We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inexpensive spot if you want to stay on the resort”
Review of Tortuga Grille

Tortuga Grille
Ranked #127 of 225 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Cuisines: Caribbean
Description: T the Aruba Beach Club
Restaurant details
Description: T the Aruba Beach Club
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great inexpensive spot if you want to stay on the resort”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at ABC for a week and visited the Tortuga's Bar and Grill 3 times. Each time was at a different time of day, and each time we were very pleased with the service and food.

The first time we went was for all you can eat barbecue. They have a few different ideas of what barbecue is, but what we were served was delicious still. There was barbecued chicken, some ribs, and some fried flounder. The flounder was actually the best.

The second time was for lunch. I got a cobb salad and an eggplant appetizer which my husband and I shared, and they were excellent as well. Wasn't expecting the eggplant appetizer to be as well cooked and tasty as it was.

The third time was for breakfast. Their breakfast was so inexpensive, it was like eating at Waffle House, only fancier. Who would have thought some of the best eggs benedict I have had in awhile would be cooked at a beachside bar and grill? Not this girl. But it's the truth.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoZav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice lower-cost break from beach bars.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great location on the beach at the Aruba Beach Club. It is also a great place to stop to get away from high priced beach joints. We heard about this from friends staying in a nearby resort. They went to Tortuga for breakfast and lunch most days.

We tried it and were glad we did.

The food isn't fancy. It is nicely priced and varied though. It kind of has a mom and pop feel. Kid's menu too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Comfortable, pretty, relaxed...”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We own timeshare at the Aruba Beach Club and Tortuga Grille is our restaurant at the club. It is a perfect spot for any meal of the day because the menu is reasonable, the food is tasty, and the service is friendly.

Any breakfast meal is excellent. My lunch favorite is the BEST burger in Aruba...... When I am on the beach, all I can smell all day is this burger!!! Order it with Gouda cheese, grilled onions, and mushrooms. Oh..... My......! It comes with great fries.

Dinner? Grouper Caesar Salad? Grouper sandwich? Any fish dish. All delicious.

Andre is one of my favorite people on the island. His service is great, and he called us "Rosebud" with his deep voice. Joked with us and did all he could to make our meals special.

Tortuga is very small and not glitzy. Pretty white lights and basically on the beach. Very quiet and not busy in the summer. Lovely spot but remember it is pretty basic.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABCrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Always good for a quick bite”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We always stop at the Tortuga during our visits to Aruba, quick bite to eat, good food, close to the Alahambra Casino and within walking distance from our resort.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thetraveler0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful Setting, Good Food, & Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Perfect open air location.... especially to watch the sunset on Manchebo Beach. We have been coming to for 3 yrs to Aruba, and always squeeze at least one meal at Tortuga's... The restaraunt is open to the ocean, but is roofed.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMoss53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga Grille also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Tortuga Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing