We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,655)
Filter reviews
5,655 results
Traveler rating
2,677
1,896
644
249
189
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,677
1,896
644
249
189
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private island marina side blue bar boat ride water taxi pink flamingos family beach adult beach ocean suite lg steakhouse seafood buffet dutch pancake house happy hour movie theater palm beach que pasa sole
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 5,655 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located in downtown Aruba, surrounded by numerous of restaurant and shop, choose the ocean view room if want to enjoy the beach side , and the best is they have private island that free for hotel guest with flamingos on the beach.. overall a very good hotel in Aruba

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ger Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulG7425, General Manager at Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for your feedback as well as for your time spent with us, we appreciate it. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second time back to The Renaissance Aruba and we couldn't have been happier. We first visited in 2015 and we had such a great experience, we decided to have our honeymoon here.

This hotel is actually two in one. It's located in the city of Oranjestad and sits along the marina. While it is not a resort that sits on the beach, it boasts an amazing private island that you are taken to on a short boat ride and picks you up inside the hotel. We stayed at the adult-only which is the Renaissance Marriott, (the Ocean suites are family friendly and do have private island pick up outside the hotel. When you stay at the adult side you have access to the pools at both hotels as well as the beautiful lagoon beach on the ocean suites side The hotel has a mall with stores and is within a strip of other stores, stands and souvenir shops! It features the bar BLUE which also serves food and sits next to the pool and lounge area. The hotel is smoke free except for some of the partially outdoor areas like this.

It's a short walk across to the other ocean suites marina hotel. The Ocean suites side features a beautiful beach lagoon that you can swim in and sits along side the ocean. It has a swim up bar, a separate bar/grill called Sole and the Italian restaurant Fresco.

The Renaissance all-inclusive package is the way to go. You get all of your meals and drinks included. The hotel lobby is partially outdoors. It has several restaurants/bars inside the hotel as well as some located across at the ocean suites. They are all included in the all inclusive package as well as any meals and drinks at the Papayao grill on the private island. We enjoyed all of them but our favorites were the three course meal at LG steakhouse and the buffet for breakfast or dinner at Aquarius. We also enjoyed the Italian restaurant Fresco. I do think they need a few more chicken dish options or options for people who eat vegetarian. Overall, we really enjoyed the food! There are also several nearby restaurants that you can go to outside of the hotel if you want to change it up (not part of all inclusive package). There is also a casino inside the hotel and another located across the marina.

The private island makes this hotel even more worth it. You can jump on boat which comes in 15 minute intervals. You don't have to worry about getting up super early to reserve a spot on the beach. I do recommend going before 12 though to get an umbrella, especially if you want to stay on the adult only side of the beach.

There are two sides to the beach, 'Flamingo beach' which is adult only and 'Iguana beach' which is family friendly. Both of them are gorgeous. There is an area for towels and floats and scuba gear available for day rental.

One small critique I have is that they could use a few more lounge chairs now to balance out the fact that they have reduced the seating areas available since adding private rented huts along both borders of the beaches and another small bar. They added a few more hammocks and two of them sit inside of the water which was awesome!

Service was excellent for the most part everywhere. We only had one waitress who was terrible at Papayago's Grill but all of the other excellent service everywhere else made up for it. There is beach waiter/waitress service available for both food and drinks on the beach, Papayago bar & grill on the Iguana side and a bar on Flamingo Beach which was added since we last went in 2015.

We had an amazing time both trips here and this hotel made our trip phenomenal! We love it and we love Aruba!

See my photos for more!

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Vinessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulG7425, General Manager at Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for your feedback as well as for your time spent with us, we appreciate it. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not going to lie, the main reason I booked one night at the Renaissance was to get to see the infamous flamingos at Renaissance Private Island. Had I known that the hotel came with a private island in lieu of a beach I would have ensured my entire stay was at the Renaissance. The hotel is stunning! The complimentary island access is amazing as is the free shuttle.
The only down side is the limited views from the hotel room, but if you’re going to Aruba to spend your days in a hotel room you should just stay at home and not waste your money!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulG7425, General Manager at Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for your feedback as well as for your time spent with us, we appreciate it. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is great - walking distance to almost anything you would want. The staff (not management) are okay - not as attentive as I think this caliber of hotel should be, but they're trying (and we saw that while we were there). Management was helpful when we escalated concerns. The condition of the hotel itself needs a little love. You can see tiles crumbling and small things that need to be addressed. It's almost where it needs to be, just not quite there.

The private island is AMAZING. We loved it. I was worried about not staying directly on a beach and those worries quickly went away. It takes a little while to get back & forth to the island, but we were on island time and didn't mind the wait.

We stayed on the family side of the resort, which was indeed very family friendly. I only went to the adults-only side once to use the gym and it looked really nice. It would've been nice if the family side of the resort also had a small workout facility. It also would've been nice if the family side had a more small child-friendly pool. Both pools are deeper where a smaller child cannot "swim" without a parent holding them. There's also a small beach cove at the resort, but mine wasn't interested in that at all (kind of bare looking).

The family resort has a kids club, which is poorly promoted. We used it once though and mine loved it. The resort really should do a much better job of promoting and sharing information about the club - they'd get a lot more people using it if they did. Pricing was reasonable too - I think it was $65 per day, which included lunch. That came out to about $10 per hour for us, which is way less than we'd pay a babysitter.

The room itself was great for a family, though not a ton of extra room in the living room. The kitchenette had more than I thought it would - basically everything a full kitchen would have minus an oven and dishwasher. Plates and utensils were included. Stove, microwave, oven, refrigerator, small freezer were all there.

Overall, if the hotel did a little more to upgrade the resort, I think it'd be at 5 stars. Again, it's almost there, just not quite.

Car rental and tour companies are onsite, making one-day rentals/plans a breeze.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are louder - concerts throughout the day and night
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BrownDog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulG7425, General Manager at Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for your feedback as well as for your time spent with us, we appreciate it. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon after staying at a different resort all week & the differences were out of this world. Every staff member we encountered at the Renaissance was amazing, super helpful & very friendly. We arrived well before check in, expecting to have to store our bags but they put us in a room right away. Rooms are beautiful & comfortable. The entire resort is great. We stayed here so we could see the flamingos on their private island & that was amazing! The boats run every 15 minutes or so & it’s easy to get to and from. There’s drinks & food out on the island & if you go early enough you can get great pictures. Overall was a great experience, wish we would have stayed here all week.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Kilee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulG7425, General Manager at Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kilee D, Thank you for your feedback as well as for your time spent with us, we appreciate it. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews