We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Happy with the stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy with the stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance for a week in April 2013 as part of an all inclusive package. The hotel had a different feel to it from other resorts given that the it is located downtown, Aruba. They have their own private beach which is a short 5 boat ride away. Nice place to relax.

We were quite happy with the food selection. There is a steakhouse, a seafood restaurant, a cool bar (Blue) and a lounge for midnight eating. Across the street at the other location, there is an outdoor eating area.

The room was spacious enough and the king size bed was a treat. The bathrooms were not spectacular but fine enough.

I'd recommend the hotel for a comfortable stay in Aruba. But not if you're looking for sheer luxury.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bernie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,656
    1,351
    458
    178
    121
See reviews for
670
1,891
92
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is centrally located between the marina and main street. The main shopping street down town Oranjestad. An upscale mall is part of the hotel complex. The main street area is currently at the final stage of a major renovation but is going to be absolutely beautiful. This did not bother our stay at all. The opposite happened; can't wait to be back next year to see the 'new' Main Street :).
The hotel has everything you need and expect from an upscale hotel. Friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the rooms and property struck me. The separation between the 'adults' only and 'general' access pools and beaches is something major resorts can learn from.
You have to try out the spa!
Their private island is a winner. However, it's very close to the airports main runway so you will hear planes take off and land.
Just loved it and recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: The hotel is in a remodeling phase. We stayed in a currently remodeled suite and it was absolutely f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonvandehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful vacation in Aruba. We went there last year with another couple and loved it so much that we returned again this year. Both times we stayed at the Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino. I once read that happiness is a path or a journey, not a destination. This past week we experienced a fun relaxing seven days with wonderful weather every day in a beautiful country.
Our plans included seven days of R & R, refreshing drinks and delicious food. We were all-inclusive. We felt we received great value for the money.
The resort is ten minutes from the airport, we had a nice room with a view. The resort has a boat that comes into the Resort to take visitors out to their own private Island, which has all the beach chairs, etc. plus a restaurant/bar with beach service.
Aruba has great weather, friendly people, easy to get around and to drive. We rented a car in the lobby and spent a day exploring the Island highlights.
I must say the main reason we returned for a second vacation to the Renaissance Aruba Resort was the food (especially love the L.G. Smith’s Steak & Chop House) and the courteous, friendly staff. A big thank you to Andrey who gave superb service. We would also like to give a bit shout out to Jennifer who was excellent at keeping us hydrated while at the pool. We met several vacationers who told us they came to the Renaissance many times because of the food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Renaissance Aruba is really two different hotels with two different personalities. That's a good thing, because there is really something for everyone. A beach, private island, cool adult-only pool, casino, and lots of things to do.

One hotel is on the beach, appears a little bit older than the other one, and has suite-like rooms with separate bedrooms from the living room.

The main hotel has a modern, hipster vibe, is across the street from the water, but has a stunning pool area for adults-only overlooking the water from the second floor.

I stayed in the building on the beach. I was very pleased by the size of my room. It could have used a small amount of updating, but was good quality and the suite-like arrangement of the room brilliantly cut out hallway noise. I never heard another guest. My one complaint, is that the rooms did not have internet access, so the lobby (which has free wi-fi) is constantly filled with zombie-like guests checking emails and Facebook. Check-in was like a scene from 'Walking Dead'. This is a nice hotel that should not be avoided for that reason, but the internet problem smacks of the ridiculous in a hotel of this caliber today.

The Renaissance is not your standard caribbean resort, but Aruba is not your standard sleepy-caribbean-island either. The hotel has been creative with their real estate and created a place with enough variety to please almost everyone. Because of that, I have to recommend the hotel if you are headed to Aruba.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingT-Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have mixed emotions about staying here. Check in went well at the Marina but the pictures on the website make the room look better than it is. The room is okay but the bathroom sucks. The tub is like 5 colors and 50 years old. Oh yeah it also smells like mold. We changed rooms three times in three days. First from the moldy smell in the bathroom. The second room had the same crappy tub and moldy smell. Oh this hotel is renovating so be prepared to hear construction noises from 10a-6p. There is A LOT of construction in the immediate area so be prepare to hear those construction noises from like 5a-8p. It's annoying and it interrupted my sleep like crazy. The manager Esmeralda is great though and she has very good customer service skills. She moved us to the ocean suites. Those suites are very much standard. It's not an upgrade. Just a bigger room with a balcony. By the way, the ocean suites are across the street. Over here we had hot water issues. First we had to call maintenance because the hot water is listed as cold and the cold water is listed as hot. Not even 24 hours later a pipe broke and we literally had no hot water. Sucks right, especially after laying on the beach and relaxing in the pool all day. We managed to get hot water by the end of the day. I won't stay here again, its just too frustrating.

As for the Marina, everything is better here (minus the tub and lack of a balcony). Better rooms, hallways, lots of shops, casino, and the water shuttle actually picks you up in the lobby to take you to the beach. At the ocean suites you have to go down a walkway to get to the dock to take you to the beach, there is a marketplace with a few shops and restaurants, a movie theater with current movies, and two pools (but the mariner pool is still better although its smaller). The marina is adults only. Oh yeah the water shuttle comes about every 10-15 minutes to pick you up/drop you off at the private beach.

The private beach is nice. I like the family beach better than the adult only beach because the family beach I didn't have to walk on rocks and shells the entire time I'm in the water. That soo took away from my experience. It's nice seeing the flamingos and Hermet crabs freely walk around on the beach. The only good thing is its not crowded like all the other public beaches.

Last thing, the Aquarium seafood buffet is really good and worth the money. Check it out for sure. Everything I ate was good. I was skeptical at first because a lot of seafood buffets have low quality or imitation seafood that sits there for hours. At this one they cook some of the fish at request and nothing I had was cold, dry, rubbery, or imitation. They get 5 stars for food and service. A few more restaurants to check out are Old Fisherman (good seafood ... Had dinner and breakfast here), iguana joes (nice bar but food is good too), and smokey joes (ribs and BBQ). Do not go to Tango ... The food and service are terrible (for $30 plus dollars a plate you shouldn't give someone freezer broccoli and dry fish and never ask how is your meal).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaRonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Off the Marina in the heart of downtown a walk away from the top places to shop. VERY CLEAN! One can practically eat off the floors. Everywhere you turn something is being wiped, sprayed, shined or polished. The hotel is beautiful with an indoor outdoor decorum. The rooms are currently being updated. The bathrooms could be a little bigger. The all-inclusive food is average. The drinks are really tasty. Staff is friendly and professional and speak at least four different languages. ARUBA has gorgeous weather 365 days a year with a incredible ocean breeze.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Wife and I stayed in the middle of January! Weather was great. The room was recently updated there was plenty to do. Make friends with the bartenders! Wherever you are in the world they are tuned in to the places to go or be. Raphie at BLU is the man!!!! Everywhere he told us to go was great and always remember to only order off the blackboard when he tells you to go somewhere. I also highly suggest talking adavantage of the adults only side or the resort and the private island

Room Tip: Happy hour drinks are 2 for 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,955 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#16 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
2.2 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 3,843 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Aruba, it's right outside your door. Our location is Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown gives you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic, get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite product. Both with exclusive access to a special discovery hiding just of shores. Renaissance Island, Aruba's only private beaches, a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing