We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A calming oasis in Oranjestad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wonders Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Oranjestad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A calming oasis in Oranjestad”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Aruba, and especially Oranjestad, has many things to offer but it's not typically a quiet place, with the hustle and bustle of shopping, casinos and beaches. Wonders Boutique Hotel offers a wonderful place to chill out and relax, only a few minutes' drive away from the main hotel areas.

Nestled in a quiet neighbourhood a few blocks away from the Xavier University medical school, the gates of Wonders reveal a comfortable lobby, followed by a wonderful quiet garden with a private pool. The rooms are spacious and clean, with large windows overlooking the garden. The bed and pillows are comfortable, and the bathroom, with a large shower, is spotless.

The optional continental breakfast, served on the patio next to garden, was delicious, probably made much more so by the environment. And, yes, the coffee was outstanding as well. Both Gaston, the owner, and Nina were very helpful both within the hotel and in giving us advice and guidance on things to do on Aruba.

Wonders is definitely the place to stay on Aruba!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonders-Aruba, Owner at Wonders Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
thank you for staying at Wonders and we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. if you are planning another trip to Aruba in the future, we would love to welcome you again at Wonders.
gaston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    43
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
216
40
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

went here for 2 nights with my girlfriend got treated so good, the rooms are beautiful and clean, the patio is amazing the pool is super clean and all the threes and the plants make a nice ambience, also the breakfast is super! thank you Gaston and friends. att: Jhon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonders-Aruba, Owner at Wonders Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Good evening Jhon, thank you for your beautiful review. We were very pleased to have you as our guest at Wonders. You are always welcome!! Gaston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The moment you step foot onto the property, you are transported to a quaint paradise oasis, surrounded by lush tropical greenery, well-manicured grounds, and the sound of peace and relaxation. The main common room is welcoming, which leads to the open double-doors of the veranda, that allows the nice tropical breeze to circulate through the room. The veranda overlooks a quaint tropical garden that, along with several lounge areas, surrounds a soothing in-ground pool.

The rooms themselves are spacious, clean and comfortable, which are located around the garden. The best part of this hotel is the owner, Gaston and his friendly dog, Griffin. Gaston truly makes all of his guests feel as if they were staying at a friend's vacation house. He is attentive and personable to each of his guests but not overbearing. He offers a personalized breakfast order served in the lush garden, recommendations on what to do and where to go as well as anything else to make his guests' stay enjoyable. During our stay in Aruba, I proposed to my fiancé on Eagle Beach. After informing Gaston the next morning that we got engaged, that night we were welcomed back to the tranquil, tiki-torch lined lush garden by a nice bottle of Prosecco and 2 glasses, left on the table outside our room by Gaston. What a WONDERful and thoughtful surprise!

That is the beauty of this place, the simple accommodating gestures along with the quaint lush setting make the Wonders a truly hidden gem. Even though it is located in a residential neighborhood, it is 5 minutes away from the tourist area of Oranjestad. If you are looking for a crowded impersonal big tourist traps along the beach, this is NOT the place you should stay at. If you are looking for an oasis to disconnect from the hustle and bustle, this is the ideal place to stay. The Wonders will always have a sweet place in our heart and we will definitely return to this tranquil oasis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cpnyc2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonders-Aruba, Owner at Wonders Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
thanks for your wonderful review and we are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Wonders. Good luck with the preparations for your wedding and we hope to meet you again at Wonders in the future.
gaston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our recent stay at Wonders was wonderful! This is the place for a quiet, private stay in Aruba. The owner went out of his way to provide great hospitality and convenience. The morning breakfasts were delicious and enjoyable in the garden. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBrooks53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonders-Aruba, Owner at Wonders Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
good evening Mr. & Mrs. Brooks,
thank you for your positive review of Wonders.
It was really nice having you as our guests'.

by now we do have a city map available in each room, thanks for your advice!

hope to meet you again at Wonders.

gaston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wonders Boutique Hotel is absolutely fabulous! If you are looking into renting or booking a B & B do not waste your time... Just book at Wonders. We have many years of traveling experience and staying at B & B's and Wonders is a true gem.

The location is perfect as it is close to downtown and minutes away from Eagle/Palm Beach and all the restaurants. However, you will need a car to explore the island.

There is a wonderful breakfast served anywhere you like on the beautiful and manicured pool grounds. The rooms are huge, spacious, clean and upscale. There is a mini-fridge and safe and great air-con.

The best part of the stay was the innkeeper Gaston and Griffin the dog. Gaston is exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. He gave us great tips for restaurants, beaches and day trips. I am going to miss my morning fresh cup of coffee that Gaston would make me before everyone else woke up!

Wonders Boutique is for travelers who enjoy luxury and peace and quiet with great hospitality. And quite frankly I felt bad for those staying on the hotel strip b/c are oasis was a better deal!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelinaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonders-Aruba, Owner at Wonders Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
hello Celina & Drago, thanks for your enthousiastic review of Wonders. It was really nice to have you as guests. Every day happy to be on Aruba and happy to be at Wonders!!
Whenever you are planning another trip to Aruba, we would love to welcome you again at Wonders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

WONDERS is truly a WONDERFUL home away from home that can easily filling the gap before,during, or following your longer stay in ARUBA and can even suffice as a base for such a stay. Price is very reasonable, location is fine and hospitality is as good as it gets. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALL-KNOWING-CRITIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonders-Aruba, Owner at Wonders Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
thanks for your positive review, for the future.... you are always welcome at Wonders!
gaston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We also fell for the quiet location, lush garden and spacious rooms and were not disappointed. Very helpful owner and staff too. Nice price breakfast in different varieties. Only problem is that it is in a residential area and Oranjestad is a 10+ min. walk. At night we did not feel very comfortable walking it so I would recommend a car if you want to go places. The first night you will need some time to find your way in the neighbourhood. It took me 30 minutes on the first evening :). Free parking on the premises. But otherwise: great

Room Tip: The street generates some noise in the morning, if you want to stay in bed long ask for a non-street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonders-Aruba, Owner at Wonders Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
good afternoon, thank you for your review, you are completly right, down town Oranjestad is a 10 minute walk from Wonders as is the central busstation. If you want to explore our island and visit the beautiful beach up north or down south you need a car. Hope to meet you again at Wonders!
gaston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
2.0 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
817 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,858 reviews
3.7 mi away
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
#2 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.0 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,353 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonders Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonders Boutique Hotel

Property: Wonders Boutique Hotel
Address: Emmastraat 63, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wonders Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonder of WondersEscape in elegance, rejuvenate in style and relax at your leisure at Wonders, the boutique hotel on Aruba which combines the easy comfort of a Bed and Breakfast with the excellence of a star-studded hotel. Wonders is an adult-only concept with the focus on the personal touch. Breakfast is a luxurious awakening of the senses; optional packages go from pampering to spoiling; they include breakfast in bed and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wonders Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonders Boutique Hotel Aruba/Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing