We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing time at the Tam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“relaxing time at the Tam”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband, myself and friends stayed here in September, and again in December, and both times enjoyed ourselves very much. The hotel is older, and a bit worn in places, but the joy of walking out your patio door, and 30 steps later you are at the oceans edge makes up for dated decor. The water was beautiful, warm , clean and clear.The staff were wonderful and the maid kept our room spotless. The buffet was small but the food pretty good, wear the Tamarijn excelled was the specialty restaurants, we tried them all more than once and really enjoyed everything. The Red Parrot was excellent! Make sure to tour through Aruba, it is quite unique as the interior of the island is desert like, but the perimeter has the typical tropical island landscape. So go relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: all rooms ocean front {2 floors} ground floor allow you to walk right out to ocean, and easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 2happytravellers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    1,368
    409
    165
    88
See reviews for
997
1,628
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive ! We stayed here12th through the 16th of December 2012. We had some rain but really no bother. We stayed at the Divi property on St Croix, which has no comparison to this property. When stayed at the Tamarijn on Aruba you can use all the amenities at it’s sister resort, The Divi resort next store. It is a great place to stay. The food and service at the sit down restaurants was much better the we ever expected, The Red Parrot restaurant (at the Divi) and The Asian-fusion restaurant, “Ginger” restaurant were both fine dining at it’s best. Cunucu Terrace is the breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, it was what a buffet is…. One thing though, they don’t enforce their evening dining dress code….which was disappointing. The beach was awesome. Bartenders were great. Rooms were clean but smaller than most resorts. We were in Building 22, which had been renovated and upgraded. We rented a jeep while were there to see the island, which we recommend. All in all, great place. And, definitely would return here! Hope this helps on your choice to Aruba.

Room Tip: try to ask NOT to have an adjoining room. as you can definitively hear your neighbor through the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MYRAandFELIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Six of us stayed for 5 days in the 2400 section which is at the eastern end. We enjoyed the peace and quiet away from the crowds that were near the lobby area. We were very glad we didn't book a room in the High Rise area once we saw how crowded the beaches were. We never had a problem getting palapas or lounge chairs. Beach towels, rafts, noodles and such were always available. One disappointment was they advertise sailboats and kayaks. Turns out the condition of the boats wasn't worth the risk taking them out on the water. There was also a limited supply.
Views from our rooms were fabulous. The rooms were adequate. We had a refrigerator and air conditoner that didn't work which they fixed within the day. The shower is an open area so expect to get the bathroom floor soaked. Housekeeping was great and very friendly. I can't say the same for the concierge or front desk staff. Dealing with the concierge ladies was like squeezing blood from a stone. Even slipping money to them didn't change their attitude. Don't expect to get much info from them. Ask a taxi driver if you want any info on the island. The front desk staff needs to learn how to be cordial and smile also.
We enjoyed the food at the Red Parrot, Paparazzi, Pizza Tutti and the buffet. The buffet had such a variety of food to please all of us. I recommend the coconut shrimp at the Red Parrot. The staff at the Ginger were rude and we were very disappointed. We liked the food at Pizza Tutti but the birds and biting insects were enough to keep us from sitting there to eat. Be prepared for mosquitos on the island so bring insect repellent and something for bites.
Nightly entertainment was average. The pool tables and ping pong helped pass time. The shuttles to the Divi were very convenient. The buses to the High Rise area and downtown were convenient to get to and inexpensive.
Overall we had a blast in Aruba and I'd go back to the Tamarijn. The all inclusive made it easy for us to eat/drink leisurely without having to carry a lot of cash around.

Room Tip: If you choose rooms in the 2100-2400 range you will be furthest from the lobby and restaurants/bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

While the location both to the ocean and Orenjestad is amazing, the staff could lighten up and learn to greet you. I have travelled extensively and found the staff at this hotel quite unfriendly with a few exceptions like Jon.

Other than this minor complaint, I would recommend this hotel for both families and couples.

Room Tip: The 1400 block is close to everything - but not too close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed for 11 nights at the Tamarijn from Dec. 2 – 13, 2012. I tend to write long reviews, so I’ll start with a short summary for those of you who prefer not to read all the details. This resort is a bit tired, but the relaxed, un-crowded atmosphere, view from the room, ability to also use the Divi facilities and great location on a fabulous stretch of beach more than make up for the few down falls of this resort.
Trip from airport & check-in – It took us maybe 15 minutes by taxi from the airport to the resort. The friendly bellman grabbed our bags and check-in was quick and easy. They gave us a whole package of info. and went through the amenities on the map. As the bellman loaded our bags into one of the golf carts to take us to our room, the De Palm bus pulled up. So glad we took a cab and beat the transfer bus.
The room – We stayed in 1116 on the top floor in building 11 which is closest to the Divi end of the resort. It was exactly where we requested to be. It was as close as possible to the Divi and the wide beach between, yet still close to the main area of the Tam. We also had parking right there for our car (for a week in the middle). So glad we weren’t at the far end. It’s so far from everything. We wanted top floor so we could choose to leave our door open a crack at night to hear the waves, and to be able to leave our dive gear out to dry. The balcony is set back and is twice the size. We didn’t spend much time at the room, but when we did, the view was amazing. It’s a reno’d room with king bed, but still quite basic and simple. Just don’t expect 5 star furnishings - lots of clothes storage though. Housekeeping was ok, but didn’t do a super thorough cleaning. Don’t expect towel animals here. The first morning we had issues closing our door. It wouldn’t latch shut. A friendly guy from maintenance came, but it didn’t really get fixed. We had to slam it to shut it for the rest of our stay. We did have water issues. It took about 10 minutes to warm up, and then the pressure would fluctuate and then drop to nothing. If you can avoid taking showers just after sunset (when everyone does) it’s a little better. We had some water leakage when it rained heavily, but not as bad as some rooms on the ground floor.
Weather – It was very hot and mostly sunny with some clouds rolling through. This was often a relief. About half way through we heard it rain in the early morning. One morning when we went touring we had some rain, but then it cleared up and dried up quickly. On our last full day it was cloudy and rained but this time it didn’t really clear. We could see the rain coming in the black clouds and ran for cover at the main Divi bar. It bucketed and started to flood the common areas. Staff came out with mops ans squeegees. It rained long enough for us to have lunch and a couple drinks, then stopped, but didn’t really clear and we had a few more showers. We gave up on the beach and checked out the shops at the resorts. The last morning we had hoped to sit out for a bit, but it rained torrential pretty much non-stop most of the morning. It made it a little easier to leave.
Beach – In front on the Tam the beach is narrower and has some large rocks in spots, but this makes handy for those who like to sit in front of their room. We didn’t. There aren’t nearly enough palapas, and those on the ground floor take them before sunrise. Yes, I was up and saw the towels already out. I also walked to the far end and most were taken by 7:00. We love the sun, but it is so hot and intense here you really need a palapa to escape it. So we found ourselves at a palapa near the Sandpiper beach bar at the Divi the first day, and that area became our beach spot. We never had trouble getting a palapa there, and even after lunch (on days we toured or dove the morning) we could still get one a row back. The beach is so wide here. It’s not at all crowded (after the first day when they packed up from the volley ball tournament in the piece between the 2 resorts).They rake it every morning with the tractor so it’s soft and fluffy. The entrance to the water was easy and the bottom sandy. It drops off fairly quick, so it’s great for floating and swimming. The water is quite warm – in the low-mid 80’s. The first 2 days the water was dead calm, but then it did get a little rougher with small waves. Our only complaint is that since it is a public beach, locals bring their dogs and let them run free to do their business wherever. We even saw a woman bury it. Of course no reflection on the resort, and likely someone from the resort cleaned up the one the dog did under the palapa while we were there, as the dog owner sure didn’t despite us pointing it out. Gross and inconsiderate!
Pools – We didn’t really use the pools since the ocean is so nice. They were usually somewhat busy with small kids, but we did find the quiet pool at the Divi sometimes child free and relaxing to just float. There are also 3 pools at the Dutch village which the desk told us we could use, but signs say for Dutch village guests.
Bars – We mostly got drinks from Curtis at the Sandpiper during the day. Drinks and service were good. We went to the Bunker bar a couple times at sunset. Great view but it was so hot in there. Bar service was generally a bit better in the evenings at the Divi than at the Tam.
Shuttles - We only used them at night to and sometimes from dinner. Usually they were handy, but one afternoon/early evening they must have been short staffed and we gave up and walked. So do leave time.
Entertainment – It seemed a bit better at the Tam. We enjoyed the Dream Awake show. The music other nights was good. Forget karaoke though.
Food & dining – The breakfast buffet was just ok at the Tam and slightly better at the Divi. The scrambled eggs were blah and bacon sometimes under cooked. Fruit was ok, but not so fresh. We were spoiled by amazing fresh fruit selection we had in Costa Rica. For lunch we ate at the Divi buffet; lots of selection, but mainly we made salad with the taco toppings. The pizza was good at both the Divi and Tam, with more selection at Per Tutti for other things (fries, chicken nuggets). The Sandpiper had good burgers. We only had buffet dinner 1 night (Tam) – so so. We ate 3 times at Paparazzi. The tenderloin and ravioli dish was our fav. – very good. The seafood pasta just ok, but lasagna was good. Inside was chilly. Outside you could hear music, but warm of course. We also dined 4 times at Ginger. We really enjoyed the food here and tried many things off the menu. It’s more Thai and not at all American Chinese (don’t expect chicken balls etc.) which is why we liked it. Thai beef salad and Green Chicken Curry very good. We ate 3 times at Red Parrot - twice outside and once inside. Again, it’s warm outside but you can enjoy the entertainment (we usually ate around 8:00 pm). The food here was good, especially the tenderloin and the fish I can’t recall name – not grouper, although Yaldo brought us that to try too. Service was very good at all 3 but I think Yaldo was the best for his personality.
Service (front Desk, concierge etc) – The ladies at the front desk weren’t overly friendly, but when we had trouble with our Wifi they seemed defensive, like it was our fault it stopped working on my Playbook, but managed to get it on Kev’s. We paid $50 for a week and it was very slow at times. We went to use the internet lounge last day and they were out of cheaper cards. Then it didn’t work on some computers. Other than the front desk most staff were friendly, just not overly so. I guess we are just so spoiled by the personal treatment we get in Jamaica at Couples. Nothing compares service wise.
Off resort – We had a car for a week and did some touring, which was great. We also checked out Palm Beach. It was not our thing. It’s much more busy and crowded than at the Tam/Divi.
We really did love Aruba, the great beach at the Tam/Divi, and the ease and savings of all-inclusive. We’d go back to Aruba for sure, and quite possibly back to the Tamarijn, especially as long as we can also use the Divi.

Room Tip: 1116 is an end room so it's a bit larger and has a bigger, set back balcony. Great central locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SunshineD_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The rooms on the beach were a 2.5 star, but you won't spend much time in the room! The pool area and lounge chairs were being updated while we were there, which was good to see because they really needed updating. The restaurants were great, Ginger for Asian, the Italian was great also. Other viewers commented on the steak at the Red Parrot, we were not impressed as it tasted very salty, I ordered the coconut shrimp which was good.
The service desk employees were very helpful going above and beyond to ensure that you are satisfied with your stay.
We were surprised that it was not crowded, often times we felt like we were the only ones on the beautiful beach, pulling our lounge chairs closer to the water on the smooth sand beach.
We took the public bus ride to town and felt very safe. You can walk one block to the grocery store if you need more sunblock! One disappointment, no body lotion or hair conditioner in the room. Be sure to bring your own, you will need it. Went to the casino at night for more fun, broke even! If you are looking for activities this is not the place, it was more laid back and relaxing. There we only 2 sail boards and 2 kayaks so each day you would have to be there to reserve one......only a few could enjoy them each day...wish they would have had more. Overall good vacation, great views and plenty of food and drinks!

Room Tip: We stayed at the ocean front which was very awesome! No privacy on the balcony as all the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were recommended to the resort last year and stayed again this year. The bathrooms have been remodeled and are very nice. The food and service was again excellent and you cannot beat the value for being able to walk out of the room and in 20 paces are on the beach. It is not overcrowded and has many returning guests so it is like seeing old friends. We met 2 other couples we met last year and had a fabulous time. The rooms may not be the most modern howevedr they are clean and it is a great value!

Room Tip: Any room is great however the first floor on the end is the best as you can walk right out to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
2.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
Hotel Riu Palace Antillas
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divi Aruba
Divi Aruba
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,721 reviews
1.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,000 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Property: Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms on the mile-long beach make this lively resort the perfect choice for beach lovers. The Tamarijn Aruba is Aruba's hot spot on the beach where the fun never stops. There's plenty of activity day and night. Learn to windsurf, ride a bike on the boardwalk or climb the 30-foot rock climbing wall right on the sand. Kayaking and snorkeling are just steps from the rooms. When the sun goes down, the fun begins with lively music around the pool and theme shows. Or try your luck at the Alhambra Casino nearby. All Inclusive Amenities: • 10 Restaurants and grills • 8 Bars with daily drink specials • 4 Freshwater pools • Non-motorized water sports • Divi Winds Sports Center with fitness center • Bikes, beach volleyball, tennis clinic • Weekly water aerobics, yoga and Zumba classes • Lighted tennis courts • Nightly entertainment with theme nights • 30ft Rock climbing wall on the beach • Daily activities • Kids Fun Club for ages 5 - 12 • Free Wi-Fi throughout property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Hotel Tamarijn
Aruba Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Hotel
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing