We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just got back from staying here here with my parents and Fiancé at the Ocean Suites for a week. I am not sure why this hotel got mixed reviews -- we had an amazing time! The rooms were clean, quiet, and big! The staff at the Renaissance was helpful with restaurant recommendations and things to do, although, you wont want to leave the hotel with its private island. The private island makes this hotel so unique and worth every penny. They have boats that leave every 20 minutes to pick you up from both hotels. The weekends are very busy and the boats run every 5-10 minutes. The hotel has mastered the art of efficiently shuttling its guests to and from the island! In my opinion, the Hyatt and Marriott may be newer, but they all share the same crowded beach, and the Renaissance has its own private beach which makes it very relaxing and quiet. There are two sides on the private island, one for adults only and one for kids. There is one restaurant on the private beach, which has a great lunch menu and free wifi! The beach is near the airport, but we enjoyed watching the airplanes land and take off. The bathrooms are a little dated , but they are renovating the rooms. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Floors 4-5 have great views of the ocean. Make sure you ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dbain113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,703
    1,390
    464
    183
    125
See reviews for
705
1,932
96
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent our last 2 nights in Aruba at the Renaissance. We stayed on the adult side with our room facing the adult infinity pool. The hotel was doing renovations in the Lobby/Bar area so the only downside was the loud construction workers on Saturday and Sunday mornings.. Aside from that, the hotel stay was wonderful. The staff was great. The casino was fun.

Now, let's get to the "Private Island Oasis"... One word- AMAZING!!! The boat ride to the island was always fun. I LOVE how the boat pulls up in the lobby of the hotel to pick up guests. The island was never crowded. There were always beach chairs available. We enjoyed the iguanas on the family friendly side of the island and the flamingos on the adult side of the island. Both my fiance and I felt like we were on our own little island. WE were able to secure a hammock at the end of the family friendly side. This was perfect for sun-bathing, sleeping, and the water was so shallow that we could step from the hammock into the ocean without any issues. Some people even had their beach chairs sitting in the ocean. The only downside to the private island were the lack of choices for food. The restaurant was good but it lacked a lot of choices.

When I go on vacation, I dont pay too much attention to the "smallness of the bathroom" or the little rust in the shower. The rooms were nice but if you are on vacation to stay ing your super comfortable room all day then this isn't the hotel for you. Our room was perfect for sleeping, showering, and changing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the renovations. If you stay over the pool/bar, you will hear loud music fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissEvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantrall, IL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just spent Friday night there with family.... Staff was very pleasant and helpful.... They were a standout group.... Wifi super... Facility was well laid out and kept up... Great and peaceful night's rest.. Handy location with casino,, shops and restaurats right in area...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have just arrived home from a 1 week stay in Oranjestad .We stayed at the Renaissance..We have traveled many places ,,and stayed in many resorts. This was by far the BEST vacation that we have had thus far. The staff at the Renaissance ,,all deserve a gold metal in service.We were never disappointed in anything we asked for. The food was top notch at all the restaurants..absolutely delicous.
never a bad meal.we scouted many of the resorts while we were there and this resort was by far the best going and i give them a 10 out of 10..Rooms were comfortable and very clean..loved loved the boat ride over to the private island!! a must see..and this is the only resort that can use this. A big hello to Jennifer , Sugheri,and all the servers in the main buffet.You were all amazing..be proud of your staff..

Room Tip: we stayed in the adult side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marieski_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

*This review applies to the adult tower...not the family suites* I just stayed here for three days, and I have mixed feelings. First of all, it needs to be said that the private island associated with this resort is AMAZING. Breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful. Postcard picture perfect. I cannot say enough good things about the island...stay at this hotel JUST for the island alone. The lobby is also spectacular. It was recently renovated and is simply stunning, by even the highest standards. No complaints there. The ONLY reason I'm not giving this place five stars is because of the bathrooms in the rooms. They need some major help. The showers are old and dirty, there is wallpaper peeling off the walls, and the hot water is not consistent. I'm HOPING that once they are done updating the lobby (which I think they are basically done now), they will start updating the bathrooms. The rest of the room/bed/furniture was VERY nice. Just the bathrooms stink. All in all, I would still go back....the private island and other ammenities of this hotel were just too good to pass up, honestly. If they would just remodel the guest bathrooms, this place would EASILY be 5 stars, no question.

Room Tip: Do NOT get the top floor...hot water doesn't seem to reach up there AND you can hear the air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenH12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I've been around the Carribean several times and I was here 2 yrs ago for the first time and we loved it. Beaches are amazing, shopping was great, Casino and the food was excellent!
If you thought about it and thought maybe next time, don't do it! Go to Aruba !!

Cheers, Hope this helps !

P.S. Go on the morning snorkling trip! A must see!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel itself was just ok. I was expecting much more for a Renaissance in Aruba. However, the private boat shuttle to the private island was amazing. Service was a little slow in the hotel and there were lots of families running around with kids. I would only recommend this property if you plan on spending most of your time on the private island. I believe Marriott is one of the only hotels that has such a private island in Aruba. The only downside of the island is it is very close to the airport so you see (and hear) planes landing all the time. We personally enjoyed watching the planes but others could find it annoying.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 5,073 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 2,343 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
2.2 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 3,916 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Aruba, it's right outside your door. Our location is Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown gives you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic, get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite product. Both with exclusive access to a special discovery hiding just of shores. Renaissance Island, Aruba's only private beaches, a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz, Otel, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing