We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,182)
Filter reviews
3,182 results
Traveler rating
1,330
1,179
406
159
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,330
1,179
406
159
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vista ii red parrot pizza vista building divi aruba palm grill sandpiper bar our honeymoon beautiful beach sister hotel garden view pelican terrace buffet restaurant make reservations thomson rep a la carte restaurants nightly entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
1,729 - 1,734 of 3,182 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just came back from a 10 day stay at the Divi and it was absolutely perfect. Because it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a beach view room which was wonderful. The rooms aren't luxury, but they are very nice and, really, who cares when you're in the most wonderful location.
The food at all the restaurants was really great! We didn't know what to expect after reading some of the bad food reviews here, but now we know that those people either had bad luck or are just plain crazy.
The service was great. Everyone is so nice and friendly. We booked a couple of excursions at their registration desk and had no problems.
It was exactly what we wanted - total relaxation without a care in the world, other than which drink we'll order next.
We would go back there in a second if we could!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank krissyb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 weeks at the Divi with 5 other couples to celebrate one of our friend's 60th birthday. We had a great time and the resort certainly catered well for a larger group.

The resort is quite old but that means it is low rise. It is right on Druif beach, the first decent beach outside Oranjestad and our rooms were 10 yards from the fine white sand. We had 6 ground floor rooms in a row at the Oranjestad end of the resort. The rooms are a little tired and the recent refurbishment to the bathrooms will not be to everyone's liking as they have effectively become wet rooms. The water pressure and temperature could be better, too.

The beach and water were superb and we had them virtually to ourselves. We swam many times everyday in the beautiful clear, blue water which we shared with fish and seabirds. It was wonderful watching pelicans dive bombing fish just yards away from where we swam. The colourful sunsets were amazing most evenings.

We were quite far away from the resort centre but there was a resort beach bar just 200 yards away and this became a second home, not just because we were on all-inclusive, but because they showed all of the Euro 2012 games live. Given the time difference the games kicked off around lunch time or early afternoon. Great to watch England win at any time, but especially with a cold beer in your hand looking out over the blue, blue sea in a blissfully warm 30C.

The food was good and plentiful. The speciality dining in the evening was usually a cut above the buffet style main restaurant. However, they do appear to repeat the menus and the entertainment on a weekly cycle so our second week was a bit repetitive. There are several bars and restaurants across the resort which stretches for about a mile. The inclusive wine, beer and spirits were good quality and you can pay extra in the speciality restaurants if you want a better wine.

As we were at one end of the resort we made good use of the resort shuttle service but service was a bit hit and miss at times.

We had an added bonus of waking one morning to find a turtle had come ashore to lay its eggs just yards from our room. These nests are protected by local volunteers and if you are lucky to be there when they hatch, you can watch them emerge from the sand and struggle into the sea from your patio!

Overall for the price we paid, this holiday would be hard to beat for a group of friends looking to enjoy the sun, sea and sand without spending a fortune.

Room tip: Caution: some rooms were quite close to the resort storm drains which were flushed each week leaving a smelly pool of dirty water for a few days.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toffeeman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Divi divi in Aruba is the most beautiful place on the earth!! LOVE this place!!!! My Hubbs and I are going back in May 2013 to celebrate our 7th anniversary! We got married on the beach at the Divi divi. There is no better way to celebrate our love than going back to where we were married.

Room tip: Higher rooms have a better view!
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hailey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The number one best thing at the Divi Tamarijn is that you are steps from the beach once you open your patio doors!
Great sun, great beach, great staff and guests! Our 20 mo. daughter made many friends from far-away places! And none of the kids were annoying.
Restaurants had great food and once you figured out the buffet, you could find good eats. The pool was small (compared too huge) but very enjoyable and not crowded. AC in room worked perfectly and our daughter really enjoyed her Divi-provided crib. Only downside on the room was the shower was open style and water got everywhere-although I was not sure our room was for Wheelchair-accessible or not). That being said, Housekeeping cleaned and provided enough towels to manage the situation.
Drinks were very good and wisely got stronger as the day / night went on. Special orders did not upset drink staff. Good Entertainment / Djs too.(not shows)
Great housekeeping too!
Bottom line: Great place to go for couples AND families! Hit downtown and hi-rise and enjoy.

Room tip: Room in Block 12-13 are best. Close but within walking distance to main areas. But not too close so any entertainment keeps you up.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

OVERALL
We chose to go to Aruba as all recommendations on Trip Advisor were very good. However, as soon as we arrived we were very disappointed, we were given our room key on the transfer bus to the hotel and on arrival to our room we were totally shocked at what we were expected to stay in – all I can say is filth (pedestal of the toilet had urine/hairs and I hate to think what else it was, the bath was disgusting – no mastic around the bath edge and grout missing from the tiles, my husband went to reception and explained that we wanted to be moved and to their credit they said that they could move us but not until the following day (hence we lost a day and a half of our holiday) as we were in limbo as we could not unpack etc.
The accommodation at the Divi is very tired and dilapidated and not a 4* plus Hotel but in our opinion a 3* and charging 5* prices.
To make a reservation for dinner at any of the restaurants other than the buffet you can only reserve two days . At check-in, if you want a safe for your personal possession there is a charge of $2 per day. If you want to use the non-motorised water sports facility you have to provide a credit card and fill out an additional waiver to use these items.
STAFF
One the whole mainly polite, especially at reception, but there are a few members of staff that are quite rude.
ACTIVITIES / ENTERTAINMENT
If you are there for one week you have seen it all. Trying to get a seat in the evening by the bar is ridiculous unless you eat at 6 pm, otherwise you had to sit on sun loungers.
FOOD
The buffet restaurant is the only option for meals on the first two days after arrival, since the reservations for the sit-down dinner restaurants must be made two days in advance. In our opinion the Red Parrot is the best restaurant on the resort. The only restaurant with consistently good food and service was Ginger, the Asian-themed restaurant as at all the others the meat and fish are typically overcooked and not the type of food I would expect at a "luxury" Platinum Resort. We also dined at the Paparazzi-Italian, the first week and I thought I had been presented with a plate of vomit, it was disgusting and we left the restaurant promptly, but we did try the second week and that was even worse, I ordered the pork dish, it was as if I had put a spoon into a bowl of salt, had I not been in a restaurant I would have been able to dispose of it – hence for the second time we walked out.
ACCOMMODATION
Our room after we moved was ok for a 3* hotel but not 4* plus. The air-conditioning unit was very noisy, the room was average. The room have a fridge but are not stocked, not even water, you either have to buy your water at the shop or use the water fountain near reception. The bathrooms was definitely below standard, the fittings loose and tiles dirty and in places without grout and mouldy. overall the room was sub-standard the only consultation was the beautiful view of the beach.
CONCLUSION
We will never book a Divi Resort holiday again and would not recommend it, we only booked the Divi simply because we read the reviews and were very impressed with what people were saying, obviously some people are afraid to tell the truth

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews