We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1st time experience”
Review of Divi Aruba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divi Aruba
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Ansonia, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great 1st time experience”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Everyone is hesitant their 1st time staying in a new place but i must say it was well worth it, i gave it 4 stars for one reason, which is my check-in...

**Check-in was easy, but the bellman screwed up and took us to the wrong room, then got to the right room, then the keys didn't work so after an hour of waiting for it to be fixed, went to the Sandpiper Bar and got food, came back and it was fixed, but the door was sticking when u closed it, they fixed it 2 days later without saying they were coming to fix it and come back to the room with the door off....They also give you a key-card like card for getting beach towels...Don't use the one from your rooms

**Food...Most people bash the food part from what i have been reading, the buffet is "Good" a variety during lunch and dinner but breakfast is always the same foods, the Restaurants were "Excellent", but you need to make reservations right near the reception desk, times open are usually 530-6, 8 or 9pm, never saw a 7pm-730 opening...RED PARROT was great, the staff were always on top filling water glasses, asking you for drinks...Oh and if you have never eaten "Escargot" try it (lots of garlic butter so you don't really taste what you think your going to taste lol)....I had it 4 nights in a row at different restaurants...GINGER was awesome too, if you have a big appetite order a lot, the staff wasn't on their game like the Parrot but the food was awesome!! PAPARRAZI was just as good as the others, the wait staff was the same at Ginger..
Remember you can eat all you want but usually after eating the appetizer, salad, main meal you really don't have room for much more :) I tipped the wait staff for their service everytime, though its Inclusive it really helps them out too...

**Bars...The 3 bars at Divi are good, 2 have food, 1 is pizza and panini sandwiches (pizza dough is pre-made so it lacks in that aspect, i give it 4-10 but i always ate there, the Sandpiper bar had Hot Dogs, Burgers, Pasta (very good) and a better Panini Sandwich than the pizza bar had, they use Ciabatta bread (ham, gouda cheese, slice of pineapple)...They only have 3 types of beer, Miller Lite, Heineken and Balashi (Aruba's beer, very good!), hard liquor they have a variety but have a lot of Name Brand ones, the only Tequila i saw was Jose Cuervo Silver..If you order a mixed drink and want a lot of booze ASK THEM they will do it, I had a bartender serve me a weak one, i asked the other bartender, he came over took the pour spout off the Capt. Morgan and filled it up, needless to say i only had 2 more after that lol...A lot of people ask if they should leave a tip for the bartenders, my answer is "Yes" but not all the time, don't feel obligated, i took care of my bartenders and they took care of me, i walked up to the bar they were already pouring my drink...I tipped for more than 2 drinks served...If you order a Daquiri or Colada, ask them to put more Alcohol in there, they usually pre-mix pitchers cause a lot of people order them and they are weak, and they also have 2 daily drink specials..

**Beach...Always a bed to lay on but sometimes never really a hut-umbrella to sit under...Another BIG QUESTION a lot of people wonder is if the wind is always blowing....YES it is and trust me if it didn't it would be even hotter, its not as bad as you would think it might be, just takes the edge off the scorching sun and an occasional sand blast...The water is warm and very blue but the water is always choppy so snorkeling there you may not see a lot underwater at times, also there are Pelicans that will, DIVE for fish right near you but won't bother you...TAKE PLENTY OF SUNSCREEN YOU WILL NEED IT

**Other Activities...When you get there they give you a canvas bag with brochures in them with discounts, most activities can be booked right there in the resort near reception and most have you picked up at the Resort rather than getting a taxi and paying extra to go somewhere...I will recommend 3 things to do while u are there..1st do the UTV's, NOT the ATV's, this tour cost me like $159 for 2 people and it was worth it 3-4 hours, they give you water and granola bars and you drive off road going to many spots on a guided tour, trust me you will have fun, its like a miniature dune buggy...The 2nd thing to do is the SUNSET SAIL, a huge CATAMARAN takes you out on the water and your out for 2 hours under wind power, they have a small snack and open bar...The 3rd is the jeep safari with 4 other jeeps, usually 8 people per jeep but the only thing is they drive like a new york taxi driver, so there are a lot of quick turns, bumps and if you have a bad back this isn't for you, this is a full day tour with lunch served and snorkeling!

Last thing to try is Windows on Aruba, get your reservation through the same place u get everything else, its $35 per person, trust me its worth it, they have the best food! What would've totaled over $110 easily was only $70 cause i didn't order drinks, this is the only place you would have to dress a bit casual....Try the TENDERLOIN..OMG SO GOOD!!

This is very long but i know 1st timers want to know the experience in a little more detail...Have a question feel free to ask me!!

Ask the bartender Mario for a "Sex on the Beach" and see what he says!

Room Tip: Ocean Lanai are the good rooms with a great view, they are at the end of the resort heading toward T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank rickracko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    1,053
    355
    141
    90
See reviews for
714
1,457
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howell,NJ
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Have just returned from One Happy Island, Aruba. Had oceanfront room, just walked out onto beach. Had 4 rooms. Spent hours in the sea. They had rafts and noodles to use. It was very hot & humid, but always a breeze. The Divi pool has elegant cabanas. Food at buffets OK, Red Parrot great food and service. Top shelf liquor - had Grand Marnier and even Galliano, which reminds me of my Dad. Even could've had a 7&7 in his honor. Kids loved it, particularly the fact they could get food by the pool from 11AM - 1AM. They took a lot of trips - Safari, Scuba diving and even horseback riding, but dsappointed it wasn't on the beach. I've been to Aruba before and have seen all the highlights, so just mainly hung around the beautiful whitesand beach and beautiful clear blue and turquoise sea. Room was OK. After all, we were in the lowrises, not the high rises. But wouldn't change it with our own tiki hut right in front of the room (though had to get up super early to get one.) Island is very safe and security very good. They checked your patio door every night to make sure it was locked. But, alas, on the ground floor you couldn't leave door open to listen to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. It was too too hot for me to lay out in the sun and work on my tan, which is a lst for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwllmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Had an amazing time, miss the sandpiper bar everyday! The food was good not great. Staff was awesome, love the daily drink specials and the island itself is a paradise. Waiting for the day to go back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just returned from the Divi and I must say all our reservations having read some reviews before we went were soon alleviated once we arrived, I must say when we got to our room which was an Ocean View we were a little bit worried when we got to the door which was a little bit old and was over due a bit of paint but once inside we were pleasantly surprised our balcony was huge with a lovely view of the ocean the bathroom had been upgraded and was nice the bed was huge and very comfortable and the maid kept the room immaculately clean yes there were things that made the room look a bit dated but look at the big picture and the location it was miniscule, the beach was amazing one of the best we have visited, there was always beds available , the staff were pleasant the food was good including the buffet, we ate at the restaurants most nights, the Red Parrot ,Gingers and Paparazzi all good quality food with nice staff serving you, the breakfast was good with plenty of choice, the bar staff were amazing always serving three or four people at the same time and always with a smile, we did some trips and went to Oranjestad and the Casino, all in all it was a very good holiday on a lovely little Island, I would suggest if you want a relaxing do what you want holiday without the frills of a five star hotel then this is the place to visit, would consider going back

Room Tip: we stayed in 7212 Ocean view sit out on the balcony early morning and watch the cruise ships go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rayjac15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to the Divi. It is an amazing place. Relaxing, fun, and the most beautiful beach on the Island. The rooms are nothing fancy but they are perfect to just sleep in. The staff are all friendly and courteous. They will do anything to make your stay as perfect as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy41277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

AWESOME BEACH on ONE HAPPY ISLAND! Plentiful expanse of old palms + flowering trees===gorgeous! Beach is wide with soft sand. Picturesque shoreline==long=== perfect for beach walkers :) Very peaceful without high-rise buildings.
Look for the blue iguana!
Trip # 4 to the Divi. Lovely staff=truly beautiful friends away from home. Many upgrades since last year throughout the entire resort: refurbished room, new lounge & bar chairs, lighting effects, Pelican (main buffet restaurant) sported modern tables/chairs + new kitchen to offer a variety of fresh food. The special of the day always delish!

Room Tip: Casita/beach side rooms the best for beach lovers or persons who want to minimize footsteps navigati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WILDJIMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

WELL WHAT CAN I SAY ARUBA a fantastic and beautiful island my wife and I [ we got married in the civic house ] then on the beach the staff at the divi are very helpful the views from the rooms on to the sea is mega the wedding people are fantastic we recommend you hire a car to travel the island at ease go and spend time at baby beach and visit big mama for a great evening meal go to the Cunucu House restaurant sit and enjoy this is one holiday that you will saver perfect weather perfect peace perfect people perfect life ENJOY

Room Tip: ground floor in vista 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.4 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,119 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,818 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba

Property: Divi Aruba
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #45 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Aruba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mile-long beach is just the start. Enjoy breezy, sunny days strolling along the shore or relaxing pool side with a cocktail. The Divi Aruba is a refuge of relaxation, do as little or as much as you like. The atmosphere is laid-back both day and night. There are activities ranging from pool volleyball, to snorkeling to sunfish sailing. The nights heat up with theme shows including carnival, limbo and salsa dance lessons. Select from a variety of restaurants, bars and lounges, most right by the water's edge. All Inclusive Amenities: • All meals and snacks throughout the day at your choice of 10 dining options • Unlimited beverages at 8 bars • Guest accommodations just steps from the sand • Accommodations with a patio or balcony • Four freshwater pools • Non-motorized water sports • Complimentary Wi-Fi • Bikes (child, youth and adult sizes) • Lit tennis courts for night play • Divi Winds Sports Center with 30-foot rock climbing wall and fitness center • Taxes and service charges ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Divi Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Aruba Divi Divi
Divi Aruba Beach Resort
Divi Aruba Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing