We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Renaissance for a conference. It is 5mins from the airport and close to the Marketplace and some very high end shopping. Take the complimentary boat ride offered right from the lobby to Flamingo Island with actual flamingos roaming around. Right across the street from the submarine that takes you to the bottom of the ocean. I stayed on the adult property which was quite buzzing with activity. Food was not great but service is top quality. The rooms are also very modern and clean.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,671
    1,359
    458
    179
    123
See reviews for
681
1,903
93
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is very unique, updated, and ultra cool. The location is right in the heart of downtown ARUBA and conveniently located to great restaurants and shopping. The pool overlooks the marina, with a great ocean view. The staff at the bar, restaurants, and tour desk were very friendly. The house keeping staff was great. The rooms are small and not luxurious at all, in comparison to hotels in the same category. The private island was nice, but somewhat of an inconvenience. There was always plenty of room at the private beach, plenty of chairs, etc. But, it is located right next to the airport, so you continually hear & see the planes landing and taking off. This was our first visit to ARUBA. We really enjoyed our trip, it was great and relaxing. However, if we return we will probably choose to stay at one of the high rise resorts with direct access to the ocean.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the interior of the hotel overlooking STARBUCKS, the lobby, and the boat doc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel from April 21st to April 28th of 2014.

I must say, my initial impression of my room was not all that great. The rooms seemed dated and with a name like suites, I guess I expected a larger room. It seems they have begun renovations of the hotel and that's a good sign because it needs it.

When we initially arrived, there was supposed to be champagne in the room to celebrate our honeymoon but nothing was there. I had to go to the front desk and request it which took away from the experience of arrival. I must say the front desk staff were helpful in this occasion and every time there after.

Those were the only negatives I have about this resort. The rest of my opinion is fantastic. The best part of this resort is the private island. It has a great beach, it's own restaurant and a private Cove that includes a spa. My wife and I took advantage of the spa and got a couples massage. What a great decision!

The pool at the hotel was nice and the bar staff at Sole were great!

All in all, the services and staff were absolutely wonderful here but I'd have to see what the renovated rooms look like before I decide to stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stag556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Perhaps my expectations were too high, given my absolutely sensational experiences in Renaissance Hotels across the pond.

We had a room in Renaissance Ocean Suites. We were staying the previous 5 days at the Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, which as I stated in my most recent review I felt it was a bit worn-out.

In life there's a saying: you never have a second chance to make a first impression. Renaissance Ocean Suites first impression was simply Bad. They are starting what it looks like a major renovation that has some time due. The mattress in the sofa bed are basically a sheet! There's no cushion at all is like sleeping directly on the springs. Air conditioning was noisy and the shower did not keep a constant temperature so I was jumping in and out because it was too hot or too cold.

I general you feel that the rooms, although in good shape, are sort of vintage! I thought that I was going to get a proper suite not a fairly big old room, specially at 300$ a night

Things got better the first morning, breakfast was really good, the innovative Arubian Benedict eggs were a hit and there was a good variety of things.

Then we got to the island and voilà.... I'll get this review on the island, but everything improve a lot. Thought eventually we'll have to go back to the room

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank LeoCabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArubaHospitality, Director of Operations at Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Leo - Indeed, we have already started with the room renovation of the Ocean Suites which is scheduled to be completed by November end.
I am sure upon your return next year we will be able to exceed your expectations.

Regards
Parimal Trivedi
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because we got some free nights with points my husband had. It was our first trip to Aruba and we loved everything about it. We didn't feel we missed out not being near the High arise hotels. The downtown area is much less crowded and unique, with Caribbean architecture all around. The Renaissance private Island was the best!! Picture perfect gorgeous, protected safe coves to swim in, beautiful birds and interesting iguanas and lizards abound, and ALWAYS available chairs, no matter what time you go there. That is what sets the Renaissance apart from the High Rise area Americans think they must flock to. We had people tell us their hotel offered to reserve chairs for them at their pool or beach for an extra fee per day. Not a problem at the Renaissance. Island is exclusive to hotel guests. We stayed in the adult only Marina hotel,as we did not have our kids with us, but spent one day over at the Ocean Suites, family
friendly property. The pool areas at both hotels are beautiful, and, again, always available chairs. We did not see the Ocean Suite rooms, but understand they are undergoing renovations to update right now. The Marina hotel's updates are completed and the rooms are beautiful. Our room did not overlook the water, but we didn't mind, since we were only in it to sleep, shower, and change. Aruba is so beautiful you are always outside!! Julio, bartender at Sole pool bar was super nice and fun to talk to. We also loved the Marina pool waitress Elizabeth was awesome too. Great personality and always on top of your drink or food needs. We will definitely come back to Aruba and the Renaissance again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ram223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Definitely a great location if you don't have a car and want to stay around downtown. Convenient to get around with taxis available. The Marketplace was a nice spot to walk to and lots of eateries. CUba's Cookin is a definite recommendation.

Enjoyed spending the day at the private island with flamingos loitering in the beach area. Clean and very peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windsufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Definitely a better experience than expected, it was nice to have the pool on the hotel site and then feel like you were getting away from the hotel when you went to the separate private island to hit the beach. We booked last minute and it felt like a good deal considering it was so close to our departure. The staff was very tourist friendly and we were surprised by how easy it was to get to the separate island. We did a separate snorkel tour and enjoyed that thoroughly. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sc09989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,983 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 2,292 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
2.2 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 3,852 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Aruba, it's right outside your door. Our location is Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown gives you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic, get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite product. Both with exclusive access to a special discovery hiding just of shores. Renaissance Island, Aruba's only private beaches, a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Cancelon, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing