We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Happy Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Once again had a wonderful time at the Tamarijn in Aruba. Weather was great. We did get some bug bites this year. I would advise bringing some type of bug spray. You don't want to buy it in Aruba because everything is very expensive. As just about everyone has stated, the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. All of the staff was great. Our favorite restaurant is the Red Parrot. Food is great and Vince and Edgar always make dining there a pleasure. We were disappointed in the Paparazzi Restaurant. None of us (ALL 4 of us) enjoyed our meal. We only ate there once in the 12 days we were at the Tam. Every room is oceanview. Will be back again next year. This is about 15 trips in a row for us. Can't wait for the next on.

Room Tip: We stay in 1300 block of rooms. Close to lobby and eating and bar. Can be noisy during the nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAPPYAGAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    1,235
    357
    148
    80
See reviews for
872
1,434
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place is amazing. I am a pretty discerning guest, and frankly I like to complain. But at this place, I had nothing to complain about. The bars are great, the restaurants on campus were very good, even the buffet had different food everyday that was solid. The service is superb. Nothing we asked for was met with a problem. The bartenders particularly at the Bunker Bar, remembered your name, your drink, etc, and the service was top notch. Booze was good quality. As long as you asked for a name brand, you got it, and they had almost everything. I was skeptical about staying at an all inclusive, and that was quickly put to rest. The beach is the best part obviously, and there is nothing like opening your front door, and being able to throw a rock and hit the ocean. No other resort on the island has THAT. If casino's and high priced drinks are your thing...do yourself a favor. STAY at the Tamarijn, and take a cab to the Hyatt or Renny for the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TBirdJayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I almost hate to say how beautiful this part of Aruba is for fear that the secret will be out. But this resort ranks with some of the best places my wife and I have stayed at. The oceanfront here is so beautiful, that the only comparison I have is Maui. We just came back from 8 nights the last week of November, and probably were in the ocean at least 5 hours a day. We brought our own air mattress to lie on in the calm warm waters. The biggest decisions of the day were deciding which one, of three bars to walk up to for the drink of the day. All-inclusive really means everything, including bicycles for a short ride into town. The rooms were modern with nice tiled walls in the bathroom. The view from our second floor room was better than when expected, and on some days at the break of dawn, the ocean liners passed close to shore making an impressive sight on their way to the nearby port. Our room was no further than 100 feet from the ocean. For those who want to do nothing but play in the water, eat, drink and be merry, this is the place. We visited the high-rise section where all the hotels are bunched together, and were happy we stayed at the Tamarijn. The beach was so crowded and disturbing with the cluster of people, that the high-rise area reminded me of assisted-living on a beach. The food was diverse at the Tamarijn, ranging from fresh omelets for breakfast, to shrimp and steak stir-fry for dinner. The bartenders made the best drinks, were attentive and funny. And if you really needed an afternoon break from floating in the ocean, the 3 o'clock bingo games on certain days earned winners points to get free hats and t-shirts, played at one of the bars that has a great pizza oven. Go to the Tamarijin because there are no rules, plenty of beach chairs, peace and tranquility, great staff, and plenty of space to be alone.

Room Tip: second floor has the nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed and loved the Tamarijn in Nov/Dec 2012. Quite possibly the best value I've ever experienced at a resort. I agree with many of the other reviews, but will add a few things not covered in the other reviews:

Pros: Great value. The food is good. The Red Parrot is awesome. We ate there 4 times; there's no limit on the number of times you can attend any one restaurant. The beach is great - IMO, better than any other beach we saw. There are tons of things to do - kayaking, more swimming pools than you can find, lots of beach time, borrowing bikes. The food in the buffets is good, but not awesome. A little too "Americanized" for my taste (hot dogs, hamburgers, fries, waffles, pancakes, etc.) Every room is on the beach, and the views are amazing.

Cons: The rooms are very small. If you have two queen beds, you have about 2 feet on three sides of each bed, and that's it. It didn't matter too much, though, because you're there to be outside! I also wish they had a non-smoking section of the restaurants, and I wish they served more local dishes.

Tips:
* If you stay at the Tam, you can eat at the Tam or the Divi, but you can use facilities at the Divi Dutch Village as well. You can walk to all of it, but there are (electric) shuttles to take you there as well. If you like pools, check out the infinity pool at Divi Village. It's awesome for adults as well as kids - on the opposite end of an enormous pool is a zero-depth beach-like setup. They also have a small water slide.
* Look at the map posted at every shuttle station. You'll see pools all over the place on the property. Most of them have something unique about them - a stone waterfall in the center, an elevated sitting area, a hot tub, etc. If you get sick of the main pool area, try out one of the other pools!
* It's about a 1.5 mile walk to downtown, and it's basically a straight shot. You can see all the shopping and carts associated with the cruise ships; good for an afternoon away.
* If you do a timeshare tour, you get a credit toward other restaurants, a 2 day car rental, or a 4X4 rental. The tour is fairly short and not too high pressure, and the timeshare prices aren't too bad. We did not purchase one, but did enjoy a car rental.
* The best snorkeling is in front of Bunker's Bar. Most of the rest of the resort is white sand bottom.
* The bikes come in adult and kid sizes. They also have adult bikes with baby seats. One day they lead a tour where they lead a bike ride 6 miles up to coast to a snorkeling area. They haul the equipment for you, you snorkel, and you're back home for lunch. Need to be 14 years old to go.
* If you walk to the end of the property nearest to downtown (or take a shuttle), the grocery store is practically across the street.
* If you have small kids, you might want to bring along sand toys. They are $8-10 for a small pack of toys in the gift stores.
* Some activities (like bike tour above, sunfish rental, rock climbing, etc.) are only offered on certain days. If there's something you want to do, then check early on in the week to see when it's offered.
* The tips are pooled, not given to an individual. While I do think this shows in the fact the service isn't as friendly as other resorts we've stayed, you also don't have that awkward last day when every service person you've encountered is trying to talk to you to get a tip. I like the more laid-back approach, but I can see how others might not appreciate that.
* Some people complained about being too far away. It's true; if you're in the 2000+ block of rooms, you have a long hike. However, I did meet some people that were able to request room changes, so if your room location really bothers you, ask to change!

Overall, we loved it. It's the perfect mix of relaxation, yet still having stuff to do. The value is great, especially when you see how expensive food is in Aruba. Our family generally likes to try other places with each vacation, but we were certainly return to the Tam. We met some people that have come every year for 15 years!

Room Tip: If you don't get one you like, ask to transfer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheOnlyJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was a little skeptical, but the beach the resort was everything I was looking for. The beach is the best part, less commercialized and more space to relax. The staff was really great and friendly. Even though the rooms are on the smaller side, you walk out your back sliding door to a beach. Cant get better then that. I even bought a timeshare with the Divi properties! If you go here you will def not regret it. The food was ok, but not complaining. Even meet some great couples who me and my boyfriend partied with!

Room Tip: Get a bottom floor room in the 1800 block or farther.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I spent our 6 day honeymoon at the Tamarijn and loved it. We stayed in the last building on the property, but we enjoyed the walks to the restaurants and shops from there. The room was modest in size, but had everything we needed since we didn't spend much time in the room. I liked the walk-in shower, but water does indeed pool on the floor. It was relaxing to wake up every morning looking at the ocean, or spending the early evening on the balcony.

As for the on-site restaurants, we particularly liked our honeymoon meal at Windows, Paparazzi, and surprisingly, the Palm Grill. It was a fun, first-night meal to cook up our own stir-fry on the table cooktop! The buffet was the best at breakfast at both resorts, but you can find enough to tide you over until dinner at the lunch buffet. I liked the atmosphere at both buffets, especially the iguanas trying to wriggle their way into through the nets!

The proximity to the beach is what really made the Tamarijn great for us. It was easy to find an umbrella near our room all but one part of one day. Towel exchange and float rentals were easy, and the people in the shops were very friendly and proud of their beautiful island. The service at the front desk was warm, but the activities desk staff (where you book restaurants reservations, etc) were pretty chilly across the board.

We thought the Tamarijn provided a nice honeymoon package for the value, and we would definitely return for a future anniversary trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We loved loved loved the Tamarijn! There were 33 friends and family in Aruba for our wedding. We chose the Tamarijn for the beach side location and because all inclusive was definitely a plus with so many people. Guests stayed from 3 to 7 days and everyone raved about the hotel.

Bars and food are decent but not stellar. Red Parrot definitely the best option after a Bunker bar sunset drink with Edwin the bartender.

The entertainment was great some nights and laughable others. They set up a local market for souvenirs that happens on Friday night was perfect if you don't want to leave the resort.

Supermarket in walking distance if you need anything.

Room Tip: Loved room blocks 2100, 2200, and 2300. They are newly renovated and quiet at night. We were on 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sera1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
0.4 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 2,291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.6 mi away
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclu...
#22 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 3,849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Property: Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia and BookIt.com so you can book your Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort
Hotel Tamarijn
Aruba Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Hotel
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing