We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marandi - CLOSED

Marandi
Price range: $23 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Marandi is Aruba's Sunset restaurant, one of the islands hidden treasures…Dine in a fabulous ambiance right above the turquoise waters on the “Laguna Pier”, either under a giant palapa hut or with the sky as your rooftop. Enjoy a majestic view of the Laguna Bay no matter where you are seated at Marandi, take in Aruba’s breathtaking sunset, totally surrounded by fishes, and later on the sparkling stars right above you… The sinfully delicious international flavored food, with a touch of the Caribbean combined with our attentive and friendly staff makes your dining experience second to none. You may also take a look into our ‘open’ kitchen, to see for yourself how our Chef and his kitchen crew are preparing the most outstanding dishes.The Marandi crew invites you to come, see and taste for yourself Aruba’s Sunset Restaurant, treat yourself to a not to miss dining experience!
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Wow, Paradise at the end of the road. A delightful welcoming staff, beautiful view and sunset Great food and drink, fabulous atmosphere. Marandi is part of the fond memories we now have of Aruba. We rented a car so getting there is a bit of a challenge, Marandi's is off the beaten path so go slow and look for the small signs along the way. We left in the dark and had a hard time navigating the route back to the main highway( got lost 3 times and had to back track) Our phone GPS did not work in Aruba, other than that...totally worth the adventure. Next year we will be back for sure

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    96
    30
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Our First meal on the island and one of our best. Views, Views, Views!”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I hadn't been to Marandi in two years and heard that a new menu was receiving mixed reviews. The only complaint I could make is that we arrived 10 minutes early and the hostess began with the following line, "You are opening up the restaurant". She didn't seem thrilled.
We were first so we were seated right on the edge of the water a bit before sunset. Our cocktails were amazing. They accommodated my request to make a mojito without sugar.
Our wahoo appetizer was lovely and the service was phenomenal.
Our party had the stuffed lobster, curry chicken dish and the grouper.
The ever-changing sunsets are spectacular and the new desserts are just to die for. Make a reservation close to 6:00 to catch the sunset and sit back and relax a nice long meal. If you don't have a car this is hike and an $$$ cab ride.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pepebrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“5-star quality food in a perfect setting”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was one of our two favorites in Aruba (Yemanja was the other). The food was spectacular, and we sat on the corner of the deck that stretches right onto the beach overlooking the water. The service was perfect as well. I had a delectable lobster entree, and my husband had the duck entree, both of which were beautifully prepared. This would be the first place I would want to visit if we return to Aruba!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RestaurantCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“First Visit - Glad We Came”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We have wanted to try Marandi for years and due to the location we never made it before. We arrived just before sunset and was seated right at the waters edge. The atmosphere was wonderful and when a jet took off at the nearby airport the noise was hardly noticeable.

The menu has limited selections but we wanted local seafood and were not disappointed. I had Wahoo for the first time and it was heavenly. There was a slight sticker shock as we adjusted to the resort area prices but Marandi is in line with the other fine dining restaurants on the island.

The one draw back is for those who are mobility challenged. There is no easy way to get down from the parking lot if your knees don't work well so keep that in mind if your joints don't work like they used to.

We look forward to returning during our next visit to Aruba.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aout_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
1 review
“Simply perfection!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here last night and it was amazing! The setting is so beautiful--an elegant torch lit, palm fronded roof on a deck overlooking the water at sunset. They call themselves 'Aruba's Sunset Restaurant' for a reason! A perfect view of the magnificently colored sky and the calm blue water. The food was the best I've had here in Aruba and the service was excellent. I had the catch of the day--grilled tuna and two giant shrimps on a bed of pumpkin risotto with asparagus spears and a delicious sauce! My husband had the rock lobster tail with couscous and edamame. I cannot say enough about this place! Not to be missed! Make a reservation!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 031512h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marandi also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing