We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of your room and on the beach!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Out of your room and on the beach!!!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here December 2011. Front desk was quick and efficient. Lobby was open air, clean and casual. Our first floor room in the 1200s was fabulous. When I opened our sliding door I was beyond pleased. Our patio was larger than most as our building was set back from the one next to it...and then I was standing in the sand!!! Not too many steps to the left along the boardwalk was the pool restaurants, bar, pizza...

If you're looking for a beach holiday where you are physically on the beach when you open your sliding door, this is the place for you!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JAG0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    1,368
    409
    165
    88
See reviews for
996
1,627
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,011)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I spent a week in the Tamarijn early September with my family. I wanted a quiet place near a beautiful beach since our party included my grandmother who is 83 and my niece who is 4. We were 7 and booked 3 rooms.

Our rooms were on the second floor on the far west side of the property. Rooms were very comfortable. Nice beds, very clean and it is impossible not to like waking up and seeing the beautiful Aruba sea right in front of you.

We pretty much did not leave the property except to celebrate my Bday on a restaurant at their sister property Divi. Very easy to get there with the shuttles.

The food on the reserved restaurants was top notch! We tried all of them and loved every dish we ordered. On the buffet-styled ones, the quality varied, some days it was great others not so great. But in general, very good food.

I am not giving 5 to this property because:
- Drinks were actually terrible! I tried different ones, asked them to prepare something different and it took me a few days to figure out what was safe. Mimosas, are ok and some of the wine.
- Service was not very good. There were maybe 3 excellent servers and the bell men were great. That were very nice and did all to please you. Unfortunatelly they were the exception. Actually on the first day, I was starting to think we might need to change hotels... We were really badly treated over breakfast and lunch. People were really rude to us... And we are very low maintainance, we just ordered drinks for example, but the staff looked so bad and responded so badly to us, we felt like we asked something absurd. Over the days staff seems to shift and service improved a bit...

In any case, the location of this property makes it impossible to be in a bad mood. Once you see the ocean, that is in your face from wherever you are in the property, you just relax and let it all go.

I recommend for the location and facilities, but don't go expecting 5-star service...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy_traveler_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Before traveling to Aruba, I'd read some previous reviews. Several mentioned that it was a very nice resort, but that the rooms were dated. Upon arrival we learned that the building we were assigned had been recently renovated, so I'm assuming (by the looks of the complex), that most/all other rooms had been too. Ours was very nice. We heard that the sister resort (the Divi) was more upscale, but we're glad to have been at the Tamarijn, because all the rooms are right on the beach & the buildings only are 2-stories tall (either with a private balcony or a patio). Be advised that the a la carte restaurants require reservations & fill up quickly...so plan on making reservations 2 days in advance.

Room Tip: Some buildings are a bit of a walk from the lobby/restaurant area, but there are frequent shuttles a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLM2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Like many others that have written reviews, I was a little apprehensive after reading so many negative reviews. There were a few small issues, but is any vacation perfect? I will start by dispelling some of the negative myths. First, the service couldn't have been better for us. It all started with a quick and simple check-in. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and answered all of our questions when we checked-in. Then they had someone drive us in a golf cart to our rooms. Ours were on the 2nd floor and they carried our bags to our rooms. We saw multiple review where travelers had to carry their own bags. We also could have called them to come get our bags for checkout, but we chose not to and just did it ourselves. Next, the bartenders were great. All of them except for one interacted quite well with the guests even the guests that had obviously already been over-served. I only saw one bartender without a smile all week. Also, all of them had loose wrists and made some strong drinks. Top shelf liquors were readily available whenever we wanted them. I would like to give special mention to Carmen whose been there 40 years and Maika who really seemed to enjoy her job. Next, the food was fantastic. None of the group that we were with complained at all about the food. I will discuss that further later. Two complaints that were not myths were the rooms were small and the half shower door was strange, but neither affected our vacation. Maybe if you are a honeymooner andplan on spending the whole vacation in your room then it could be a big deal, but as most have said, we were only in our rooms to sleep and shower. As for the shower doors, it was easy enough to put towels on the floor before showering and the housekeeping staff was excellent and always gave fresh towels each day. My only complaint of Aruba is it seemed like 75% of people smoked. I've become so used to going to smoke free restaurants here at home, it took some getting used to.

As many others have said, all rooms are right on the ocean. I have never stayed anywhere like this before because usually the price of hotels rooms right on the ocean is way out of our league. There is nothing like being able to walk right out of your room to the ocean. We stayed in building 15 and we prefer to be close to the action. If you like things quieter it would be better to stay in buildings 19 or above. We reserved Palapas every morning around 7:30 and didn't have a problem. One night we stayed up until 3 and just reserved our spot then, but every other morning didn't have a problem at 7:30. One annoyance would be some people would reserve a Palapa and then we wouldn't see them all day. As we were usually at the beach from 10:30-4ish, we quite often noticed reserved Palapas that would sit empty all day. This isn't the fault of the hotel, just the rudeness of some guests.

We visited all of the bars at the resort multiple times even the ones at Divi. The Bunker Bar is in front of buildings 18-19. We enjoyed the Bunker Bar, but it seemed to be the smokiest of the bars when we were there. Some said it was a good place to watch the sunset, but it closed at 6 and the sun set after the bar closed. Coconuts and Pizza per Tutti were on each side of the pool and were open from 11AM-1AM. Coconuts was all drinks. We ate at Pizza Per Tutti everyday for lunch. Everything we had was excellent. They pizza, fries, grilled sandwiches and some excellent onion rings. They also had ice cream and popcorn and as mentioned before they had Carmen making stiff drinks. We also like the beach bar at the Divi. That's probably not what it was called, but what we called it. It was right on the beach and they seemed to always have entertainment while watching the sunset. This was our favorite place to watch the sunset. The Divi seemed to be a little more high class and was a nice change of pace when looking for something else to do.

Now for the food. As I said earlier, I was very apprehensive about the food after readin other reviews. I am an extremely picky eater. There were four people in our group and all loved the food. The breakfast buffet was a normal breakfast buffet and got old after a couple of days, but even that wasn't bad. It was just the same thig everyday. Lunch I covered above. We ate Pizza Per Tutti while hanging out by the pool. Never ate at the buffet once for lunch. For dinner, we had the buffet the first night as we got there too late to make reservations anywhere and it was fine. On other nights, they had seafood nights and ribs night that others told us were good, but we only ate there one night. Our favorite place was the Palm. We ate there twice. The shrimp and grouper were outstanding. You cook it yourself and you can order beef, chicken, pork, shrimp, grouper and they bring the whole table vegetables. We also loved the Red Parrot at the Divi. It's feels much more upscale than the other places and ended up being over a 2 hour meal, but it was excellent. We also ate at Paparazzi which was excellent too, but still ended up third on our group ratings.

The only excursion we did was the AM Pleasure sailing/snorkel through Depalm. It was fun. Got to snorkel at a shipwreck and see all kinds of colorful and very friendly fish. On that day we hung out at the high rise district. It gave us all more appreciation for where we were staying. We all like to be where the action is, but even that was too much for us. People were constantly trying to sell us stuff and the beached were overcrowded and much dirtier than at our hotel. It was much more touristy. I'm glad we hung out there for a day to see it, but also happy with our hotel choice.

The last thing I will add was there were a lot of kids there. If kids aren't your thing, then maybe you should saty somewhere else. We have kids but left them at home so we weren't bothered at all, but I can see how some people may be put off. The other thing is the water at the Divi seemed a little more calm than at the Tamarijn. I have no idea why and maybe it's not like this everyday. If our kids would have been there, we wouldn't have been comfortable with them swimming in the ocean at the Tamarijn.

That's pretty much it. I tried to be thorough. Hopefully some have found it useful. The Tamarijn is our new favorite vacation spot and we can't wait to go back in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Buildings 13-16 are closest to the action. Stay in 19 or higher if you like it quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank hammermw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Loaf NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Tamarijn resort is a great place to stay if you are looking for an all-inclusive resort in Aruba. All of the rooms are ocean front. The rooms are comfortable and clean. No shower door which is odd at first but not a big deal. Use the bathmat or towel to keep the water from puddling. The rooms are very quiet. We never heard noise from other rooms or even outside.

The beach is very large, however, finding a hut or lounge chairs can be difficult, depending on the location and time of day. We were in a room near the bunker bar and had to get up very early to claim a hut and chairs. If you don't get a hut, sitting out on your patio or balcony works just as well.

There are 3 full service restaurants at this resort as well as a buffet and snack station. All of the food was very good. The buffet has many options, my only complaint about the buffet was the flys near the food and seating area. The staff at the buffet and restaurants are all friendly and helpful. They split their tips so leaving them a couple of dollars after dinner helps them out. We didn't tip at breakfast or lunch since they really only bring you drinks when needed. Be sure to reserve your dinner restaurants each day.

There are 3 bars around the resort and 1 "secret" bar in the Paparazzi restaurant. It is small and not really advertised, so if you don't want a loud crowd that is a nice indoor bar to sit at.

There are many activities both free and pay. You can do as little or as much as you want. The concierge are all very polite and helpful.

There are people there trying to get you to take a tour of time shares that they offer. If you are not interested just let them know. They are funny, nice people and they won't push you if you tell them it isn't for you.

Along with this resort you get their sister resort, Divi. There is a nice restaurant there and their buffet is nicer looking than the Tamarijn's, but we didn't eat there. You have full use of this resorts pools, bars, and restaurants also. You can walk or take the free shuttle ride which is less than 5 minutes. The casino is also located near the Divi.

We have been to the Tamarijn 3 times now and plan to return again in the future. It is a great place for everyone - couples, families, adults, young-adults. Aruba is a beautiful island and this resort is just as great as the island!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room. The 1800 room block is a perfect location, located near the Bunker Bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank himoc918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We spent a week here in October with our adult son, daughter-in-law, and their 2 year old. It was heavenly! Our rooms had a kitchenette so that snacks/milk was available 24/7 for our grandson. We had a hot tub and pool right off our patios AND a beach bar was a few yards away. The staff was helpful and smiling always. Our bathrooms had a tub and a dressing room area that we used for the crib for Henry. The maid thought the baby should not be in the "closet", but we assured her that it was just what Henry needed for quiet and darkness.

We spent time at ALL the pools, a different one each day and the restaurants at Divi were the best. One day we took the bike/snorkling trip and had a great time. On two other days we took the bikes into town and explored. All free and available when we requested. I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Stay on the main level, Dutch Village, for large rooms with kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaralinMurrieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Tamarijn was exactly what we wanted: a hotel with beach front location. It is an older hotel but grounds are well manicured. Rooms were average but always clean and we did not spend much time in the room anyway. Bathroom recently updated with a shower instead of a tub. Like previous reviewers, the shower head did spray onto the floor but it was not an issue, just put down a towel before turning on water. The beach was not crowded and there was never a problem getting a shade hut on the beach at the Tamarijn. Loved the dinner at the Red Parrot and the Papparazi, would definitely recommend both of these restaurants,. We thought that there was more food selection at the buffet at the Divi than at the Tamarijn and we enjoyed the buffet at the Divi more because of it. Lots to drink at any of the bars which opened at 11 am. The evening shows were quite entertaining. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would recommend if you are looking for a casual beach vacation. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2511 on the lower level at the far end of the resort. Could walk right outside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjriddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
2.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,721 reviews
1.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,994 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Property: Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms on the mile-long beach make this lively resort the perfect choice for beach lovers. The Tamarijn Aruba is Aruba's hot spot on the beach where the fun never stops. There's plenty of activity day and night. Learn to windsurf, ride a bike on the boardwalk or climb the 30-foot rock climbing wall right on the sand. Kayaking and snorkeling are just steps from the rooms. When the sun goes down, the fun begins with lively music around the pool and theme shows. Or try your luck at the Alhambra Casino nearby. All Inclusive Amenities: • 10 Restaurants and grills • 8 Bars with daily drink specials • 4 Freshwater pools • Non-motorized water sports • Divi Winds Sports Center with fitness center • Bikes, beach volleyball, tennis clinic • Weekly water aerobics, yoga and Zumba classes • Lighted tennis courts • Nightly entertainment with theme nights • 30ft Rock climbing wall on the beach • Daily activities • Kids Fun Club for ages 5 - 12 • Free Wi-Fi throughout property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Hotel Tamarijn
Aruba Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Hotel
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing