We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a wonderful dinner at Gostoso's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gostoso

Gostoso
Ranked #3 of 222 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gostoso a local favorite restaurant, that serve a blend of both Portuguese and Aruban Cuisine, which is designed to delight even the most discriminating Palate. With our cozy and small atmosphere and impeccable service at a reasonable price “Gostoso Restaurante” will be your next favorite neighborhood Restaurant.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful dinner at Gostoso's”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was our first opportunity to dine at Gostoso's. We each had fillet of Grouper which was excellent. The fish was fresh, served piping hot, and beautifully presented, along with delicious sides. The portions were plentiful. The desserts were also wonderful. The service was outstanding. We had a chance to chat with Jose, the owner/chef, and found him to be very passionate and devoted to giving his patrons an exceptional culinary experience. We cannot wait to return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandW1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    180
    46
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Aruba”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was the best food. It was a quaint restaurant in what looked like a residential area. Because of this fact they are able to put more emphasis on food rather than size and location. The food was better than Madame Janette's and the Flying Fishbone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in Aruba”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is our 5th trip to Aruba and our 4th to Gostoso. We have been to them all, and it is the very best on the island. Visited there on Jan 24, 2014. We took our friend from Aruba who agreed that it was superb. My wife, Kim, always has the goat stew and it did not disappoint. I had the Carbonara and it was outstanding. Our friend had the tempura and she raved about it. Service was the best with the owner providing personal service and leadership of the crew. There is nothing that detracts from this place's rating.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Island Experience”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Based on reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to try this restaurant during our recent stay in Aruba. We felt that everything we had read was right on. Very small but very interesting menu. Our party had goat, peppercorn rib-eye steak, and fish and all enjoyed the meal. Also shared a special dessert which we had never had anywhere else. The owner came over at the end of the meal and explained the history of the place and was very pleasant to talk to. When we travel we like to enjoy the local flavor rather than hotel or chain restaurants and this certainly met our expectations. It is near town but hard to find. Take a cab and they will call a cab for your for your return to your resort.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveDebBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. W. Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic food”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had read about other visitors' experiences and wanted to have "local" dishes. We came the first night without a reservation and were given a table outside (no hardship on a beautiful evening). We thought the fish dishes were beautifully prepared and seasoned, and on a return visit (with a reservation) I ordered goat (told you we wanted local!) and the stew was so tender. We also got a good wine recommendation to go with somewhat unfamiliar dishes. The staff asked if we needed a taxi when leaving-- they seemed to be very attentive to guests' needs. I liked seeing large family parties; people seemed happy to be there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pr0fess0rPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostoso also viewed

 

Been to Gostoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing