We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and beautiful place”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I just returned from a 5 day (too short) stay at the Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino. I had a terrific time. All of the staff was outstanding, helpful and friendly. In particular, the bartender Rafael makes a perfect Mojito and is always ready with a helpful suggestion on local eats and attractions. I didn't want to leave! I'll be back.

Room Tip: We had diving gear, so requested a room on the 3rd floor which had extra balcony space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVC362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,072
    1,600
    542
    203
    148
See reviews for
854
2,309
117
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,011)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Aruba Resort, adult only building with all-inclusive option in January 2013 for 1 week. The hotel and facilities were very good. The downtown location is not typical of a resort environment but it provided lots of activity and people watching. The boat shuttle to the private island went frequently and the trip was short. Food was good in all the restaurants.

We were surprised by the many North American chain stores, including Starbucks!

The public transit bus terminal was only 2 blocks away. Easy to travel north to the low rise and high rise hotel districts. The beach up there was fantastic. Lounge chairs and umbrellas are available to rent for the day.

The Aruban people are very friendly. They don't call it 'One Happy Island" for nothing!

We visited the Butterfly farm. It was fascinating. Don't miss it.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57TravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Arrival Nov 10-17, 2012
We are a family of 3 people (2 adults, 9yr old boy). Flight and check in was easy - we went with the all-inclusive option.

ROOMS:
We stayed at the Ocean Suites - had a great family room with pull out sofa bed and separate bedroom with ensuite. The room was great - nothing fancy. Had a closet, dresser, desk, 2 flat screen tvs, in room safe, mini fridge. We had a small balcony with table & chairs. We had no issues with hot water/pressure or a/c at all. Room was well cleaned every day.

RESTUARANTS & BARS:
We had the all-inclusive option and found the food at all the resorts available restaurants to be FANTASTIC. The charge card system for the all-inclusives is a bit worriesome and a hassle for quick ordering since you had to sign a slip for every single drink (meant we ordered alot of multiples!).

BEACH/POOLS/GROUNDS:
The main pool is small but more than adequate with a swim up bar. There is also a small "beach area". We never had problems getting beach chairs.

We went to the private island which was a nice short boat ride -- there was great snorkelling there and lots of iguanas.

This resort is very small and was very well kept.

ACTIVITIES ON & OFF RESORT/HOTEL:
We rented a car for less than $40 and toured the island geocaching by ourselves - great fun! We also took a full day island tour with ABC Tours for the off roading places our rental car dare not go -- highly recommend them!

Other Comments:
We brought our laptop with us and had no issues with internet – we purchased a week of service. We used a magic jack for phone service without any trouble.

We loved the small hotel atmostphere, local shops and safety of Aruba - would we go back?? YES absolutely!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMomInLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for 8 days and 7 nights at the Adults Only Marina Resort. The lobby and hotel features were beautiful! The proximity to downtown Oranjestad was great- we often took the short walk to the Ocean Suites and the Marketplace. We did not opt for the All-Inclusive plan and were happy with all of the restaurants that Aruba has to offer.

Our room was very nice- comfortable bed, great view of the water and Marina, separate room with door leading to sinks, mirrors, closets, bathroom. The infinity pool off of the lobby was really beautiful and refreshing. The resort isn't overwhelmingly massive, but there are many wonderful things that it has to offer- The Renaissance Mall (high-end stores), The Marketplace (plenty of great restaurants), Casinos, Starbucks, etc.

The best part of this resort is BY FAR Renaissance Island, the hotel's private island (the ONLY resort-owned private island in Aruba)!!! The island is breathtaking! The turquoise water is amazing to look at on the boat ride over to the island. The boats came VERY often (every 10-15 minutes) and the ride took 10 minutes with great views of the Marina, the Ocean Suites and the island strip leading to the island. There are always enough chairs on the beach, we usually spent the day at the family beach, Iguana Beach because it was a little more lively than the adults only beach. The sun is very strong on the entire island but there is plenty of room a few steps back from the water underneath the palm trees for that great Aruba breeze. The ocean is blocked in by a big rock wall so you don't have to worry about drifting out on one of the ocean lounges that you can rent for the day. The iguanas, flamingos and birds that roam around the island make it really feel like a paradise island. We went to island at least once a day. Our experience on Renaissance Island made the trip! Any little flaws could easily be overlooked. If you are looking for a great private resort (not on a huge strip of busy hotels) with a great beach experience- this is THE resort to stay at.

Overall, I would highly recommend this resort for anyone who wants a great experience in Aruba. I am definitely planning to return to the Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corypaglinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We just spent two glorious weeks in Aruba had a wonderful time weather was great and as usual great food a the best friendliest people in the Caribbean. Oranjestad is undergoing a huge facelift so a lot of construction. But once this is done it will be beautiful. Staying at ocean suites was great we know the staff and they always welcome you back with a smile making it feel like home.

Room Tip: If you want quiet stay on ocean side. Work in town can be a little disruptive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gezzer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I visited Aruba in august 2007 before we were married. This was before we tried any all-inclusive or adults only resorts. The room could've used some TLC, as there was a weird hole in the shower wall surrounding the shower head faucet... But otherwise was nice. Great ocean view out one window and pool room out another window. Now we prefer adults only/all-inclusive resorts, but would be a great option for a family trip!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJBOmaha_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Aruba (Marina Tower - Adult Section) for our vacation. The lobby bar was nice and located right by the pool. The pool was smallish, but very nice not to have any kids around. The room was okay, the washroom definitely needs a make over. She tub/shower was small, but it was also very stained and appeared dirty. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. There is a small casino on the grounds, but that was all the entertainment. You could also go to the family side and the pool there was kinda like a lazy river. The food in Aruba was good everywhere we ate. We ate at the L.G. Smith Steak House at the hotel and it was good, the buffet was nice and had a good variety daily. There was fresh Mahi Mahi, Grouper, Snapper, Lobster Tails, Shrimp done fresh on a grill, plus salad bar, a very small dessert bar. The only think I didn't like was the 15% service charge at 90% of the places we purchased stuff. The food and drinks are a little pricey, I would recommend going all-inclusive & if you still want to try local restaurants you can. Oh they have a private beach which u need to take a boat too, very quiet at the beach & always a chair to be had.

Room Tip: Try to stay at the Ocean View vs the Marina View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,693 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,994 reviews
1.7 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing