We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a thing to complain about...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a thing to complain about...”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I arrived here on Sunday, and we have two full days left at the property. I really can't complain at all. We arrived at 12:30 Sunday afternoon, so I was afraid we would have to wait for our room. Nope, we didn't. They checked us in promptly, and had a bellman drive us to our room, (2330) and was even nice enough to walk us all the way up to our 3rd floor condo. The condo was very well equppied. We had everything, even down to tissue paper and a corkscrew for wine bottles. Shuttle drivers were very nice, and so was every worker we encountered. If you plan on going to the grocery store, tell the shuttle driver to drop you off at the very end of the tamarijn property, and then tell them what time you would like them to come back for you. The grocery stores are a bit of a walk away, so you would definitely want a shuttle to take you to and from. As for the beach being across the street, its really only a 2 minute walk, and if you dont feel like walking, the shuttle driver will take you there. Don't plan on trying Windows myself, because I heard it is very expensive, but it is a top rated restaurant. Mulligan's was good, we went there a couple times. Very good service. Everyone we ran into, whether it was a guest or employee, was always in a good mood and willing to chat with you. They always have a taxi waiting near the front desk if you plan on going out anywhere. We havent had to call for one once. We probably will though when we leave on Sunday. The beach is never very crowded, which I like. All in all, I would recommend this property and would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better so you dont have to deal with hearing anyone above you. Also, would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    670
    248
    121
    108
See reviews for
644
827
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My wife and I swapped Hilton Grand Vacation Club points to stay at the Divi Village in September. We did not stay one night and ended up moving down to the High Rise hotels for the week.

If you think that the Divi Village is on the beach, it isn't. It is across the road and most of the condos are in the back of the property around the golf course. They are doing major renovations to the units that you see in the pictures that look like they are on the beach, but aren't. The unit we were supposed to be in seemed clean enough, but needed updating pretty bad. All of the appliances were old and rusted. The chaulk around the master tub/shower was gone and you wondered if you were going to fall through the floor. It just was not what we had in mind for 15-yr anniversary.

My wife has food allergies and we tried multiple times prior to arrival to ask if the hotel restaurants could accomodate her with no response (granted there is a pool restaurant/bar and the other restaurants on property, The Windows (I think) is highly rated), which made us have an alternative plan even before we arrived. If you search the Divi Phoenix - that is what we were expecting, even though we did not stay there either. The Divi Dutch is right in front of the Village on the beach and looked older just from visual impression - did not walk around there.

The staff was quite friendly and seemed genuine to help as best possible - even though we did not give them a chance to appease us. Even if you arrive early, be prepared to wait until 4pm to get your room. We checked into the room at 4pm and we left our luggage went to the high rise hotels, came back in Taxi got our luggage and walked out to the beach from other hotel @ 5:30pm. I went back next morning, checked us out of the Divi Village to the surprise of Front Desk. The nice lady that checked me out told me that she would put a note on our file for the Manager to read as to why we checked out early and that the manager would be in touch. Here it is almost November and I have never received an email, call nothing.... I even filled out the RCI survey and nothing.

Not only does it make me not want to ever visit a Divi property again, but not swap points to RCI as I have heard nothing from them either.

If you are in to golf, not a lot of amenities and don't care if you are on the beach or not then the Village is just fine. The grounds are well kept and in lieu of walking the resort has golf cart taxis running around. If you want a lot of variety of restaurants and a lot more action, I would suggest looking into the Divi Phoenix or other properties in the High Rise section.

Room Tip: Be a little leary when you see 'Free Upgrade' on the top of your check in form....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Check in was the only thing good about this place.......

The room was dingy and unclean when we got here. They wanted to charge us extra for maid service to come in and clean it properly (beyond the usual housekeeping with refreshes towels, mops the floor, etc). The fan in the living room is broken, yet no one from maintenance seems to care enough to come check it out despite it being reported.

Our room, 2118, is located on the first floor, adjacent to the security gate that everyone has to go through in order to get in to the area with the Golf Villas. We hear everything that comes through at night. A family was staying above us, with what could only be described as elephant for children. Every morning at 6:30 we would hear banging and stomping coming from above. Hotel staff seemed not to care about this in the least. THIS IS NOT A HOTEL FOR HONEYMOONERS.

Mattress is terrible. In addition to the hardest pillows I have ever encountered, the mattress felt like it was loaded with rocks. I woke every morning more sore than I was the day before. This is the standard mattress here.

The intra-hotel shuttle service is horrible. The drivers are more interested in chatting up the maid service than actually driving their route. Hotel staff does not seem to care about this either.

And now this brings me to the concierge... De Palm, a tour company on the island, provides the concierge for Divi..... These people couldn't be nicer and more useless. Very friendly and quick to take our money, quick to set up dinner reservations (a definite plus), but did not give good information at all. She told us to bring the wrong stuff on an excursion, didn't tell us to wear the correct attire for our couples massage (didn't even tell us it was going to be on the beach...)

You can rent through Hertz at the Divi as well.... They do rent Jeep 4x4's to explore the island with, but you have to book them the same day you want to use them, and despite what they say, they go very quickly (I was there at 7:45 am and all 5 were already gone).... The woman behind the desk (who wasn't wearing a name-tag... odd) said to me that the Jeeps were all booked up last night.... kinda interesting considering they are same day only rentals and you can't reserve them.... She then told me (my hand to Jesus i swear) "We are getting more Jeeps in December"..... to which I replied "But, its October and I won't be here in December, probably won't be coming back"... "Well, sir, we will have more Jeeps in December, you can ask the concierge about it"

I could go on... I have 2 more days left here, but I am considering checking out and staying at a nicer hotel where I can get some sleep and not give my back irreparable damage.

AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: just don't stay here. period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We exchanged our time share to stay here with friends for their wedding in Aruba. The suite was fantastic, with lots of space, a full kitchen, and a wonderful view of the golf course. The beach is across the street but it's a quick walk and there are always shuttles (golf carts) running around the resorts. The beach is nicer and larger than the high rise area and it's a lot quieter. Easy bus or cab ride to downtown or the high rise area. Highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caln township, pa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The place was in above average condition. The biggest downfall was the unit we were in was being painted for the first 4 or 5 days we were there. A nice scaffold obstructed my view of the ocean for the first half of my stay. The kitchen facilities were adequate to make a few small meals in the room. The hotel was centrally located between downtown and Palm Beach so it was easy to get about anywhere. The pools were nice. The beach was pretty clean. Since it was the end of the low season nothing was over-crowded.
The CONS ..The bed was very stiff and uncomfortable. The amenities available were confusing due to the all-inclusive options. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlapinski19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Been staying here for years but just put my unit up for sale because of the adjacent all-inclusive Tamariin guests taking over all the pools, cabanas and lounge chairs. The cheap rates lure less than desirable guests and the management of the Tamariin would not even speak with us about our experiences with their guests. Last trip a couple had sex in the pool just outside my door and I had my 12 year old niece staying there. There are no pool attendants and even though the signage clearly restricts the pools to Dutch members and their guests, the all inclusives take over everything all day long. It is a shame since the Dutch Village is a lovely resort, but I for one do not want to fight or have confrontations over pool space I thought was mine when I purchased the property.

Room Tip: Don't!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,Georgia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The unit was clean and had everything we needed, even corkscrew. Satellite TV and daily housekeeping. 3 supermarkets are 10 minutes walk away. One had decent fresh fish. Aruba resturants are good, but expensive since everything must be imported. Unit overlooked the golf course and had 3 balconies and 2 baths. Staff is excellent and very helpful. Druif beach is across the street and was never crowded. Two pools at resort. Bus stop is near by and for $1.35 per person goes all around the island. Taxis are available, but government regulated and pricey. US dollars are accepted everywhere, so don't bother to exchange currency. Two golf courses on Aruba. I would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor units are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr.BAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Property: Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing