We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Marina hotel is hip and ocean suites are not luxury, but it's nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Marina hotel is hip and ocean suites are not luxury, but it's nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Service was very good at this hotel, the reception desk was very friendly and helpful. The resort offers alot in that you are able to utilize all the amenities of both hotels. For kids, the ocean suites offers pool and beach and the Renaissance island is really nice. As with everything though, you may have a tough time finding seats if you don't arrive early. Snorkeling is very good at the Renaissance island. Nice outdoor shopping mall and many restaurant choices within walking distance. The casino was very nice, health club was decent, preferred this location to Palm Beach area as we split our time between the 2.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missshelbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,667
    1,355
    458
    179
    123
See reviews for
678
1,898
93
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I Just got back and stayed at the Ocean Suites area. The First thing people need to know is that every room will start renovations in 2014 which is very much needed. The reason I Mention this first is that most of the negative things about the hotel is due to it not being up to par Such as outdated CRT TV'S in every room & Peeling wallpaper , and chipped tiles in many rooms. Being I had the opportuninty to see a sample of how the rooms will look in 2014 ,I Can tell you these things are going to be updated with LCD TV'S, New Royal blue color schemes and a silver/ white black counter tops with new funiture! So If your thinking of staying here, I'd wait till winter time 2014. With that said, people should also know the renaisance is divided with the ocean suites being the family friendly hotel having the beach with pools, but you also have Kids running around constanstanty. So unless you have a family with kids I Would recommend staying across the way at the Marina Hotel.
With those two cons out of the way the hotel itself is only a block away from the fabulous mall with numerous stores and restaurants with One of the 2 casinos also in the mall area.
The staff was very friendly and courteous. As far as Wifi , Only the Lobby area has access to Free internet while in room acesss you must use wired internet with router and cost is $70 /week for 1 Mbps down / .5 mbps up. far from the fastest access for such high fees but if your just using email and web brosing it will be fine. Overall the hotel is fine for an overall fun time with kids.

Room Tip: Wait Till renovations done in 2014!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAMF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We love the Renaissance and its whole property. Their island for guests is tops ! Lots of sites- 3 beaches, restaurant,bar, lounges, iguanas, flamingos, parrots, and more !
Snorkling is great. All this is a free 10 minute boat ride from your Renaissance Suite.
You can walk or shuttle to town area & get some grub, restaurants, pharmacy or Supermercado items & carry back to your room. Harborside shops have pizza, bars, & local shops.
Pool at Renaissance is a 'Lazy River' style & one can swim up to a water bar in the pool !
What's not to love at this tropical delight !
Brings tons of sun lotions for their Hot Sunny Weather.
This Renaissance is not part of Marriott Hotels (only in U.S.). This is independent. Wish it was !

Room Tip: Room choices - Some face the pool; Some face the town, some face side area of the Harborside Casino...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seniorsontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Marina property and overall it was a great experience.
Pros-
-Picturesque private beach, calm and relaxing
-Great service
-Beautiful lobby/ pool area
-Walking distance to shops and restaurants
-Concierge was very helpful
-Late night menu

Cons-
-Rooms were average looking and bathroom was really small
-$8 cab ride to high rise hotel area where the most action is
-I was supposed to get Mytime perks from the resort but did not receive them even after I reminded them
-No late night room service

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Since this is our 2nd stay at the Renaissance Marina Hotel the review will be relatively short. The last trip was in June, 2000.

First the good...
We still love the location and the atmosphere. We've spent a bit more time in the high rise hotels this trip to see whether we would want to stay out there next time and the answer is NO. Even though the Ren was sold out (according to the front desk) it never felt like it was as busy as the properties in the High Rise area.

It was nice to see that they have done a facelift to the public areas and rooms. Specifically, happy to see that they've replaced the sliding balcony doors with something that is relatively sound/wind proof.

Now the bad...
- Room(s) still smell moldy. It may be the nature of the beast being on an island.
- Room facelift forgot the bathroom. Dry paint in the tub and curtain rod following apart. See attached photos. We had the same problem 2 years ago.
- Zero acknowledgment of elites. I had to call after we checked in to learn that in-room internet is free for Gold/Platinum but no free local calls.
- Wire internet in room ONLY. No wifi in the room....bring a laptop or an airport express (or similar) if you want to create your own wifi.

Long story short, we will still stay at this hotel in the future but really hope they can clean up some of the short-comings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdOverIp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Beaches/Pools: The Private Island beaches were great! It was fun to lay on the beach and have flamingos walking around you. The sand was perfect and the water was very clear. The restaurant on the private island has good snack food too. The beach at the hotel was nice as well, but not as nice. The water wasn't as clear, but the sand was just as nice, and there were many palm trees for shade. The hotel pool and pool bar were perfect. The bartender doesn't keep you waiting long, and he was so friendly!

Food: The snacks at the pool bar were amazing! Just watch your table because the little doves in the area will swoop in and make a snack out of your salad. There were always iguanas around the pool bar and poolside restaurant, I enjoyed feeding them lettuce and they really don't bother anyone. On a side note, there is not much alcohol in the drinks which I didn't really mind. There was not a wide variety of restaurants included in the all inclusive package, but the ones that were served very good food. The Aquarius restaurant has chefs who cook fresh fish right in front of you and if you enjoy sushi there is a great variety. The breakfast buffet at the restaurant next to the pool was amazing! My group looked forward to it every morning, tons of fresh fruit, and there is an omelette bar where the chefs make a custom omelette for you.

Rooms: Rooms were nice, the beds were very comfortable, the rooms and bathrooms were clean. The only complaint would be that very early in the morning some maintenance workers were making a lot of noise right under our window.

Staff: The staff were great! Very helpful. The waitstaff in the poolside restaurant were great! They were so attentive and remembered almost everyone by name. One waitress kept calling my mom and I beauties every time she saw us. I found everyone willing to chat and the staff were always smiling.

Entertainment: There is no nightly entertainment at this resort, however, it is a very lively resort and you will find people at the bar and pool late at night. My group felt very safe in Oranjestad and walked around the city freely. There are amazing little beach bars to be found and more Americanized bars like Senor Frogs as well. There is a ton of shopping nearby. The casino was good, but if you don't like smoke keep in mind that smoking is allowed in the casino. If you're up for some adventure rent a jeep and explore the island for a day. The roads are very rough and are just dirt roads once you get out of the city, so if you don't mind lots of potholes and some steep inclines then it's a fun ride! I recommend seeing the Ayo rock formations, the Arawak cave drawings, and the white California sand dunes. Warning: When you leave Oranjestad restrooms are few and far between so make sure you go before you leave!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LotusFlower92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

WOW! This hotel is so beautiful and the staff is SOOO nice! The private island is perfect and not crowded at all. The infinity pool is amazing and right next to an amazing outdoor bar. Raphael the bartender is AWESOME! Such a super nice guy and excellent bartender! He gave us a lot of good advice about Aruba! Adding to this amazing hotel was the fact that we were there for New Year's Eve and saw some incredible fireworks right in front of the hotel! This place really is heaven!

Room Tip: We stayed in an island view room and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,979 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 2,290 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
2.2 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 3,850 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Aruba, it's right outside your door. Our location is Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown gives you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic, get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite product. Both with exclusive access to a special discovery hiding just of shores. Renaissance Island, Aruba's only private beaches, a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Otel, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing