We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bad value proposition” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad value proposition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Something good + something bad = 3 star review.

For starters: the Marina Hotel does NOT have beach access. You cannot step outside the hotel and be knee-deep in sparkling blue water within 20 feet.

People are being charitable about saying the bathrooms (and the rooms in general) need updating. Our first bathroom door did not close and the tub stopper was unattached from the drain. For starters. At $300 a night, I'm pretty sure those things should be included.

The front desk tried - really tried - to accommodate a room switch, but weather cancellations and Carnival made getting a different room impossible. When we did switch, our new room was arguably worse - no mattress pad, the shower curtain bar coming off the wall, the door handle coming off.

The good, because there's good: the private island is very nice. No problems getting a boat ride, even during peak hours. The pools at the Ocean Resort have a "lazy river" and a swim-up bar, and there's a (man made) beach head with a breaker, so you can still see fish in the deeper end.

No reliable wifi. Really?

Most of the staff is great. Desk staff, bartenders, many servers. There are truly friendly, hardworking people on the staff. And then there's the poor clueless lady working the adults-only side of the Island. Or the one in the Marina Hotel bar, for whom apparently getting a chicken quesadilla ordered takes 45 minutes.

Wouldn't recommend the Marina Hotel. I didn't see the Ocean Suites, but I can't believe they wouldn't be a significant upgrade over the Marina. If you have to stay Marriott or Renaissance, stay there.

Room Tip: Don't stay low: outside room, you'll hear the street noise. Inside room, you'll hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockcreek_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,700
    1,388
    464
    182
    125
See reviews for
705
1,929
96
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and ! just got back from an 11 night stay and had a fabulous time. We stayed in the Marina Hotel and the only reason I'm giving the property a four, is that the room was a little out-dated and the bathroom needed refurbishing. That being said, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, although a bit small, and we had a nice view of the marina. In fact, we were pleasantly surprised by the room.
We enjoyed having the options of using the pool at the Marina Hotel, the Ocean Suites, and the absolutely stunning private island.
We enjoyed the choice of restaurants and the very friendly, courteous staff.
In my opinion, this is a great place to stay for the value and plan to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the atrium and are a little higher for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I went here in March of 2012. Needed a break from the cold winter in Toronto.
We read the reviews about this hotel which were very positive. We were not disappointed! It was amazing. The hotel is close to the airport, downtown on top of a shopping centre (expensive stores but fun to look around), has a casino, it's own private island to go swimming...the list goes on.
WE loved going to the beach everyday, either the private island or the beach in front of the hotel. You were waited on for lunch and drinks which I thought was awesome. The food was delicious and we totally got our money's worth doing the all inclusive. I highly recommend it!

our room was nice, bed was comfortable. Not fancy but who cares, we are there for the sun, beer, food and beach.

This was a unique hotel because they separate the adults only hotel and the family hotel. Our hotel, adults only, does not have it's own beach but the family one does and of course there is always the private island. I thought this would bother me but it didn't.

The beach and ocean are beautiful and the weather was amazing.
I'm looking forward to going back, except this time we will bring our baby :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the outside of the hotel, some rooms face the inside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I loved the fact that there was a private island. There were 2 pools 1 beach and 2 parts of a private island (adult exclusive and familly freindly), tons of drinks to choose from about 4 restaurants and some pretty nice rooms and an awsome location (2 steps away from most of the restaurants) .
I'd like to thank Andrey at L.G. Smith's steak and chop house for his great service

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor are the best beacauseyou don't have to wait for the elevator 2 minutes you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've been going to this resort for the past three years! We stay at the Marina tower and LOVE it!! The service is great and the hotel is very clean! Rooms could use a little updating though.
The bartenders ( Raffie and Ally) are awesome. They seem to have remembered us. We do and would highly recommend this place to anyone and everyone. Private island is great!
See you next year!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and myself went for a trip here in January of this year. The staff was very friendly and were always smiling and making us feel at home. It also appeared that they were almost overstuffed during much of our stay which was great because for how busy some of the restaurants got they handled the capacity just nicely.

We had the All Inclusive option which was terrific.. We got to eat at all of the restaurants at the resort and it was an easy swipe of our card at the end of each meal to have the tab covered.

My only complaint about this resort is that the only beer they include with the All Inclusive is Balashi and Balashi Chill. These are both local beers brewed in Aruba which I enjoyed the taste of however I found that it was contributing to me having indigestion most days. It is an option to purchase Coors Light among other beers at this resort, I just feel they should be included with the AI. Any other drink you can imagine is on the menu!

The island is AMAZING. It's a place everyone should get the chance to see!

There's so much this resort has to offer in terms of food variety, drinks and plenty of scenery to walk around and explore. This was a big thing for us as we wanted more than to just sit around every day on the beach. We just simply had a great time :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days before moving on to the Marriott Aruba Surf Club and then the Ocean Club. The main parts of the hotel, bar, pool area etc., are lovely however the rooms are looking a little tired now. But we were only there a few days so not a problem. The main reason to stay at this hotel must be the boat ride across to the Renaissance Island. There are two sides, one of them adult only, with iguanas and pelicans just mingling with the crowd. It's so relaxing here and there's a bar and restaurant so you can spend all day there. Would I recommend it, definitely.....

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KagsieKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 5,067 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 2,342 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
2.2 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 3,907 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Aruba, it's right outside your door. Our location is Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown gives you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic, get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite product. Both with exclusive access to a special discovery hiding just of shores. Renaissance Island, Aruba's only private beaches, a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Otel, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing