We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable service”
Review of Gostoso

Gostoso
Ranked #6 of 225 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Gostoso a local favorite restaurant, that serve a blend of both Portuguese and Aruban Cuisine, which is designed to delight even the most discriminating Palate. With our cozy and small atmosphere and impeccable service at a reasonable price “Gostoso Restaurante” will be your next favorite neighborhood Restaurant.
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unbelievable service”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

After many years of visiting Aruba, we decided to venture off the strip and try Gostoso. Soup of the day - vegetable bisque - was great and my Chicken Mignon was rich, creamy and flavorful. This restaurant really shined when our rental car broke down outside and the owner, Jose and his wife were exceptionally helpful. They came running out with flashlights and even ended up giving us a ride home. Thanks again for the great service and on a side note - avoid Econolodge Rental cars !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bradley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    832
    186
    49
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful small local restaurant”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Loved the many choices on the menu as well as the excellent specials. Prices were very reasonable. Had the white sangria - full of fruit and very tasty! Meat was very tender and the sauces that accompanied the meat were tasty! Would definitely go back! Just FYI: A little hard to find on the street and parking is minimal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacKenzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Phila., OHio
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicous find!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Eight of us had dinner at Gostoso's on June 26th. We all agreed it was one of the best restaurants ever! The owner is definitely hands on, orchestrating everything so that all is perfect! The fish is prepared with excellent sauces, the sangria is wonderful, full of fresh fruit, and the desserts are heavenly! You definitely need reservations as it is very small. Although hard to find the owner told me if I got lost to just call him on his cell and he would guide me there. His directions from the Marriott Surf Club were excellent, however, and I found him easily and was glad I did!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvtogogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good small restaurant”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We happened to visit this restaurant on father's day during our trip to Aruba. I had made reservations ahead of time as we had heard the place is small and busy. It was a fixed menu which we were not told when we called for reservations but that was ok as there was quite a bit of choice except for goat. I asked for goat as I had heard it is excellent and the owner was very accomodative. The food was excellent including the appetizers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoustonToughguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagram, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly, tasty, and priced right!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

When you walk into this restaurant, you are greeted by the owner and his wife. What a start to a great experience! The décor is a buffet for the eyes with artwork and paintings from all over the world. Jose the owner, reviews the offerings at your table and makes you feel like you are sitting in his home and you are family. Rose his wife was as gracious as a hostess can be.
We started with the fish chowder. It was prepared with a light cream sauce and plenty of seafood, yumm! The grouper in mango sauce was so fresh and just outstanding! Ask for the house specialty dessert. Its a lite cake doused in a light creamy custard sauce dusted with powdered sugar and topped with a toffee drizzle, Awesome!
Finding it by ourselves was a challenge but worth the effort. You can get good food in a lot of places, But Jose and Rose make their good food and good company a very memorable experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pminyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostoso also viewed

 

Been to Gostoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing