We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mostly Good!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at the Renassiance Marina which is the adults only hotel. The vibe at the hotel is fun. It gives off a Miami vibe with the rooftop pool and open air lobby. There is a happy hour, 2 for 1 drinks every day.

The Rooms: Mostly good. However, the bathrooms are YUCK! The shower is absolutely disgusting. We had a group of 21 and everyone said the same thing about the shower in their rooms. Some even wore flip flops because they were so grossed out!

Casino: The casino is a decent size, lots of lights, fun place.

Shops: Great part to this hotel is it is connected to a mall. The mall has everything from Gucci to David Yurman to Aldo. So everyone has somewhere to shop!

Bar/Lobby: Great part to the hotel. It's open air 24/7. The Bar has good food and leads right into the pool. There is also a DJ that plays great music. The pool is always open. You can only get free wi-fi in the lobby.

Beach: This is perhaps the BEST part of this hotel. The hotel is NOT ocean front, it is Marina front. Thus, you have to take a boat to the Renaissance Private Island. The boat picks you up INSIDE of your hotel, literally. It then takes you on a 10 minute ride to the Island. On the island there is a family beach and adult beach. There's a bar and grill too! There are flamingos, iguanas, and other tropical birds. It's GREAT! When you're ready to go you hop on the boat (which runs every 15 mins) and head back to your hotel lobby!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 357JenniferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,043
    1,583
    528
    202
    146
See reviews for
843
2,275
114
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for two weeks from the 9th of June at the Marina Hotel.
It really had the wow factor on arrival with the fountain and lobby.
It was my partners 50th birthday and not long after we arrived Chris was given a bottle of wine, cheese platter and a card to wish him a happy birthday this was a really lovely touch and was very much enjoyed. We stayed in room 1446 it was a good sized room it was to the side of the Hotel and overlooked Blue Bar and pool but you could also see the Ocean. The bathroom is a little dated but nothing to what we had been reading in the reviews. We were told that the rooms are due for a refurb, so we will have to back for a visit when this has been done, we found our room very comfortable and clean.
We were on the all inclusive package (would definitely recommend) and were very happy with the standard of food. We ate mostly in Aquarius (seafood restaurant) the buffet was plentiful and was constantly being replenished the food was to a high standard. You could get fish cooked infront of you to your liking, there was also crab and lobster cooked to order too. There was also meat options in the cloches. We could not fault the food or the the staff in this restaurant. A special mention goes to our waitress Adriana she was so so lovely very attentive also Anouscha,Desiree,Dorothy and Humphery. The breakfast buffet in Aquarius was amazing so much choice.
The food in Blue is very good too it comes in a Bento box which is quirky. The staff in Blue are very friendly. It can get very busy in Blue but we found we were seen to quickly.
We did eat in Captains corner one evening it was a bbq buffet night and we were very dissapointed the staff were very disorganised too few also and the food was of poor quality on this night, we didn't like it so we left without hardly eating.
Sole bar at the Ocean suites Hotel was good to eat in. We found that it got quite busy and again too few staff one lunch time there was just one waitress running around and she was running and there were 5 other members of staff standing at the bar (I'm guessing Supervisors and managers) non helped her out the whole time we were there. We ate in Sole one night and again it was the same but our waitress Elizabet didn't seem to mind she was alway's smiling and cheerful she has so much energy (she needed it) a lovely lady. The food from the ala carte menu was gorgeous.
LG smiths was ok. The all inclusive menu was very limited the fish wasn't nice but we went back and had steak and it was just lovely. Our waitress I think her name was Rosenda (sister of Adriana in Aquarius) was very attentive the waiter was grumpy and didn't smile. We were told there was a dress code but people were turning up in sandals, shorts and t-shirts so I guess there isn't one. The restaurant iself is really upto date and modern.
If you need anything the navigators at both Hotels are brilliant they know everything all hotels should have them. The reception staff were lovely too we had no problems with them.
The boat trip to the island is fab really enjoyed it and the island. George the boatman was great.
There is no real entertainment at the hotel so if this is what you usually like they don't have it here they do have a dj that plays in Blue bar most evenings. So settle down with a cocktail and listen to the music or go to the Casino.
The pool I thought was a good size if it does get busy there is a pool at the other hotel with more sunbeds and beach area which was lovely.
The shopping mall has lots of designer shops which were lovely to window shop. There are plenty of other shops around and about if these are not too your taste.
We would recommend while on the Island the ABC Safari Tour, the Pirate Ship trip these two are very entertaining and with the ABC tour you get to see around the Island. We did do the Caribbean night which was good but you don't get to eat food at a table you have to get food from vendors and there is limited seating we didn't get told this so it was a bit of a dissapointment. Charlies bar is worth a visit too.
All in all we had a fabulous time it really is one happy island and safe we would definitely go back to this Hotel it was a wonderful holiday with happy memories and friendships made.
We would like to make a special mention to Lorraine who was very helpful before we even got to Aruba.
Thank you to all and we hope to return soon :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditzygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown,TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Marina Hotel side (Adults Only). We loved the accomodations and the Blue Bar. Our favorite way to end the evening was laying beside the pool, listening to great music. I also have to mention the great music videos that are shown on the wall beside the bar, a cool touch! Candles are literally everywhere! The private beach is a huge plus to staying here....love the friendly flamingos! I was a bit concerned after reading other reviews about the Renaissance. I had read that the bathrooms were awful and help was very hard to get at the front desk. This is simply not the case! They have typical bathrooms you would find in a hotel room. Help is always available from 8am-8pm at the Navigator desk. We met Nadia who was extremely helpful! We could not possibly stump her with any question and she gave wonderful advice on dining, as well as making reservations for us. Renaisssance is in the heart of the downtown area. I hear that the "night-life" is now found in the high rise area. We really enjoyed the Marketplace just a block down that provided great dining, shops,Starbucks, and movies. What more could you want!?!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors will of course give better views. Be sure to specifically ask for ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our second trip to Aruba, having stayed the first time at the Riu. Overall we had a great time, the staff is wonderful, very friendly and helpful, they moved us into an ocean view room after we asked for a bigger room since we have 2 teenagers and had to bring an air mattress for 1 to sleep on. Everything was very clean and it was nice that there were always plenty of chairs at the pool and island. The iguanas were very entertaining, it was fun to hand feed them fruit at breakfast. The Marketplace is nice with live music every night and very nice restaurants, my kids were happy there was a movie theatre in the plaza and they were showing The Dark Knight Rises 2 nights after it premiered. Definitely eat at Cuba's Cooking.
The cons: This would be managements fault, they seem very understaffed, it took forever to place an order at the restaurants and bars and then it took a long time to receive your order. We got the all inclusive for 3 days and it was very frustrating that at the buffets many of the dishes were empty. Breakfast was the worst, the plates are in the middle of the buffet which causes a cluster and the pancake dish was always empty. This was also the case at Aquarius and the Carribean Night buffet. When you're paying $130 a day to eat you expect the buffets to be filled.
I guess it depends on what you like, we preferred the more resort feel at the Riu.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2348 which was ocean view, it was a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolabella49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My kids and I stayed at the Oceanside one night after being bumped off a United flight. What a great way to spend an extra day in Aruba! We LOVED the private island and pool area. I wouldn't have thought to stay here because it wasn't on a main beach in Aruba, but I loved the fact that you didn't have to worry about getting a beach or pool chair. This is so much nicer than the Marriott Surf Club where we stayed for 4 nights of our vacation. The room was larger and the private island sooooo much nicer than the beach at the Surf Club. If you stay here, I'd recommend definitely spending a day on Eagle Beach for something different to enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth46905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The room was nicely furnished, the lobby area is lovely, the staff are very nice, but some small details made me less than happy with the hotel.
Beach access is via a boat that departs every 15 minutes from the hotel lobby. The beach across the street from the hotel is ok, but very small, and not as nice as the island.

There is a 2 for 1 happy hour at the lobby bar each evening, and free wi-fi there as well.

I was disappointed that neither the phone nor the internet worked in my room. I contacted the front desk multiple times, but this was never resolved during my stay.

They provided coffee in the room, but no coffee cups - just high ball glasses..?

Overall, nice hotel, but lack attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lvLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We love beach vacations, but I also like the flexibility of being able to walk to shops, restaurants, and other sights. The Renaissance covers this very well. It is not as resort-y as some of the hotels out in Palm/Eagle Beach, but we loved it. We stayed in the Marina hotel for seven nights, and our room directly overlooked the pool area. There was minor noise from the music/DJ until around 10:30-11 each night, but with the balcony door closed, it was not disruptive.

I thought the room was a very standard Marriott/Renaissance room. It was small, but I expected that from other resort experiences (particularly at this price point). There are definite signs of wear, but overall, I think the room was kept extremely clean and I have no complaints. Personally, I think you have to consider that it is very hard to maintain a property that is nearly always full and in a tropical climate. Many reviews note that wi-fi is only available in the lobby. This is true, but I find that to be a plus on vacation (maybe not for work)! It is excellent service, though, considering there were always multiple users accessing the service when we were in the lobby.

The refrigerator in the room was nice as we purchased some drinks from the nearby grocery store and had some liquor from the airport duty free shop. We did not do the all-inclusive option, but the prices for food seemed fair. The prices for beer/liquor at the hotel and at the island were high, but that was consistent across Aruba. Having access to the Oranjestad restaurants, as well as the restaurants at the Renaissance Marketplace across the street, left us with more dining options than we had days.

I thoroughly enjoyed the private island, and we spent most of our time there during the week. It was very clean and the staff members were all helpful and friendly. The adult side beach is very rocky, so I highly recommend buying water shoes before you come down. The family side was much sandier, but it was also a lot busier. Towel and boat shuttle service were great, too. Shade was a bit of a hot commodity, but compared to other beaches, it could be found without too much trouble.

Overall, I would highly recommend as a reasonably priced vacation hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranjestad
4.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,643 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
1.7 mi away
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
#2 of 6 in Oranjestad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, we Live Life to Discover. Here in the heart of Oranjestad, you will find yourself in the middle of the excitement, and our entire staff is ready to inspire you. You don't have to go far to experience the real Caribbean, it's right outside your door. Our luxury hotel in Aruba offers a perfect location steps from Oranjestad's vibrant modern downtown boutiques, giving you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic. Get the thrill of a hand of poker in one of our two casinos, enjoy one of our RLifeLIVE events and revel in the Aruban culture in a way you can only experience from the heart of the city. The resort offers two distinct experiences, the hip and lively adult-exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel and the Renaissance Ocean Suites, a sophisticated one-bedroom suite accommodation. Both provide exclusive access to a special discovery, Renaissance Island, with Aruba's only private beaches and a truly tropical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing