the beaches are beautiful. However, Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort I would not return to. After paying for a deluxe suite, the first room we were given had a musty smell and was not clean, dust and dirt on the floors and the bathroom was not clean. After complaining and being told they had no other rooms, the next day we were finally moved to a very nice room in the elevator building. I paid $100. for wifi which I needed for work and was only able to connect in the lobby which I found unacceptable since they advertised wifi through out the complex. I sent 2 reports to the IT department and never received a response. The service was basically nil except for 2 people at the front desk one being Lorraine and the other a very nice man ( I don't remember his name). However that was only on one shift. Many a day no one was at the front desk or 1 person with a line of 4-6 visitors. The service at Mulligans was awful. After sitting and waiting 20 minutes for someone to comeover to our table, we left. The pools did not have enough talapas for coverage in the sun and there were no services at the the pool The beach is on the other side of the and also not enough talapas and no services. If one wanted a drink you had to cross the street and go to the bar and bring back the drinks. This went for the pools and th beach.
On a plus side, the restaurants we ate at were fantastic - Windows on Aruba, Barefoot, Flying Fishbone and Screaming Eagle were all excllent including ambience and food. However these were not part of Divi (only Windows on Aruba was located on their property). I highly recommend all of them.

I would return to Aruba but never to Divi!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g2sjbbmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    682
    253
    124
    109
See reviews for
661
847
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We Loved our stay in Divi Village. We had two balconies and spent every moment we could outside on them when not on the beach or at one of the amazing 3 pools. We loved enjoying coffee, meals and just spending time together outside. The grounds are beautiful and the service from the frond desk and especially Gloria was just superb. The room could use a couple of updates, but hey. . . why would you want to spend so much time in the room. It's Aruba people, it's snowing up in Cincinnati and NY, go outside and enjoy the fabulous Amazing Weather.

Room Tip: Wonderful, peaceful, quiet, and grocery store not too far away, bus available for just a couple of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and were at first not that impressed with the rooms but after we settled in I have to say I really liked them. They were a little worn, thats to be expected with the number of people sharing these unit thru the years. We had a unit on the second floor, it was cleaned daily. Someone wrote about the folks there and I have to say anyone I met young or old always had a smile on there face and a hello. The workers there always had a welcome greeting as well. The housekeeping staff did a great job daily, leaving them a $5 tip each day may have helped.
One drawback was that there in no elevator's, there is only 3 floors but when your 80 as was one of the folks traveling with us and they put her on the 3rd floor, it was a little tuff for her to get up and down the stairs.
The pools were very nice and cleaned daily. We spent most of our swim time at the golf course pool with a swim up bar.
We paid extra for the all inclusive package and found ourselves eating at Mulligan's 4 out of our 5 nights here. This is by far the best eatery we found. We had diner at the Red Parrot one night and 3 of the 4 steaks were well done when order med. rare, and the flavor was not tenderloin as order. The wait staff was great, one gentleman who lived back here in the states in Mass. for 17 years was a pleasure to talk with. The pizza and snacks from the 2 pool side bars were very good as well.
There are golf carts that bring you all around the Divi complex, as well as the casino.
If and when I go back to Aruba we will be staying here.

Room Tip: If you have problems climbing stairs, ask for a room on the 1st floor. There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldogsby3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Monmouth, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Checking in at Divi Dutch Village was a nightmare that ruined our first couple of hours on the "One Happy Island." First, there is no check-in location at Divi Dutch, and we needed to find someone to ask where we could check in. After being told "The Links", we recognized that we needed to go down the road to Divi Golf, where there was no place to park, so we parked the best place available, but then were told that we needed to move the car to another location. We went to the front desk, where we were provided less than professional service and told our room wouldn't be ready until 4. We went grocery shopping and returned, when I asked about receiving green towels at check-in because I had read other reviews that the towels were necessary to use the pool and the palapas. "They are in your room" I was told. I reiterated that this was very important but the woman who seemed confused repeated herself. When we arrived at the room there were no green towels. I phoned housekeeping and was told that we could get the towels by the pool. Guess what? No personnel available and no towels at ANY of the pools. Next maintenance told me, "Go by the bikes". We went there - it was the Tamarind Resort, where the woman told us, those towels were not for Divi guests. After sharing my anger, the woman agreed to let us borrow two towels. Three more phone calls to the front desk, when the phone rang at least 20 times, we gave up. Tried again later - after 15 rings, the woman answered and told me that housekeeping had given me the wrong information. Need I go on? Next morning waited at the gym which was supposed to open at 7 with 20 other people. Guess what? At 7:45 we were still waiting. After these poor experiences, I must share that our room was a few steps from beautiful Druif Beach, where we spent four wonderful days. We really did enjoy our time there. It's too bad that management doesn't focus on providing great customer service to their guests - They are losing customers by not providing accurate information and not caring about providing a great vacation experience to their guests. Finally, as the ultimate proof of management's lack of focus on details, the Caribbean landscape on the wall in our unit was hung upside down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryArdith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

First time to Aruba....loved it. The ocean is crystal clear and the snorkeling was fabulous. The Divi Village was very comfortable and clean. We rented a car and drove the whole island several times....We did the jeep tour to Baby Beach. Had a blast. Ivo, Marlon, and Geralo really showed us a fun and some times scary trip. We only were able to eat at the Mulligan's Rest. on site and the meal was fantastic. Of course we love fish. Service great. I would recommend this resort to anyone. The tours are well worth it.

Room Tip: We had a studio. Plenty of room. The only thing I would like to see changed is the furniture to be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fancyfreeooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Everyone was so accomodating and was very concerned about our stay at the resort. Transportation to the other Divi locations was readily available. The large apartment
overlooked the golf course and the carribean beyond that. Every day was sunny and
bright.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ehpolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Divi Dutch Village. We have been owners since the late '80's and are pleased that the property continues to be very well maintained, the staff pleasant and the weather always enjoyable. We own the 9th week and the trip to Aruba at that time of year gives us a much needed break from the east coast's winter. The Divi property is quite expansive now, and offers the Dutch Village timeshare along with an all inclusive, a resort for golf enthusiasts and a high rise. Our two bedroom time share at Dutch Village included a spacious upstairs master bedroom and bath, a "lock off" bedroom, bath and mini kitchen, and the downstairs living room, dining area, half bath and balcony. We were a very short distance from the white sands beach and one of 3 nearby in-ground pools. For this trip, we traveled with our son and his family. The pool was perfect for our 8 year old grand daughter and the beach had plenty plenty of lounge chairs. We were a short distance from a large grocery store that afforded us the opportunity to stock up on plenty of food and drink items. Across the street was the wonderful Promenade restaurant and the Divi property had 4 great restaurants, including Mulligan's, to choose from. A casino was nearby and transportation to that and throughout the entire Divi property was provided via energy efficient carts driven by friendly staff. An inexpensive cab ride took us to downtown Oranjestad where there was wonderful shopping and several large cruise ships in port. Native vendors allowed for "bartering" to get the best price on hand carved items. We had a wonderful week's stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScorpioLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divi Aruba
Divi Aruba
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,746 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
539 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Property: Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing