We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the beachfront view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
A TripAdvisor Member
“Can't beat the beachfront view!”
Reviewed July 31, 2005

My family just returned from the Tam today and I want to give my thoughts as I used this site frequently. The beachfront rooms are fantastic if you are a beach person and plan to spend alot of time on the beach. We stayed in 1905 and did a lot of snorkeling right out of our room. We saw starfish, octopus(several), baracuda, parrot fish, puffer fish and others. This just blew us away. My children hunted crabs on the beach at night and we watched the sunset every evening. My husband just loved the Tam because of this. However, I wish it had a nicer buffet. The food was mediocre on the buffet at best. We loved the grill food but as the previous reviewer mentioned the service there was SLOW! We also found the bartenders to be very unfriendly and we often had a long wait for a drink. This is definitely a lower end resort and if that's okay with you as a tradeoff for the beach front room then you will be happy.

I kept camparing the Tam to the Iberostar we stayed at last year in Mexico and it really comes up short in comparison. At the Iberostar we had refrigerators in the room so there was never a shortage of drinks. At the Tam I found I was always thirsty and it was a hassel to go the bar to order a drink becuase of slow service.

Also, they do have evening entertainement but the only seating is already taken by late diners so unless you are already seated because of eating the buffet it is impossible to get a seat for the entertainment.

I thought the Red Parrot and the Paparazzi were actually above average and my kids loved cooking their own food at the Palm Grill.

We rented a jeep and toured the island on our own. This was very easily down and allowed us to spend a lot of time at Baby Beach. The snorkeling there is the best I've ever seen. Be sure to bring water shoes as Baby Beach is very rocky. Also, bring bread with you as the fish will each out of your hand. The butterfly farm and the ostrich farm were both very entertaining and well worth a visit.

All in all we had a lovely time at the Tam and still prefer the quietness of its beach to the buy high rise area but don't expect any thing fancy in the way of facilities or food.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    1,344
    404
    162
    88
See reviews for
976
1,587
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2005

Stayed at the Tam in one of the refurbished rooms for 8 days in July. (Two adults and two teenagers) The room was small but adequate. The air conditioning was great! The overhead room fan made the room cold. The food at the buffet was not as good as other all inclusive buffets at other islands. The food at the "reservation needed eateries" was better, but again not as good as other all inclusives. We ate at all of them and liked the red parrot at the DIVI the best. The hotel is close to town but not close enough to safely walk there. The roads are narrow and busy. The beach at the Tam is nice - don't worry about the rocks, they're not really an issue. The pool is small and crowded. The free Tuesday bike ride/snorkeling trip is worth the time and energy. The snorkeling is good. We rented a Jeep for one day and saw the whole island. It was alot of fun! It is worth the cost, Many of the other hotels (Marriot, Holiday Inn, etc) are all bunched together a few miles from the Tam.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JanLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2005

I submit this reveiw from a UK perspective, without wishing to insult the Arubans or Americans, but we differ in our ways and this did affect our perception of the Island and the 2 weeks we stayed there.

I hope many of our remarks are read and actioned by the management of the Tam and the Divi to make Europeans a little more welcome considering the cost, travel time and 2 week vacation spent at their Hotels.

Our Family, with another 2 Families from Wales, travelled to stay at the Tamarijn from 11th to 25th July 2005.

The Flight for was approx 9 Hrs 30 mins with First Choice and this was excellent given the time and distance.

Arrival & Customs at Aruba no problem, out onto the Coach efficiently, cases were collected by us and then passed on at the airport for delivery to our room at the Hotel. We were concerned but this was well organised.

Frantic arrival at the Hotel but our rooms were allocated in advance so we only had to obtain our wristbands and we were off by buggy to our rooms.

Thanks to the Scottish Family for swapping rooms with one of our Families as we hadn`t been located together on arrival, hope all is well with the Mum who slipped some discs and spent most of the time in the hopsital.

The Hotel is situated alongside the Docks, no real issue or affect on us.
To see the Cruise Ships & Containers Ships arriving at the Docks, together with the planes on their flight path into the airport was excellent, and all seemed within touching distance from the shoreline.

The view of the beach and sea from each room at the Tam is BY FAR the BEST ASSET.
You walk from the rooms right onto the powdery white sand and straight into the ocean.
Ignore any remarks regarding the rocks & stones, there are a few in places, but they add to the view and are only really located in front of the bunker bar and main buildings, the rest of the beach in front of the rooms right up to the Divi is more or less clear and it is as good as it gets.

The pool at the Tam is small and despite having good quality loungers, it is an uninviting area with litter from the Pizza Bar flying in the wind. (Some people didn`t use the bins provided either !!)
You do not need the pool with such a beautiful beach but it is nice to have the option, so when we did want to use a pool we went up to the Divi which offered much better surroundings albeit the pool is more or less the same size as the pool at the Tam.

The rooms are too small, especially for a Family of 4 staying for 2 weeks.
They only provide a small area for hanging clothes and 4 drawers, so from a family point of view, really plan the clothes you take or like us you will keep many in your suitcase and return with them unused.
The Tam is relaxed so you can wear things twice !!

The Cleaning Service is excellent and we had a smile from our Cleaner every morning. They do their work with the right attitude.

The Food at the Buffet Service is excellent, in the main you will find something to eat and all in all we find the quality very good.

The Red parrot was excellent, so was the Palm Grill, if only the staff showed any enthusiasm instead of wheeling you in, providing you with the raw food without any guidance apart from "don`t touch the center of the table", then wheeling you out ready for the next lot.

The Paparazzi was the worst of the specialist restaurants but you need to book early with the concierge as all 3 get busy.

Unfortunately there were some other negatives in our opinion :

Organisation at Conuku Buffet Service
The organisation at the evening meals was very poor, the eating area also serves at the entertainment area and many nights we could not sit down to eat as others, having eaten, stayed at the tables waiting for the entertainment.

One night we managed to get a table and finished eating as the entertainment started, however I had strong words with an American who with his friends and family had come from the bar area and stood RIGHT IN FRONT OF US to watch the show, without ANY courtesy to those who sat behind him.

I won`t write the language he used when I requested that he move, but it was the organisation of the area that created the problem in the first place.
Who wants to fall out on vacation !?
TAM MANAGEMENT TAKE NOTE.

Ironically it was not as though the Entertainment was good, it was the worst we have experienced in all the holidays we have taken in Spain, Mexico or Florida, but you have to do something in the evenings.

The Staff at both the Tam and the Divi were pretty slow and unless you provided them with a tip in advance you didn`t get the service.
We British tip on receipt of good service, these guys were bribed by the Americans and it really showed.
The service and attitude from the barman Charles at the Divi in particular was unbelievable.
Look out for his unhelpful manner and say Hi from his British Fanclub.

At least when we had a drink it was branded product and the Miller tasted a lot better than the local Balashi beer. (Something positive about American beer, please note!)

The "Fun Makers" were almost non existent, they did not add to the atmosphere in any way.

Oranjestad is a nice place with a bus or taxi ride, we walked it but trust me it is not the 500 yards I told my kids and friends.
We bought jewellery at Touch of Gold who provided good and informative service.

We did take up some of the excursions and enjoyed them, and in the main they offered value for money.

De Palm Safari Tour- Dusty but a good day out. Coco Beach is good apart from the Oil Refinery, Natural Bridge was almost a pit stop.

De Palm Island- Sea Trek was excellent, so was the snorkelling, don`t expect luxury, quite grubby in fact.

Helicopter- $99 for a 30 minute Tour, excellent view of many of the key aspects of the island.

Screamer- Good Tour up to the Lighthouse but we wanted more action !!!

Finally, the myth about "One Happy Island", all I can say is they need it on their car number plates to remind them to be Happy, for many at the Tam it was too much trouble. NOT ALL though.
We did tip when we felt the service derserved it, but we did it on merit and this did not go down so well with some of the people who expected it.

We went to the Island with an optimistic view having had a fantastic holiday in Mexico last year, but it did not compare.

We will not return..............

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Colesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2005

Just returned from the tam. Stayed 11.7.05 for 2 weeks.
Good Points.
The Hotel is in a excellent location. The best on island from what i saw. The beach is very nice with calm waters. Never busy and always had free sunbeds.
The room's are small but comfortable and have a good tv with a range of good channels.
The resort is within walking distance into the town were there is loads of nice restaraunts and shops. (you can walk round with no one bothering you and feel safe).
The best thing about this hotel is the drinks selection. Loads of cocktails to choose from and all brand named spirits and they give you plenty in there measures. There is nice wine and a good selection of beer (amstel,miller light and balshi).
There is a good range of activities to do tennis,hire bikes and you can hire floats and you can rock climb etc.

Bad points.
Lots of Americans (only joking, there ok).
THE FOOD. Not alot of choice at the buffet compared to other all inclusive resorts. Not alot of choice and is bland. Is sometimes cold and if you have kids there is not alot for them apart from chips at dinner. Make sure you bring lots of money to eat out because you will want to after the first night. There is a pizza bar open all day that does pizza and nice snaks. The food was very good but the service very very slow. The old guy making the food was a nice fella but was very slow and you would have to wait about 25 mins for him just to take your order and there was at times loads of people waiting to be served.
Staff. A Few are really nice but others are very miserable and you would need to tip em $50 to get a smile!.
The Pool. Probably the worst pool i have seen and i have stayed at some bad hotels. Very very small, looks quite dirty, has a rough concrete floor and not inviting. Even though there is a big stretch of beach i feel that you do need a good pool.
Evenings. Only one bar to go to for the whole resort. Nowhere to sit and have a drink, you have to resort to sitting on the sunbeds round the pool. The pool never closes so there is kids in it splashing all night.(i have never been to a hotel were this was aloud before).
Evening entertainment does not entertain and is on where you eat the buffet so if you eat last you get a seat. And the rest are stranded on the wet sunbeds round the pool being entertained by the kids bombing in the pool. Lucky if you stay dry.
The weather. I can only speak for the two weeks i was there and i know the hotel does not control the weather but i will just mention it is windy and though sometimes nice it is mostly annoying especially when your on the beach and you get a face full of sand. It only rained twice for short periods but it was very cloudy every day. I Personally would prefer more tropical conditions. The rep said aruba was the hottest island but i certainly dont agree!

In conclusion had a great time but would not reccomend the Tamerjin! Would go back but would defo would stay in other hotel and go self catering becuase there is a great choice of resteraunts and plenty of shops.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mavers691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 18, 2005

We have just returned from our two week holiday in Aruba, staying at the Tamarijn all inclusive with upgrade at the Divi All inclusive. We always looked at previous reviews of this hotel, and went with an open mind. We really enjoyed the holiday we went with two friends, we did'nt want to leave. Our rooms were beach front you could'nt wish for anything better the beach was lovely, never crowded, the sea was beautiful, it is really a relaxing place. Rooms are basic but clean, food was really good. There was entertainment every night. We found it a really good value holiday, weather was perfect very hot, the beach could do with a few more sun shades, apart from that we could'nt find fault with anything, We would like to go back again it is a lovely island.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We stayed at the Tam from 6/28-7/10/05 for our honeymoon. It was our first time to Aruba and would definitely recomend it to honeymooners looking to relax!

We are not very picky people about much, my only requirement was a nice room, great beach and peace and quite and that is certainly what we got. We stayed in the 2400 block and LOVED it. It was certainly a hike to get anywhere but the bunker bar was steps away, there was always a hut available to sit under and the beach was perfect. Being at the end of the block & ground floor, foot traffic was the lightest of anywhere at the resort and we would come in and out all day with out worrying about locking the patio door. I have to also mention our housekeeper as she was amazing. Again - service that is unbeatable.

If you are looking for gourmet meals you will certainly find them all over the island but don't expect them at the Tam or the Divi. Meals are what they are and are great for breakfast and lunch. We ate at the Red Parrot and Paparatzi and both were fair. Most nights we went out and if you ever go anywhere you MUST go to the Flying Fishbone and eat by the water for the most romantic meal of your life as well as Mirandi and ask for the private table in the corner. They will know what you mean. Both were so ingredibly romantic and they take the greatest care of you everywhere you go. We are definitely FOODIES so meals are very important to us especially when dinners run upwards of $150 for two. Also recomend Amazonia for a brazilian steak house - it was an amazing experience with the most attentive service I have ever had EVER.

We went pool hoping one day to check out the highrise hotels upclose and personal and would certainly recomend the Raddison, Hyatt and Marriot in that order but will warn you that the beach is a mad house up there compared to the Tam. All of the huts are jam packed next to each other and there are people EVERYWHERE. Definitely some great bars, restaurants and activities so do for sure spend the day or 2 up there. Its like an entirely different vacation experience.

We really loved staying at the Tam and using it as a home base so to speak. It really is the best beach of all of the resorts and there is nothing like knowing you can drink whatever you wish and know that it won't cost $22 for 2 drinks like at the Hyatt pool bar!

Try the Pink Panther. It is by far the best frozen cocktail I have ever had.
If you can get the bar tenders to smile - you have a lot going for you.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank RkyMtnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 11, 2005

My husband and I arrived at the Tamarijn on July 1, 2005- and stayed for 11 days.
From the moment we arrived everyone was very friendly.
And when we arrived, our room was ready. It was clean and the best part- it had a terrific view of the ocean.
We were on the 2nd floor and if I jumped off of the balcony- I would've fallen into the sand. The water was just feet away.
It was a breathtaking view to wake up to every morning.
The food was pretty good being an all inclusive- (I have to confess we ate out most nights)- breakfast was good, lunch was always good, and I personally enjoyed the snack bar. There was a good variety to choose from.
Our housekeeping staff was EXCELLENT- always left the room perfect and left extra towels (as per our request) every day we were there without fail.
Best restaurant was the Red Parrot at the Divi (we had the mega package).
We had a great vacation- largely due to the staff at the Tamarijn.
The guest services staff is wonderful- they always went out of their way for us- or answered any silly questions that we had.
The front desk people were great- and so was the golf cart shuttle service between resorts and the Alhambra casino.
The only thing wrong with the entire experience was the few people who approached us to go to the time share presentation at the Divi Golf Resort.
Just say no to them.
Otherwise, the trip was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
0.4 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,647 reviews
1.6 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,591 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Property: Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms on the mile-long beach make this lively resort the perfect choice for beach lovers. The Tamarijn Aruba is Aruba's hot spot on the beach where the fun never stops. There's plenty of activity day and night. Learn to windsurf, ride a bike on the boardwalk or climb the 30-foot rock climbing wall right on the sand. Kayaking and snorkeling are just steps from the rooms. When the sun goes down, the fun begins with lively music around the pool and theme shows. Or try your luck at the Alhambra Casino nearby. All Inclusive Amenities: • 10 Restaurants and grills • 8 Bars with daily drink specials • 4 Freshwater pools • Non-motorized water sports • Divi Winds Sports Center with fitness center • Bikes, beach volleyball, tennis clinic • Weekly water aerobics, yoga and Zumba classes • Lighted tennis courts • Nightly entertainment with theme nights • 30ft Rock climbing wall on the beach • Daily activities • Kids Fun Club for ages 5 - 12 • Free Wi-Fi throughout property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Hotel
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort
Hotel Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing