We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place to be for fresh fish!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood

Driftwood
Ranked #20 of 220 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are located in the heart of characteristic downtown Oranjestad and offer you a unique dining experience. Enjoy the freshest fish, biggest shrimp, or the most succulent Caribbean lobster amid the rustic ambience of the natural driftwood dining room. Our menu includes a large variety of typically Aruban delicacies including our three star fish soup and our mouth-watering filet of fish served with a mild Aruban Creole sauce... A seafood lovers dream come true. Furthermore all dishes are prepared with an Aruban touch and accompanied by Pan Bati, our famous Aruban corn bread. We welcome you to our intimate and comfortable Aruban seafood restaurant where we will do our utmost to make your dining experience a most pleasant and enjoyable one. Welcome to Driftwood!
Bloemond
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Place to be for fresh fish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

You will not be disappointed if you are a fish lover. I never tried anything else on the menu, so I cannot rate anything else. The fixed price 3 course menu is a great option and still has enough choices to please anyone. Service is great and the portions are generous. I was there today and the place was packed with mainly tourist and a few locals including me and my wife.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    466
    218
    77
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Owner waited on table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have been to the Driftwood before and always have a great dinner. Tonight was no different. Michael was our waitor and he did an exceptional job. We were attended to promptly upon arriving. The Lobster tail was delicious as was the special fish of the night, Mahi. It was so good to have a baked potaoes with our meal. We will return on our next trip. You can't go wrong at Driftwood.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pjhofoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Catch and Do Not Release Until Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were fortunate enough to take the Driftwood fishing charter, and make a dinner reservation after catching 4 large wahoo and a mahi-mahi. The restaurant itself is a warm, inviting, and rustic place. Service was very professional and friendly. Our deal: If you catch your own fish, they will make it five ways: Fried, blackened, pan-fried, grilled, and piccata-style,with an egg batter. Each came with a special sauce. Because our catch involved two types of fish, we were brought an enormous platter of fish, rice and vegetables. There were three of us, and enough fish for 10. Each preparation was perfect. The tartar sauce, garlic/lemon butter, creole sauce, fruit curry sauce, and an amazing cold salsa vinegar sauce complimented the fish perfectly. The fish could not have been fresher--we caught it that afternoon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poundpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“very mixed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

First, the service was excellent. The fish soup was delicious and hearty. My swordfish was grilled and I could taste the gas from the grill in the fish. And someone let the salt out. The Aruban salsa was salty and the steamed vegetables were salty. The caramel flan was sweet but couldn't tell it was caramel. Now from my husband the green salad was out of a bag and the salad dressing was bottled. His fish however was very tasty, not too salty and they were kind enough to make the 'on the side' sauce mild. The high point of the meal was the corn bread which was delicious. Gotta tell you about the background music: it was awful '80's...BeeGees, Dionne Warwick..hank heavens the restaurant started to fill up so that it was difficult to hear.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greatpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Freshest Fish in Aruba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from a week in Aruba and had a great experience dining at the Driftwood Restaurant in Orangejstad, Aruba. Owner has his own boat and whatever he nets is the Catch of the Day (Wahoo, Swordfish, Tuna and of course Grouper). You choose from four different preparations. Delicious food , great service and fair price. Word to the wise, ask for the special menu, you get practically the same selections at a prix fixe of $26.95 (soup, salad, entree & desert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluestonewillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Driftwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing