We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location.”

Barefoot Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 225 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Aruba is all about the fabulous beaches during the day, and the many great restaurants at night. It is only logical that these two unique things of Aruba are combined into one! Luc & Gerco found the perfect spot to synergize great food, and a beautiful setting to create an experience almost unique on our island. When listening to the ocean caressing the shore, while wiggling your toes through the pearly white sand, why not let yourself be pampered by a gourmet dinner? Chef Gerco & Maitre d' Luc had a shared dream of opening up a restaurant here, but wanted something in line with what they enjoy on Aruba: the nearly perfect climate, the possibility to always be outside, the tropical feel... When opening their restaurant, they had these ideas in their heads, and it worked like a charm! Tables under a large palapa on a wooden deck with a view of the ocean, or outside under the Aruban nights sky, on the pristine beach... An original menu was created by Gerco and team, with some of the old school favorites as well as locally influenced dishes. With the help of the local wine suppliers, Luc made an extensive wine list, with wines from all over the world, and is always ready to pair a wine with your dinner. The experienced service team is friendly yet professional, ready to wow you from the moment you walk in, to make a fabulous evening into a great memory on Aruba!
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Location, location.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great decor as many tables are on the beach with a sunset view of the sea and the marina. Great food and wine pricing is reasonable. When making a reservation, ask for a table on the beach.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ok2roll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,401
    693
    200
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Toes in the water”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Barefoot was recommended by a couple of our taxi drivers, in addition to a gentleman who spends three months a year in Aruba. We took our sandals off and headed to our table just a few feet from the ocean. Staff was excellent, fish was amazing. We were there after the sunset, and this restaurant sits very close to the airport. It was very cool to watch the planes take off and land while we looked up at the stars and enjoyed our amazing experience. Not as expensive as Simply Fish located at the Marriott. Equally as impressive of an experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janetthepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Elegance”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Barefoot is undoubtedly our favorite restaurant in Aruba. The location right on the beach is great. Yes, it is close to the airport and yes there is another establishment next door, but the uncrowded seating on the beach and the sunset view make up for any distractions. The food is excellent and the presentation is elegant. Service is very friendly and attentive. Your water glass never gets beyond half empty. The grand dessert to be shared by two is a wonderful conclusion to a superb meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joesunshine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westboro, MA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Romantic and Delicious”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The restaurant is right on the beach in downtown area. The waters edge was about 10feet from our table, with beautiful sand, no waves, no wind, and beautiful moonlight, with sailboats at anchor. We had the most delicious Grouper Romana. We would go back in a second. Best beach meal in Aruba.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LazyBum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our first time here and we loved it. The food, service, and the setting are all wonderful. Great place to watch the sunset with your feet in the sand.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlexY022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Restaurant also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Barefoot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing