We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent”

Barefoot Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 229 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Aruba is all about the fabulous beaches during the day, and the many great restaurants at night. It is only logical that these two unique things of Aruba are combined into one! Luc & Gerco found the perfect spot to synergize great food, and a beautiful setting to create an experience almost unique on our island. When listening to the ocean caressing the shore, while wiggling your toes through the pearly white sand, why not let yourself be pampered by a gourmet dinner? Chef Gerco & Maitre d' Luc had a shared dream of opening up a restaurant here, but wanted something in line with what they enjoy on Aruba: the nearly perfect climate, the possibility to always be outside, the tropical feel... When opening their restaurant, they had these ideas in their heads, and it worked like a charm! Tables under a large palapa on a wooden deck with a view of the ocean, or outside under the Aruban nights sky, on the pristine beach... An original menu was created by Gerco and team, with some of the old school favorites as well as locally influenced dishes. With the help of the local wine suppliers, Luc made an extensive wine list, with wines from all over the world, and is always ready to pair a wine with your dinner. The experienced service team is friendly yet professional, ready to wow you from the moment you walk in, to make a fabulous evening into a great memory on Aruba!
New York City, New York
1 review
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have been coming here for years. Great owners. Great staff Best food on the island!!! You cannot go wrong ordering any of the main courses. I would suggest eating inside. If eating on the beach or on the sand inside wear closed shoes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven8690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,439
    697
    202
    50
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had great time at the Barefoot. The dinning area is open with two dinning areas one on a small beach the other on a deck by the bar with a large thatch roof. The food and service was tops. We each had fish main courses that were excellent. The wine list is ample. A nice spot that has views of downtown Oranjestad and incoming jets to the airport.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as years past”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was our third trip to Barefoot. In years past the value was there. This year my tuna steak was fine but my wife's steak was tough. Also the cheese cake dessert was the size of a deck of cards. I don't mind paying the price but give me something for my hard earned dollars. For what it's worth I normally don't write negative reviews but this really was a disappointment and we will not go back. The view is terrific but there are many restaurants that offer that opportunity in Aruba.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ken j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“atmosphere, service , food was excellent”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

everyone was made to feel special, food was awesome, service was perfect. restaurant was run like clock work.. team work extraordinaire ....view to die for ... cant wait to go back

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbellwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Meal of Vacation”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Got one of their best tables right on the water. Had an 8:30 reservation and were left there to relax and look at the boats floating in the water and the planes coming in to land.

Escargots and Two Tuna to start. Then Beef w/truffle and Shellfish Trio. Finished with Brownie Sundae and Choc Mouse duo. Split a bottle of Santa Marg. It was all perfect.

Great service. Truly romantic. Amazing food. This is the one place I will tell anyone I know who is coming to Aruba that it is NOT OPTIONAL.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Barefoot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing