We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complex flavors incorporated in superb dishes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gostoso

Gostoso
Ranked #3 of 220 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gostoso a local favorite restaurant, that serve a blend of both Portuguese and Aruban Cuisine, which is designed to delight even the most discriminating Palate. With our cozy and small atmosphere and impeccable service at a reasonable price “Gostoso Restaurante” will be your next favorite neighborhood Restaurant.
Jefferson
Level Contributor
144 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Complex flavors incorporated in superb dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Trip Advisor reviews are right on. We arrived at opening time, 6 PM, so there was no crowd at that point. My wife's salad chilled, cut in bite sized pieces with a tasty dressing. The fish chowder was very good with chunks of seafood and no potato filler! The grouper with mango sauce was delicately flavored and the beef tongue was served in ample quantity of four thin, but not too thin, slices in a rich, brown gravy that was filled with bits of vegetable and herbs that gave it a truly unique flavor. Really a fine meal. The owner took the orders and gave a thorough description of how the dishes were prepared. It was fun to hear him addressing each of eh tables as more customers arrived.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joesunshine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    178
    45
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best dinner in all of Aruba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

While not the easiest place to find, the world should beat a path to this restaurant! Chef/owner Jose Do Nascimento has been a few places and learned many things about what makes a great dish before opening his Portuguese/Aruban gem. He deftly combines herbs, spices and condiments to complement the local fresh seafood and meats. We started with bachalau vinaigrette in deference to the Chef's Portuguese heritage as well as conch sauteed in garlic butter. Both delicious! I had a special house martini with vanilla, Malibu rum & pineapple juice and my husband ordered a pitcher of well-made white sangria loaded with fruit. We sadly skipped the seafood chowder that a neighboring table reported was wonderful to save room for our entrees. So glad we did!

I was not wrong to be a little daring and order the slow-simmered goat stew. Chef Jose revealed that he cooks the little chunks of goat in Guinness and red wine seasoned with lots of cilantro, garlic, leeks, bell peppers & scallions. Whatever he did to it, it was amazing!

My husband ordered a pan-seared grouper fillet served with a Creole sauce which was tomato-based and something reminiscent of a Veracruz sauce I've made for snapper. Also, perfectly seasoned and delicious.

For a reportedly small kitchen, the restaurant puts out some very sophisticated, internationally-influenced dishes. I would venture to guess that they will need to expand or start turning away many disappointed hungry diners.

Don't skip this place for more touristy places. Go to Barefoot or Pinchos for the lovely setting and reliable, predictable food and service, but go to Gostoso for a great meal. Oh, and take a cab. It is a little tricky to find and even though it is a reasonable walk from the bus terminal and Renaissance Mall, it feels little ominous walking the dark, nearly desolate streets to the restaurant.

Now, if the friendly chef would share some recipes, I won't have to wait until my next vacation to savor those flavors!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruthcharen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in an intimate local setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The appetizer of Conch in garlic butter was superb, the main course of seafood medley was extremely tasty and expertly cooked. The dessert for the evening was flan. I have had flan many times and in many places but this was the best by far. My grouper was cooked to perfection. Service was great and Jose, the proprietor was there to make sure he explained the specials to you. If you are not familiar with Aruba take a taxi, it is a little off the beaten path and not too easy to find at night as it is not a very large restaurant. Make reservations as they only seat a total of 40 people. You are apt to find many locals who eat there. The best food we had in Aruba. Oh, and very reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great restaurant - it's off the beaten path, but the food and service are fabulous. The owner was wonderful and greeted us and explained about the dishes. The servers were very attentive, but not intrusive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmisket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best fish my wife has ever eaten.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Short review - my mixed grill plate was good - steak, 2 types of sausage, plantains and salad. But my wife got a surf and turf that was really remarkable. The grouper with passion fruit sauce was the best fish she has ever had, and I had a bite - not too shabby! We will probably be back later this vacation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robby152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostoso also viewed

 

Been to Gostoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing