We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance Aruba Resort in December 2013 and the was our second time there. We has previously stayed there December 2007 for our honeymoon.

We love the Renaissance Aruba Resort! Our favorite part is the private island. It is absolutely beautiful and the adult side with the flamingoes is absolutely gorgeous. We exchanged our timeshare to stay here so were in the ocean suites which are "family friendly" and honestly there are barely any children anywhere so it seemed more like an adult resort. This may have been due to the time of year we were there, it was early December so I imagine that most children are in school and not vacationing at that time. We met some great people and had a wonderful time. The pool bar was great too. We spent a lot of time there and had a blast. Julio was one of the best bartenders we have met and he truly made our bar time so much fun. He made delicious drinks! All you had to do was tell him to make you something fun and he would come up with an awesome concoction. My husband and I had a little too much fun one night and were hurting the next morning. Julio said he had a cure and sure enough made us one of his secret concoctions and we were feeling much better in no time.

The only negative is that the rooms are definitely due for remodeling. In talking to other guests that were staying on the "adult only" Marina side of the resort they said that their rooms had been remodeled and were very modern. They also said that they plan to remodel the "family" side soon. So that is definitely a good thing because like I said, the rooms are definitely due for an upgrade. They are very clean though, as is the rest of the resort.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FenwayFan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,101
    1,617
    549
    205
    152
See reviews for
874
2,338
118
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a great place to stay. The pool complex on site is nice with two large pools and a saltwater one. There is a restaurant and bar on site. They also have a private isand. They take you out by constantly running boast ride and there are nice beaches there. There is also a bar/restaurant there.
The staff is very friendly and any problems we had were dealt with promptly. We had the one BR suite with ocean facing view. I recommend this room and hotel highly.

Room Tip: Buy the six pack of breakfast buffet tickets. It's a nice inexpensive way to start the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Empty424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I wouldn't really fault this hotel, but I wouldn't recommend it to travelers. It's in a very touristy location near where cruise ships dock and therefore there are tons of junky tourist shops -- in addition to the high-end shops -- catering to the day crowd. Yes, there's the private island, which is a nice speedboat ride away...but it's pretty much across from the airport. No thanks! On the plus side, if you really do want to be in this location, the hotel rooms are very comfortable and and there are good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArubaHospitality, Director of Operations at Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank You for kind words & your perception with regards to the location of our Resort.
I do regret to learn that you considered our downtown location in the capital of Oranjestad not to your liking.

Regards
Parimal Trivedi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I'll start by saying this 5 star rating was based on a collective review of the hotel. The main reason we chose here and went here was for the island below.

What makes this stay so great is the access to the private island (Renaissance Island). The boat comes right into the hotel and zips you off to the island in about 15 minutes. The island has an adult lagoon and a family lagoon. Both are similar with equal beaches though the family one is a bit bigger and by the restaurant/ bar area. Off the back right corner of the adult lagoon is a sunken ship about 50 feet out that is great snorkeling. The fish are plentiful and its nice to have the sunken ship so easy to access and check out. The beach has lots of palms and just a few umbrellas so get there early if you want one of those. (remember the Aruba sun is very strong) The only downside is the planes flying over since its near the airport but it didn't bother me much.

The Marina hotel is part of the Renaissance mall as well as connected to the casino. The room was not necessarily the best I have stayed in but very nice, very clean, and had everything you needed. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great room overlooking the pool and the marina. Nice pool area though smaller and we didn't even use it due to the island. There are also plenty or restaurants, bars, shops, etc around so its a good location. The service seemed to a bit slow but the whole island seemed that way so maybe that's par for the course. Try the Aquarius restaurant for the seafood buffet as well.

Overall, a very nice stay worth going especially if you want a private beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Our first time staying in Aruba. (only visited Aruba during cruises). This hotel, in the heart of town, was perfect. The room was large enough and very clean. The linens were heavenly. We stayed in the Marina for adults only. High end shops on the first floor, general shopping just outside the hotel and the staff was very helpful. The pool was well maintained and had no children. (Family area of the hotel is across the street.) Purchased a breakfast package since we don't like to run around when we get up. Two restaurants for breakfast. We ate in the family friendly Captain's Corner across the street because it was outside. The same food is served in our building, but it is inside. The private island is a short motor boat ride away. I liked the family area better because it had no rocks and the sand was great. The adult side was stony and hard to get into the water. We took taxis to restaurants at night. Great eateries in Aruba. Expect to pay approx. $100/night for dinner for two with a drink. Not bad considering the quality. The people in the high rise areas don't have the large stores that are downtown. The stores may be the same in that area but they are wide spread and you can not walk to them as we were able to. Everything is right at your fingertips at the Renaissance. Will be back to this hotel again....real soon.

Room Tip: The Marina area is great. Just renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Renaissance is a great hotel. They have 2 separate properties. The main location is for adults and the secondary location is for families. This is a great concept. My wife and I stayed in the Main location which was just great. I love kids but I really like the separation and privacy. My favorite part of the stay was going to the private island beach with again the separate family and adult beach locations. I really love this concept and would recommend it.

Room Tip: An ocean view is nice but the savings on the view by looking downtown is very good. You can get your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel; we had a lovely stay. We stayed in the adult section.
The room felt like Miami - very contemporary and tasteful. I liked that. Nice sheets and toiletries.
The private beach was lovely. A short boat ride that stops at both the adults and the family locatons. My only complaint is the the boat stopped at the family stop each way. I would have liked a direct trip either there or back - but that's so minor I feel a little silly including it!
The adult beach was quite rocky, but the family beach wasn't busy or too noisy, so we spent our days over there.
The food was terrific! We got the all inclusive option and it was definitely worth it. The seafood buffet had lovely seared ahi tuna, cooked to order. The steaks in the steakhouse were quite good - we went 3x during our stay. Included wine was actually drinkable - a first for an all inclusive.
We visited eagle beach (public), but were happy we picked the hotel we did. It was nice to walk into town, and interesting to see the ships come and go in the port. I also liked the short ride to the airport and the private beach was a plus.
There aren't many places I'd return to (prefer going somewhere new), but I'd return to Aruba and stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mispig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,754 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,061 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Divi Aruba
Divi Aruba
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,758 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,387 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing