We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This August was our second visit to the Tamarijn. We had another great visit the second time around. The water is crystal clear and the sand is like powder. You can't help but relax here.

The Tam is a laid back resort. The rooms do leave something to be desired, but other than sleeping or showering, we didn't spend much time in our room. The food was fine and everyone in our family found something to eat. We did leave the resort a few times for meals because we wanted to explore the island.

I understand the negative reviews and the positive reviews, but the positives outweigh any of the negatives. If you are looking for a beautiful beach and plentiful drinks and food, then the Tamarijn will fit the bill.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 2tigerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    1,264
    365
    150
    82
See reviews for
901
1,462
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Room was as expected, nothing to write home about. The room was perfect for our needs of sleeping and whatnot. Air Conditioning was very cold and the bed was comfortable. Make sure and spend the 2$ a day for the safe. We stayed in room 2105, which is one of the 'newly renovated' rooms. This is fine, but the shower, as others have mentioned, is open air, with a half pane of glass acting as a boundary. This makes for very cold showers, regardless of how hot you have the water. You are also left with a soaking wet bathroom floor after every use. But as others have said they give you plenty of towels each day. We found this room to be the perfect distance away from the noise of the pool area and close enough to the bunker bar for drinks. If you are light sleepers like we are, take some ear plugs as the sound from the AC unit alone is not enough to drown out background noise.

Beach was great, not crowded at all. Everyone seemed to mind their own business, made little noise, and just relaxed. This is NOT a party beach, not a lot going on, which was perfect for us trying to just unwind. If you plan to get one of the huts for some shade, you better wake up early (6-7AM) and set out your chairs with your towels. We never had anyone mess with our chairs or towels, but we did see a lady near us steal someone’s, and act like a jerk when the original people showed up asking her to relocate. The beach was not dirty by any means, but it was dirtier than I had anticipated. By dirty I mean straws from the drinks served flying out of the cups on the walk back from the bar, and the occasional cigarette butt. Granted, it's probably hard to keep something like a beach in perfect order when so many people come and go every day.

The buffet worked great for us; we could come and go as we pleased. We ate breakfast and lunch there every day. The wait staff was great. Breakfast was my favorite buffet and there many options to choose from. We never ate the buffet for dinner. We ate at the Red Parrot and Paparazzi, Red Parrot was vastly superior. There was nothing bad about Paparazzi; it just wasn't 'great' like the Red Parrot was.

The only issue we had was with the Maintenance staff, or lack thereof to be exact. We experienced three separate 'Maintenance' headaches.

When we arrived, our door key to our room worked fine. We left the room to get some food and a drink before bed, since we arrived pretty late, around 11PM. Our door key did not work when we came back to the room. We walked to the front desk, and they quickly gave us a new set of keys. We walked back to our room, and these again did not work. We walked back again to the front desk, and they had Security come and use a Master Key to get in the room, and they told us that the Maintenance guys would be by in the morning to fix the key lock, and to come by the desk in the morning for the new keys. We went back to the front desk the next morning, and I asked if the door had been fixed. They seemed to have no idea what I was talking about, and just gave me new keys again, as they did the night before. The kicker here is, this new person told me to wait 10 minutes before trying them since it took that long to be activated! Had the person the night before told us that, the other keys probably would have worked fine, since we didn't wait that long before.

Next, our Alarm clock in the room did not function. The clock itself did work, but the actual alarm part never worked. This was only a concern since on our departing day we needed to wake up at 4am. I asked the front desk for a new one on day two, they told me that they would send the Maintenance staff to replace it. That never happened, so I asked again at the front desk the next morning, they said Housekeeping would replace it when they were cleaning our rooms that day, this again never happened.

On day 3, we got in from the beach around 5PM and started getting ready to go to dinner. While taking a shower, the water began to not drain at all. We didn't even notice it at first, and it began to pool and almost run over the small tile boundary marking the entrance to the shower. I called the front desk and informed them of this, and they said that they would send the Maintenance staff out. I mentioned that I also had asked for a new alarm clock twice now and it had never been brought, they told me that they would take care of both the drainage issue and the alarm clock right away. We sat and waited, and waited, and of course, no one showed up. Finally the shower began to VERY slowly drain and we were able to finally finish getting ready. This drainage issue continued the remainder of our stay, we never heard anything from their Maintenance staff, and we NEVER got a new alarm clock.

Some complain about the walk to get to and from places, I never found this to be an issue due to enjoying having the walks. There are golf carts that we saw always giving other people a ride that did not want to walk. The staff as others have said was not always the friendliest. They weren't overly rude and did get the job done. The check in process wasn't as nice as I had expected. After 16 hours of travel we arrived to nobody at the welcome desk. We waited 10 minutes for someone to come out and check us in and then another 10 minutes for the person to come and show us to our room. It wasn't terrible but wasn't what I had expected after reading other reviews about being welcomed with a cold bottle of water and a towel.

It was very windy the last two days we were there so make sure you take your sunglasses to keep the sand out of your eyes. Ocean was absolutely beautiful. There are some rocks and coral in the water so take water shoes if you feel the need to.

Room Tip: We were in 2105, had no issue with noise from the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 8/16-8/22 2013. The resort, which while one of the older ones, was wonderful. The beach fantastic, the food was great and the room we had we believe was the best on property. It was all the way at the end of the resort on the second floor (top floor), very little foot traffic, always had a palapa and the balcony gave great views. At night you had great seclusion even out on the balcony for those who like that, like us. The room itself is small, but we weren't in it much. Other than a hefty walk to the lobby area and bunker bar, we loved it. One call to the front desk sent a guy in a golf cart to get us within 5 mins.

The beach itself is amazing. The sand in the water did have some coral you had to be careful of walking into the water, but not a huge problem. Clear warm waters, great views and reasonable privacy were great. If you want to be in the thick of everything, get a room in the 2200-2300 block or lower, but be warned, you'll have NO privacy on your patio or balcony, but you'll be closer to the bars and restaurants.

We got bicycles to help cut back on all the walking and also used them to explore the shops and malls across the street. They're free, but you need to get to the shop EARLY when they open at 7am. They aren't the best bikes, but really came in handy.

The only negatives, if there are any true negatives are below. You decide for yourself if these are meaningful to you.

- No coffee maker in the room
- Long walk from our room location (trade off for great privacy)
- Room is bit on the small side
- The highway is right behind the hotel and there's traffic noise from some cars and motorcycles in the morning rush hour.
- Overall the staff wasn't overtly happy all the time. Certainly didn't give "One Happy Island" a good name. Not sure why, but other than a few of the staff, everyone was pretty much just job focused. It didn't destroy our vacation at all, but if you compare them to the staff at the resorts in Jamaica, Jamaica wins hands down
- Had to pay $2/day for an in-room safe
- Casino wasn't all that and you had to take a shuttle to get to it up on the Divi Aruba resort.

Positives:
- Beachfront
- Great views and sunsets over the right side of the beach
- Room A/C was awesome
- Great food in general. Red Parrot is the best. The Italian place is great and the buffet is pretty good. No one likes everything, but overall, no major complaints.
- The cook it yourself restaurant, in the buffet area is a neat concept, but's very hot to eat there as you cook your own food in the center of your table. A bit miserable temperature-wise, but food quality is good.
- Beautiful grounds
- Full privileges to Divi Aruba as well as your own resort

All in all, the resort was fantastic value for the money and we plan to return as long as we can get the same room we had before.

Room Tip: Lots of people and no privacy, but closer to restaurants and pools, go for rooms in the 2200-2300 bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Sept 2013, the property was beautiful,they spend a lot of time maintaining the common areas and keeping them very nice. The staff was not very nice and not very helpful to a first time visitor to Aruba. The rooms, they are average,but the view is incredible. The shower water did not regulate at all, most times you were being scalded no matter what temperature you set the water at. The bathroom is very small, no shower curtain, only a half glass wall, so the floor gets very wet and slippery. Rooms need to be updated, but the atmosphere at the pool and the common areas of the hotel is enough to keep you coming back. The entertainment at night was also very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at the Tamarijn for our honeymoon. Check-in was quick and easy and they provided a golf cart and the bellhop to take our bags to our room. The room was a little small, but since it was just the two of us it was comfortable. The beds were comfortable, we had control of the air conditioner, and the bathroom was nice. The room was clean and they provided soap, shampoo, and shower gel. We were on the second floor and had a balcony right on the beach.

The food was good. The buffet and pizza bar were open most of the day and had good food. The bartenders and servers were all wonderful! They also have other restaurants that are included, our favorites were Paparazzi and Red Parrot.

We never had trouble getting good spots on the beach or by the pool, we never had to leave for anything, and they were very helpful in arranging tours and activities. They also provided nice beach towels and floats.

Check-out was convenient. We checked out the night before, then were able to just leave our room key on the front desk without having to wait in line.

We could not have asked for a better place to honeymoon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Tamarijn Aruba from 13-27th September and had a wonderful holiday. The resort could not be in a more beautiful setting and this made up for the tiredness of the room. We arrived and got to our room to find the chest of draws broken which really should have been repaired before we checked in!!! It was sorted quite quickly once we had reported it,however the fridgebroke down and we were without it for 2 days having had to report it 4 times. The bathroom floor got very wet and you need to be careful after a shower, aloe showergel was supplied which was nice ,lotion was not supplied but i took my own and kept it in the fridge to stop it from going runny in the heat, although there was air conditioning in the room it didnt keep everything cool..Clean towels were supplied every day as were beach towels. You had to be quick to get sun beds under some shade as people put their towels on them sometimes as early as 6.30am!!!The buffet food was good with plenty of variety but the Red Parrot was the best place to eat by far,it has a small menu but what was on it was lovely. There was plenty to choose from to drink although served in plastic cups, however the resturants served their drinks in glasses which was nice.The staff were very friendly and were always pleased to help. We liked Gingers but felt rushed and didnt feel there was a lot of atmosphere, The Palm Grill was fun and a very sociable way of getting to know other guests just for an evening.Beware mosquito bands on site especially from Thompsons are expensive! we found them off site for less than half the price and you do need them. We didnt use the pool as the beach was so lovely but during the day there seemed to be plenty going on if you wanted to get involved. We went on some great trips and we certainly woud go back to this lovely island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umatilla, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I accidently posted this review on the Divi site. It should have been at this resort website for the Tamarijn....

We recently returned from the Tamarijn, Aruba on September 25th. The resort is in an excellent location, right on the beach. We had a first floor and it was nice to be able to just walk out the patio door and onto the beach. The water was wonderful, the sand soft and cool.

The only real problem we ran into was when we first checked in. We went to our room and the key card wouldn't work. My partner went to the front desk and they said they would send a maintenance man to the room to fix it. However, there was no shade near our door and it was unbearably hot, especially since we were in our traveling clothes. Fortunately, a maid was cleaning an unoccupied room next door and she let us wait in the air conditioned room. Fifteen minutes later, the maintenance man came and fixed the door (so we thought). Well, we freshened up, changed and went to dinner. When we came back from dinner, key card did not work, again. So, back up to the desk we go, wait again for maintenance, and this time, they finally fixed the door panel. That was really the only problem during our entire stay.

Room: The room was average. Not very big compared to other all-inclusive resorts that we stayed at, however, you're only in the room to change, shower and sleep so all-in-all, we were comfortable. The bathroom is small. Not roomy enough for 2 people to be there at the same time. Do put a towel on the floor outside the shower as there is no door. We were in 1600 bldg so I don't know if all the buildings are the same when it comes to shower doors. Water did splash onto the bathroom floor a little bit but it didn't make a mess. The beds were comfortable but the bed pillows were small. The only extra pillows were the ones in the pillow shams and they were too lumpy and big to sleep on. My partner used one for a leg pillow at night.

Ladies, if you want to use body lotion after a hot (and I mean HOT) day in the sun, be sure to take some with you as the resort does not supply body lotion the room. Just Soap and shampoo which are in dispensers on the wall.

Food: Food was average, especially at the buffet. We only ate breakfast at the buffet and like most buffets, menu stayed the same. Scrambled eggs, potatoes, corned beef hash, bacon, sausage, etc. They did have an omelet station.

We ate all our dinners at the Red Parrot and Gingers. Menus are not very big but the food was very good. The salmon was excellent at Gingers. The curry chicken dish was not so great. Very similar to what you would get at your local Chinese restaurant or buffet. There was a beef tenderloin salad appetizer that was excellent. I tried the Seafood pasta at the Red Parrot and was a bit disappointed. The scallops were little tiny bay scallops. The crab meat was fake. Shrimp was also small. We really aren't fussy eaters but some of the food was not what you would find in a 5-star resort.

We didn't try the Italian restaurant so I can't comment on that one.

The pool is small and there is literally no shade. There were a few beds under a wooden canopy but they were always the first ones taken. Also, if you go to the beach, you really do have to grab chairs and a palapa by 7:30 am.

All drinks are served in plastic cups. Martini's included. We ordered martinis in Gingers and Red Parrot and they were served in stemmed water/wine glasses with ice. There was a drink bar in the Italian Restaurant but since we didn't eat there, we never thought to try the bar. Maybe they used martini glasses. Drinks were OK. The Brown Lady is a good drink. Also, the island beer, Balashi, is very good and I'm not a beer drinker. I think I drank more beer there than at home...

The sun is really, really hot so take plenty of lotion. We live in Florida and have been to Mexico and Jamaica and nothing compares to the Aruban sun.

One more note. Being at the airport 3 hours early is no joke. It was a breeze going through Aruban customs and Immigrations but when we got to U.S. Customs and Immigration,it was a long process. It took us one hour to get through. There were 3 booths open and it literally did take one hour. There is shopping and food after you clear US Immigrations so if you want to shop, do it after that as it is a long process due to the lines.

It wasn't the worse place we stayed but I definitely wouldn't give it 4 or 5 stars. 3 at the most.

If you like to go to Casinos, the one near the Divi called Alhambra, is a pretty fun casino. They have plenty of penny, nickel, quarter slots and we spent some time there.

Room Tip: 1400-1600 block is good as you're close to restaurants but away from bar/pool area. First floor...
See more room tips

Room Tip: 1400-1600 blocks. First floor is best as second floor has a roof over the patio but it is an open b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tbel065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
0.4 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 2,389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.6 mi away
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclu...
#22 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 5,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 3,970 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Property: Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Hotel Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Hotel
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort
Aruba Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing