We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably best all-inclusive on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Probably best all-inclusive on the island”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This review is mainly aimed at the British... First a few things about Aruba: It is fairly hot constantly around 27-33 degrees C. but you don't notice because it is always windy and sometimes overcast (though you still get burned) and quite humid. Take plenty of sun cream and insect repellent because you will go through it and it is expensive to buy over there and 23kg allowance is more than enough. Also if you suffer from prickly heat/heat rash definitely take cream with you because they don't seem to have any. There is no need to change currency to Aruban Florins because everywhere accepts US dollars. My advice is to change your currency before you travel because the hotel gives a poor exchange rate and limits you to £50 a day which is no good when you want to buy excursions. The water is perfectly safe to drink from the tap and almost all food (and everything else) is imported from the US so don't worry about stocking up on bottled water or getting stomach cramps.

On to the hotel... we thought it was great! Be aware that the hotel require $100 deposit cash or credit card details (no withdrawal is made) when checking in. Thomson don't seem to make people aware of this. Also the room safe is $2 per day. The airport transfer is 10-15 mins and you are checked in on the coach - easy peasy. Sandra the rep is excellent. After reading mixed reviews about the state of the rooms I emailed the hotel in advance to request a room in one of the vista blocks. They said they couldn't guarantee anything but thankfully we were given a room in Vista 2 looking out toward the sea. The room was very clean and tidy and quite modern. The bathroom was fine. The view from the patio was outstanding. The only drawback was the damp smell coming through the vent in the closet but this was minor and probably inevitable due to the humidity. Iron and board are provided but kettles are not. If you drink tea then take your own bags because the ones they have are poor.

The food at the hotel is excellent and to a high standard as would be expected when catering for Americans and there was always plenty of choice. The a la carte restaurants can be used unlimited times at no extra cost but requires 2 day advance reservation usually before breakfast. We found the service average at these restaurants but the food definitely worth it. The bars are open 11am-1am and supply a great variety of cocktails and international brand spirits. There are 3 choices of beer. The nightly entertainment was ok but still better than any other all-inclusive resort i've been to. The beach is to die for!!! The staff are generally very polite and helpful and there is no pressure to tip.

The white powdery sand beach is spacious and clean (and doesn't burn your feet) as is the warm ocean. Divi Aruba is actually situated on Druif beach not Eagle beach as advertised and it is by far the best beach on the island and one of the best in the world. Sunbeds are always available but shaded areas are taken early as are the poolside loungers. Don't forget everything at the Tamarijn (sister hotel) is also included just a stroll down the beach or 5 minute golf cart ride away. The Tamarijn is more suited to families and kids and is definitely more lively.

The excursions in Aruba are limited in selection and very expensive mainly because they are monopolised by one company (DePalm Tours) so we booked with Sandra so she would get commission. We went to the local carnival which to be honest was a bit of a rip off but still worth going to just for the local flavour and experience. The boat trip to DePalm Island is overpriced but still worth it if you do the SeaTrek (walking on ocean floor with helmet) as it is amazing truly a once in lifetime experience. The jeep safari tour to baby beach is a must. You get an off-road tour of the island which is fun and baby beach is great for snorkelling and poor swimmers.

If you are going on honeymoon make sure you tell Thomson or the hotel in advance. We got a gift bag including bottle of wine, two t-shirts, a photo frame and a great discount at Windows which is a very posh restaurant across the road at the golf course. Windows is very expensive but the honeymoon package gave us both a 3 course meal, a glass of champagne each and a couple of drinks all in for $50 - bargain! If you are not on honeymoon Divi guests can still go for $35 each not including drinks and it is still great value for money.

Overall, the holiday was amazing and the Divi resort is definitely great value for money especially in comparison to the other big 3 hotels (Riu, Marriott, Renaissance) that cannot boast the best beach on the island and are much more expensive. We have a policy of not returning to the same place twice because we like to try different places but we will definitely return here one day. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: Request a room in vista blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank GiovanniAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    1,008
    345
    140
    87
See reviews for
684
1,402
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My wife and i stayed at the Divi Aruba all inclusive for 14 nights, never again.
This 4 star plus hotel is nothing more than a poor 3star.
The majority of the staff were just totally ignorant, just going through the motions,
The food was really bland with not much choice at all, the quality of the food was also poor,infact the resident parrots were eating better than we were.
Entertainment nothing to get excited about OK if you like different dancers every night,
the hotel DJ had around 7 different CDs to play which wre rubbish.
Aruba is a really nice island, if we go again we will go to the highrise area which is
100% better.
I could never reccomend the DIVI to anyone i know. they would lynch me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billyjean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was nervous because of all the mixed reviews I read about the Divi. I am so glad I listened to the good reviews. This place was great! It's not a 5 star hotel but it is located on the most beautiful stretch of beach. The rooms we fine (we stayed in Vista 2) I would recommend Vista 1 or 2. The food was great and the pizza was a huge hit with my teenage kids. It's no big deal making reservations 2 days in advance. As soon as we checked in I went ahead and made our reservations. We ate at all the restaurants except for Gingers. We also went to Windows on Aruba which is so worth $35 a person.

The drinks at the bar were great and yes you should tip the bartenders. It amazed me how some people don't bother at all with the tipping. Of course they are going to take care of the people who tip them over the ones who don't.

The Beach was so incredible and breathtaking! No rocks or seaweed and it was very clean!! Soft powder sand and crystal clear water. I was amazed how many people hung out at the pool over the beach.

We did DePalm Island for our excursion. Wasn't worth the $100 per person. It was great if you had younger kids that wanted to do the water park. I wish we did the Jeep Excursion instead. The snorkeling was good at DePalm but the food was lousy.

It was a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation. I am glad we went and we can't wait to go back. You know it's a great place when you meet so many people that have been going there for years.

Room Tip: Ask for Vista 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pamtrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Divi All Inclusive!
Everyone was truly happy and very accomidating!
Enjoyed being able to take a shuttle to other the "sister" resorts.
Georgeous views. fun activities. Yet very low key and relaxing.
We rented a Jeep and took an afternoon to explope the island.
I recommend doing this.. but take the day!! ( and some bug spray.. but worth it all!!!)
I hope you enjoy your trip as much as we all did!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSmithNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I had read so many reviews on the Divi all inclusive, of course after we had booked. There were ten of us, six adults and four teen agers. Our rooms were just steps from the beautiful beach and the Sandpiper Bar. They were clean, bathrooms could be updated.
They cleaned the beach each morning and swept the paths to the beach and lobby. All the help that we came in contact with were helpful and pleasant.

The food was good, especially the breakfast. We ate at all the resturants where we had to make reservations. The food was above average.

This is not a five star hotel but for a family a very good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth53924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Arrived home from the divi yesterday and had a fabulous time. Can't understand the negative comments about unfriendly staff we found them only to obliging maybe a couple of the bar staff could do with a lesson on how to smile but we all have a bad day! Hotel was great food was good and yes you do have to book for red parrot Ginger grill and papperazzi but it's no hassle and worth it. Location is awesome! We will defiantly be going again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Debbashrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

me and my 1st wife ( i say that to her to keep her on her toes lol).
have just returned from a wonderful stay at the divi all inclusive .
from start to finish it was fantastic .
this was our 1st time there and would reccomend this to anybody who wants to stay on the best beach resort i have been to.
Sandra the thompson rep was flawless nothing was a problem to her and would like to give her special mention for her help and assistence to everything we asked during our stay.
we stayed in room 420 in vista ii and was impressed by the cleanlieness and comfort in the room we had.
we read a few commenst on this site before we went and was so aprehensive as to our choice, and found it totally untrue. it was lovely.
the choice of food is good buffet syle, and pre book meal which i recomend.
the red parrot at the divi and, ginger and palm grill at the tamrajin were delicious.
we went on a few excusrsions boat trip and jeep safari off road and enjoyed them both.
we also during our stay there went to windows of aruba that is separate and not all inclusive, but well worth a special treat with your partner.
Tipping at the resort is not set in stone some did some didn't it was no drama.
i used to give the barman a few dollars at the start of the night and i never had to wait for a drink during my stay.
the staff at the resort are so nice and the gardens are well kept..
my advice is go and enjoy you will love it and as i said earlier some people i feel expect too much of people and places for money.
Holidays are what you make of them .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leeMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
0.4 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,649 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba All Inclusive

Property: Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #45 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Aruba All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mile-long beach is just the start. Enjoy breezy, sunny days strolling along the shore or relaxing pool side with a cocktail. The Divi Aruba is a refuge of relaxation, do as little or as much as you like. The atmosphere is laid-back both day and night. There are activities ranging from pool volleyball, to snorkeling to sunfish sailing. The nights heat up with theme shows including carnival, limbo and salsa dance lessons. Select from a variety of restaurants, bars and lounges, most right by the water's edge. All Inclusive Amenities: • All meals and snacks throughout the day at your choice of 10 dining options • Unlimited beverages at 8 bars • Guest accommodations just steps from the sand • Accommodations with a patio or balcony • Four freshwater pools • Non-motorized water sports • Complimentary Wi-Fi • Bikes (child, youth and adult sizes) • Lit tennis courts for night play • Divi Winds Sports Center with 30-foot rock climbing wall and fitness center • Taxes and service charges ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Divi Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Aruba Divi Divi
Divi Aruba Beach Resort
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing