We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Beginning of a Passion....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Sail Sports Aruba

Red Sail Sports Aruba
Book In Advance
$57*
and up
Aruba Sunset Catamaran Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Red Sail Sports is a full service dive/watersports operator with locations in Aruba, Grand Cayman and first opened in 1987. Red Sail Sports offers a wide variety of first class activities. Choose from Snorkel, Sunset and Dinner Sails aboard luxurious catamarans. Scuba dive with PADI professionals. One and Two-Tank dives offered daily. Expert instruction from beginner to advanced. Other activities certainly to be checked out are Jetlev, Jet-Blade and Hoverbard. We are the only operation that offers these fun adventures activities with certified instructors to guide you. Red Sail Sports also offers an excellent choice in the latest beach and swim wear at any of its nine retail boutiques located along the Palm beach area.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Beginning of a Passion....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I knew that Aruba offered scuba diving for uncertified divers and decided that was the number one thing we wanted to do. There are places all over Palm Beach that offer beginner's dives, but we went with Red Sail because of their reasonable pricing and the fact that they seemed really safe, and that they are P.A.D.I certifiied. Our instructor taught us in a pool (small group, only 4 people including us) for about an hour or so, and then we loaded our gear and went for our first dive, which was 25 feet. It was amazing. We are in love with diving and signed up a day later for another dive. Our instructor was truly the best. He was funny, easy to understand, and his laid-back spirit put any of my nervousness to rest. Learning in the pool was a breeze with his instruction, and he guided us every step of the way of the actual dive and led us on it. He would turn to us every couple of minutes and check that we were all ok. He would find interesting fish or lobsters, etc., and point them out for us to see. It was an incredible experience.
There are places that teach you to use your gear in the ocean as opposed to the pool, which is what my husband and I thought at first was what we wanted to do. However, after learning in a pool I would definitely recommend that route. I think it's better to be in a setting you are entirely comfortable with when you are learning to use the equipment.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    140
    66
    51
    48
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SCUBA with Red Sail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Been diving since '61. They run a great dive boat. They run on time. They are easy to gear up in. Dive sites are well described in their website. Dived several days. Two divemistresses, Zoey and Yevett. Both are true professionals. They are atuned to limitations of older, but not bolder, divers and they don't rush from one reef feature to another. You have time to look and enjoy. Snacks after dives are adaquate and refreshing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Safe, Fun Professional, Beautiful,
Had several great Safe Fun Dives! received my Advanced rating.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pwilson125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Went on a sunset sail last week with Red Sail Sports in Aruba. Sail was very enjoyable, Crew was friendly and fun, Jean-Pierre a great captain, all crew members were great. They offered to take our pictures...with or without them....!!!! One thing though that was very disappointing was the hors d'oeuvres. My husband and I had gone on this same sail in June 2011 and there were 4 or 5 different items for the hors d'oeuvres. So we told our friends who were vacatioining with us to expect this. However, last week-Thurs.Feb. 16-there were only 2 different items. One was meatballs in a brown sauce. They were tasty however one of our friends saw the container that they were being held in and it was marked Ostrich Farm!!!! So now of course the big topic amongst the friends who were with us is...Were they ostrich meatballs?! I said whatever they were they were good. The only other item that was offered was chicken nuggets which were horrible! Dried out and tasteless. On the cruise in June we were offered small skewers with olives and cheese, fried shrimp, and I think 2 other items. So overall cruise is very fun....can sit under cover or on the nets in front once the crew has all secured and you are underway. Wonderful sunset photos...we had a cloudy and a rainy day which by the time of the sail weather was great and perfect for a wonderful sunset in Aruba! No top shelf brands and only beer is Balashi. Crew does make great Aruba Ribas and another specialty drink the Green Iguana. Have a few of those and you will be well on your way to a Happy Cruise on One Happy Island!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenny2Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome first night experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Had a great time on the sail. Beautiful sights. Guides were fun. The trip turned for the better with dancing,drinking and a great time.

Helpful?
Thank kferguson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sail Sports Aruba also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Red Sail Sports Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing