We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Andicuri Inn(Oranjestad)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort(Oranjestad)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort(Palm - Eagle Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aruba Beach Club(Palm - Eagle Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa(Palm - Eagle Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,255)
Filter reviews
5,255 results
Traveler rating
2,451
1,792
606
233
173
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,451
1,792
606
233
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate islandmarina sideblue barboat ridewater taxipink flamingosfamily beachadult beachlg steakhouseocean suiteseafood buffetdutch pancake househappy hourque pasamovie theaterpalm beachsole
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,494 - 2,499 of 5,255 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I visited Renaissance Hotel with my husband. We stayed in Marina part (adults only).

Rooms are good size, well equipped (many towels, iron, ironing board, fridge, flat screen TV, electronic safe, ice bucket, bathing robes, tea and coffee maker, very god air con) and clean.

Hotel is located in capital and it is not close to the beach, but what it offers instead is beautiful and quite unique private island (for guests only) with 2 beaches (1 - flamingo beach for adults only, 2- for everyone - with bar area), small shop and a rental place (snorkelling and diving equipment, kayaks and free beach towels). There are plenty of sunbeds and several hammocks too. Place is not crowded, very peaceful and we enjoyed staying there a lot. You can get there by a complimentary speedboat ride (it goes every 15 min 7am-7pm), straight from the hotel :)

We stayed on bed and breakfast basis, as we like going out in the evening. Breakfast was in Aquarius restaurant, near reception. I can honestly say it offered a very good selection of food (typical english breakfast, cereals, fruits, belgian waffles, selection of cheese, nuts, dried fruits), they also can prepare for you fresh scrambled eggs with a vegetable(s) you wish to add.
By the way, even if you paid for breakfast, you will still receive a bill each day, that you are expected to sign. No worries, as it will automatically be deducted in a hotel (system might be perceived as slightly strange).

Service was generally good - staff was polite and efficient.
I just unfortunately witnessed a situation where a Manager (I suppose) kept on telling off a receptionist, completely ignoring that queue by the desk was building up and there was nobody to serve us. We heard everything and, obviously, receptionist was very embarrassed when finally Manager let him go. Very unprofessional behaviour. We felt very bad for a guy...

There is a Starbucks, bar, pool, restaurant, car hire desk, excursions desk and shopping centre downstairs too.

Oh, by the way, this is just one part of a hotel. there is also Ocean Suites part, for families, on another side of a road. there is a shopping centre too.

The only drawback, in my opinion, is WiFi, that you need to pay $60/week. Quite a rip-off. TIP: Starbucks has free WiFi!

Overally, good place and interesting architecture. Enjoy Aruba!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Nicccole1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

What an awesome hotel! We stayed on the Marina side and the updated rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. The hotel lobby is a place of action with the huge bar area and three steps up to the infinity pool where waitresses are waiting at your beckon call to serve you. Make sure you are at the pool area between 5-7 pm for the 2-for-1 happy hour. The hotel is connected to a mall for high end shopping at stores such as Gucci, Michael Kors, Tag Heuer, Cartier, and the list goes on and on. There is a nice cigar shoppe as well and a Casino all without leaving the hotel. The Renaissance has it's own private island with boat transport from inside the hotel that takes you out to a secluded island that is complete with flamingoes, huge iguanas, and a restaurant complete with hot food and bar. This place is just a little short of heaven on earth. The most relaxing spot ever! The hotel is situated downtown on the main strip so traffic can be a little congested but not gridlocked. If you are on foot, go out the back hotel/mall entrance and you are basically in local Oranjestad. if you venture one block behind the hotel, follow the trolly tracks for local shopping, restaurants and fast food. The staff was very professional and every request we made for extras such as towels, toilet paper, and clean robes were handled immediately. I would like to give a special shout out to the Late night bartender at the Steak restaurant (forgot the name) within the hotel named Edwin. First of all one of the little known facts is that this steak restaurant has a late night happy hour between 11-12 pm. Drinks are once again 2-for-1. Erwin was very personable, funny, and made a mean Mojito! This was one of the best Marriott experiences I have had.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was our first time in Aruba and we actually got engaged inside our hotel room on June 27th! We really enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance. We didn't stay in a room with an ocean view but if you go out on the little balcony and look to the right, the ocean was right there. The room was clean and updated, especially the bathroom. I know some people had an issue with the shower having no door but I thought it gave the bathroom a very clean, minimalist look. They provide you with Aveda bathroom products which I liked. The bed was very comfortable, we slept blissfully. The waitstaff and bartenders are so chill, friendly and laid back. You can conveniently book and confirm tours and other tourist-y things through the hotel. If you plan to mostly eat and drink at the hotel, the all inclusive is totally worth it. We ate a restaurant in town one night (El Gaucho) because so many people recommended it and we had some of our drinks at bars outside of the hotel but we still got our money's worth with the all inclusive. There are some limitations but it didn't feel restrictive at all (unless you are a big beer drinker because the only beer included is Balashi and Balashi Chill) and the food was great. We took the boat to the private beach and also visited Ocean Suites a few times too which was nice but we mostly preferred to lounge by the Marina pool. It might be fun to try a high rise hotel when we come back but I would be very happy to return to Renaissance again and again...would be cute if we came back and got married there too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Boah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our forth time at this hotel we were there celebrating our tenth wedding anniversary. The staff is excellent especially Reginald who is one of the mangers at the ocean suites. We called two months prior to our vacation and spoke with Reginald to set up a minister for us to renew our vows, and he did just that it was wonderful and romantic and my wife was very happy. He is a great asset to this property. He made sure everything went as planned. We also reserved a dinner on beach right after ceremony which was great. They do go over and beyond your expectations at this property they made our stay enjoyable. The staff at this hotel really go out of there way for you. I would like to say the bartenders are really good and they make sure you have a good time thank you to Julio, Rudmar, Nelson, Natalia, Judith. I would also like to thank Nelson who is also one of the supervisors at the ocean suites. he always made sure we were ok during our stay and did go out of his way to make sure we were also being taken care of. I would like to thank Linda she ordered a bouquet for my wife which turned out to be beautiful. The staff at this hotel are outstanding we definitely will be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Renaissance Aruba resort Ocean Suites offer excellent pool with bar, lagoon and private island via free boat ride. The resort is perfectly located in the heart of Oranjestad. We had part timeshare / part paid room. During our duration we had to switch rooms and had the unfortunate luck of the Renaissance Ocean Suites renovating rooms and not having our room ready for SEVERAL hours. Long story ...lack of basic essentials...but the resort made it right. The pool bar has happy hour from 4:30 until 6pm with the BEST fisherman sampler (the grouper was delicious!!!!!!!!) Overall, a fantastic experience! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews