We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business for 3 night. Rooms are a little dated, but comfortable and clean. Aircon was noisy though.
Good nights sleep. Food was ok, but predictable. The kitchen isn't brilliant, sometimes the fries seemed old.
Bar staff sometimes pre-occupied amongst themselves.
But, everything said this is still a very good hotel, and very convienient for the airport.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Spongeandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    72
    39
    10
    15
See reviews for
46
56
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed one night at Talk of the Town on our way from Bonaire back to the USA and wanted a place close to the airport and our room was showing signs of age. Paint was peeling, door did not shut tightly and could see light around two edges, bath room fixtures were old and very worn, and overall it is in need of a major overhaul. Other reviews said to ask for a renovated room, but none were available for our night on 2/17/14. The staff was very friendly and quick to answer questions and give advice on where to eat and getting us a taxi for our ride back to the airport. Breakfast was included and you get what you pay for, unfortunately the scrambled eggs were cold, the potato and onion combo was cold, the breads and pastries were stale and the coffee too strong. The beach club is across the street and is lovely white powdery sand with availability of drinks and food at the local bar and restaurant adjacent to the beach. Your nights stay includes use of the beach lounges but if you want an umbrella for the time, it is an extra charge. There is music playing, mostly loudly, but some good local talent singing, but remember being right next to the airport, they do turn it up to drone out the jets. It is a good beach for a swim and to sit and enjoy the fine Aruba weather. The hotel provides beach towels at the main desk, but be sure to return them there as well, otherwise you will be charged for them. We dined at Pinchos, just down the beach and it is fantastic and easy safe walking distance from Talk of the Town. You can make reservations on line, but they fill up quickly and we didnt get one , but sat and had dinner at the bar with an incredible view of the sunset. Overall it is just an average place and if your expectations are not too high, then this will fit your needs.

Room Tip: Most definitely ask for a renovated room. Our older room overlooked the pool and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Ask for one of the renovated rooms, they are close to the road so some road noise but are much nicer. Hotel is close to the airport so you will hear the planes landing and taking off.Free parking and Wifi.Don't expect luxuries here, go to a more expensive property if you are looking for that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmstelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We ended up not even checking into this hotel. The hotel is some distance from the downtown area - certainly a long walk or taxi ride in the heat. It is also located at the end of the runway of the airport and there was considerable noise from jet engines as they got ready to take off. There may in fact be a beach on the other side of main road and the chain link fence, but we couldn't see it and didn't give it a try. Here's more about why we left: When we arrived after leaving our cruise ship, there was no one to help us with luggage from the taxi into the hotel. We were told that there was no room ready for us (that's OK - we were there early) and WE could put our luggage in an unlocked room off the lobby, then return at 3pm. We asked if there was a place to have breakfast and she pointed out the common breakfast room. The breakfast was pretty bare bones and the air conditioner in the dining room was broken. The wireless internet access was pretty good and we used it to book another hotel in the beach resort area. If you want to be economical about ;your stay in Aruba, this might be a good place to stay, but it was not the spot for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just recently stayed at this hotel…..We have 2 small children and when we checked in, there were no towels in our room. We politely asked the front desk for some towels and were refused as they stated, "we are really busy right now do to the hotel fully booked, don't expect towels tonight…maybe tomorrow."

We received towels next day….wow

Then a relative tried to contact me at the hotel…but when he gave my name to the front desk, they first said we were to checked into the room, then said oh I seen them walk to the beach, they are not in their room at the moment. We were n our room waiting for the call. Later that night when my relative tried to call again, the front desk said he could not transfer the call unless he had the room number. So, "whats the room number, your the hotel front desk.?" The response was, "That would mean I would have to look it up….and I am not going to do that."

WOW….we never got our call.

At the breakfast restaurant, staff took 40 min to bring paper towel to clean spilled milk, then another 30 for the bill….Tables were dirty everywhere…..

When checking out, at 11 AM, we asked to leave our bags in the hotel till 3 PM. As our flight did not leave till 5 PM. We were refused. The answer was, "No No No No no NO," from staff. I never heard of a hotel refusing to hold your bags…..crazy. We had to carry our bags everywhere till the flight……

Staff was very lazy, rude, and self-centred.

Room Tip: Just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oranjestad hotels

Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Near airport, free parking cross the street, beach, restaurants, etc. just cross the street.
Only one person work in the front desk, wait long time for check in. Breakfast is good and complementary. Free WIFI.

Room Tip: Choose first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky78123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Welcome to one of Aruba's little secrets. (Not anymore!) The Talk of the Town & Beach Hotel was a great way to end a wonderful vacation on "one happy island," Aruba. After spending 4 nights in the high rise section of the island, we wanted something a little less crowded. We found it. The Front desk was manned with a very friendly gal named Oriana. Her goal was to make their guests happy. She did! Hotel manager Maritsa had been her mentor and was quick to help in any way possible. A lovely buffet breakfast added to a great stay. The beach is across the street from the Hotel. Oriana offered free lounge chair coupons if your plans included a beach visit.
Another important reason for staying here was it's location to the airport. A beautiful new walking/bike path from the front of the hotel to the airport will be completed in Dec. 2013. So we walked to the airport! Pack lite if possible. The only thing you'll need is a bathing suit, camera and of course a credit card!

Room Tip: Room 302 was perfect. Close to pool and outside eating area. Not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.4 mi away
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
#22 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.7 mi away
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club
Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard # 2, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talk Of The Town Hotel And Beach Club
Talk Of The Town Hotel & Beach Club Aruba/Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing