We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renaissance Aruba Suites is a lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Renaissance Aruba Suites is a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was told that the Renaissance Aruba Suites was the "family" side of the Renaissance Aruba Resort, but we wanted a suite, and were very happy there! We did notice a few children, but not a lot of screaming/crying/running, etc. that would make you sorry you picked that place, you know? This resort has a private Island, to make up for the small man-made beach at the Suites itself, you get on a boat, the trip takes about 15 minutes, there are watersports, a Spa, and Bar & Grille on the Island. The Suite side of the resort, which is across the street from the Hotel itself only has 1 restaurant, the Captain's Corner, which is typical Hotel dining, good food & service, just not spectacular. However the position of this hotel on the "Main Drag" in Oranjestad, means you are footsteps away from over a dozen restaurants, 2 casinos, a movie theater and a whole lot of shopping! The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, the Wi-Fi worked well & we loved being able to walk out of our sliding glass door onto our first floor patio, which leads to the pool with a Swim-up bar, of course! Our suite included a bedroom & bathroom, a small kitchen area, with 2 mini-fridges, a 3 burner cook-top, a microwave & coffee pot, and basic utensils & pots as well as plates & service for 4, the living room had a table for 4 & a fold-out couch, which we did not need to try. In the lobby, you will find a "Navigator" their version of a concierge, as well as a "Depalm Tour" advisor & Hertz Rent-A-Car on site. I'm really not sure what else we could have asked for, it was a Great Vacation!

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean Suites, not the regular Hotel if you can afford the difference, it's worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suemenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Visited Aruba and stayed at the Renaissance in early August and had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and attentive when asked which is quite normal in the Caribbean so no complaint there. The restaurants on site are adequate if you don't want to travel out in town, but definitely not worth the price you will pay. There is a service charge on any and everything you order so be aware as these charges can add up quickly if not watched closely. The private beaches are awesome and so is the boat ride to the private island. Nothing like having a drink while watching dancing flamingos. All in all its a great place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSnook82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

November 2012, Our first impression of the room was quite horrifying. As soon as we opened the door we sensed an unclean smell. The room was very tiny and the view through the window was the glass elevator in the court yard. The bath tub was stained.had a rusted out drain and looked very dirty. We then were offered to move to the Ocean suites Resort for an additional $60.00
plus taxes per day. It was the best decision under the circumstances we could make. The spacious suite was very clean, had a balcony and ocean view. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurants was tasty but the steak house had a limited menu for the "all inclusive" option. Never the less, we enjoyed the food and the service immensely.

Room Tip: Book into the Ocean Suites Resort instead of Marina Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norbert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

November 2012. Nice Hotel. Friendly Staff. But the staff will not volunteer anything. You have to ask. This is s non-smoking resort (yeah right). Smoking is allowed in: the pools (yes people with cigars in the pool), the pool bars, the private beaches, the restaurant at the beach, the swim up bars and casino. No smoking only in the halls and the rooms. So this is a partially non-smoking resort. Be aware of the all inclusive menu swap. The steakhouse has a special menu for the all inclusive which is much more limited than the full menu. Watch out for the 15% "Service Charge" added to everything you order. I asked if this was a gratuity. The staff is very evasive and says tips are at your discretion. The general feeling is that this 15% is a tip but the staff will not tell you this and hope you will tip additionally. The private beach on the private island is great. Very relaxing and very safe. Adult side and family side. Both are equally enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Mn.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a terrible experience here. We requested to stay at the family friendly hotel and they did not hono this request even though there was obvious vacancy. The private island was the best part but the shuttle boat drivers were lazy uand not dependable. The hutel was terrible. We were there one week. Only one elevator the whole time. The room across from us ha room service and the tray with garbage sat outside the door for 3 days. The starbucks and stores on ground floor were nice. The "mall" by the family friendly had very few restraunts or stores open and hours were not reliable, This was totally not up to Marriot standards.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kris52Winona_Mn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for ten days at the Marriott Renaissance Aruba and really enjoyed it. The hotel is located in the heart of Oranjestad above an exclusive shopping mall and is close to restaurants, bars and various types of shopping (there is a Kong Hing Supermarket across the street at the rear of the hotel). Keep in mind most shops close at 6:00 pm and are not open, or have limited hours on Sundays.

The infinity pool off the lobby looks over L G Smith Blvd. but can give you the feeling of being on display for those in the lobby and on the street. The sister hotel, Renaissance Ocean Suites is located across the street on the beach side and guests can use the pool facilities at either location. This hotel has has two larger and more private pools, plus a beach area that has been enclosed by a jetty to prevent heavy ocean swell. The hotels also have their own private island and boats jet you out and back throughout the day till 7 pm (a 7 - 10 minute ride depending on the seas). Both hotels have small casinos that serve free drinks while gamboling.

The rooms in the hotel are standard sized with flatscreen TV and decent movie channels. If you are staying any length of time and don't want to pay for an upgrade, request a corner room for the same price and you will be surprised by the extra space you'll have. All rooms have a small fridge (empty) so you don't have to juggle around mini-bar items to store your food and drinks. There is a good sized closet and plenty of drawer space to pack away your things. Maid service every day is great and they always leave enough bath and hand towels; and even face cloths which are not in most hotels in the Caribbean.

We did not go for the "all inclusive" and did not eat in the hotel. They have food service at the lobby bar and only one restaurant which provides the daily all inclusive package for each meal. I would find that tiresome after a few days, especially since there are some quite good restaurants within walking distance. Try out Cellar 23, just outside the rear mall entrance, you won't be disappointed but go before 7:00 pm. The Paddock across the street also has a lovely outside table area overlooking the ocean and they have specials almost every night.

The desk staff and, Lynda the concierge, we very friendly and always helpful to arrange tours, etc. We were there during Hurricane Sandy and they worked very hard trying to accommodate the wishes of all the stranded travellers.

My only negative remark is that I dislike having to use my computer in the lobby. If you want internet access in your room, it is hard wired and comes at a cost of $15 USD per day. I just hate that big hotel chains charge for this service while the smaller chains and private hotels provide wi-fi for free. The lobby is always extremely humid and it makes for an unpleasant way to catch up on your computer business. There is a Starbucks just down the lobby escalator which provides free wi-fi to their customers. It is a little cooler and more comfortable there.

My last comment: the taxi to and from the airport will cost you $18 USD cash only.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. All rooms have doors that open onto a tiny balcony but provide lots of fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank molley59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a stay at the Renaissance Marina. Overall, we were pretty pleased with our experience. The rooms are fairly small and could use updating, especially the bathrooms. The pool was also pretty small. However, having your own private island makes up for it. Having to take a boat to get to the beach isn't the most convenient, but it was a cool experience. The chairs at the beach could also use a little updating. They weren't the most comfortable. The happy hour at the hotel was nice as was the decor at the hotel. We didn't actually eat at any of the restaurants. It was nice to enjoy getting out in Aruba and exploring different eating options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shannon4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.3 mi away
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellari...
#7 of 23 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,521 reviews
2.0 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#3 of 8 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 stars 2,063 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 23 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 23 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 3,445 reviews
3.6 mi away
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclu...
#22 of 23 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Aruba, it's right outside your door. Our location is Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown gives you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic, get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite product. Both with exclusive access to a special discovery hiding just of shores. Renaissance Island, Aruba's only private beaches, a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing