We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved the decor”
Review of Driftwood

Driftwood
Ranked #20 of 222 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are located in the heart of characteristic downtown Oranjestad and offer you a unique dining experience. Enjoy the freshest fish, biggest shrimp, or the most succulent Caribbean lobster amid the rustic ambience of the natural driftwood dining room. Our menu includes a large variety of typically Aruban delicacies including our three star fish soup and our mouth-watering filet of fish served with a mild Aruban Creole sauce... A seafood lovers dream come true. Furthermore all dishes are prepared with an Aruban touch and accompanied by Pan Bati, our famous Aruban corn bread. We welcome you to our intimate and comfortable Aruban seafood restaurant where we will do our utmost to make your dining experience a most pleasant and enjoyable one. Welcome to Driftwood!
Abbeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“loved the decor”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Service was very good. Our food was a little slow coming out and our waiter aplogized several time and served us free dessert. The fish soup was delicious as was the rest of our meal. Definitely a place I would return to.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    929
    483
    222
    78
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the lobster was 120z so so good”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

the location is hard to find but the food was very goood! and they do have fresh fish of day which we didn't ordered. we wanted lobster and crab legs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CeylaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The place to go for Fish”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Driftwood -- seafood restaurant. Decor could be translated to any US seacoast town. Food was awesome. Drinks made well. Ketel 1 martini extra dirty came with enough olives & olive juice to give good color, margarita was perfect, Aruba Arriba a local staple was a good balance of liquor & fruit, Bombay & tonic contained the right amount of gin. A pitcher of red sangria with the meal hit the spot and had an interesting hint of melon.
Fresh fish was wahoo in a choice of grilled, blackened, or broiled. Excellent and totally fresh. The land &sea kabob had one skewer of filet mignon cooked perfectly to the doneness requested the other skewer was shrimp and lobster grilled to perfection. Vegetables were fresh and cooked to a crisp perfection not boiled to mush as is so often the case, clearly part of the meal & not an afterthought. The shrimp scampi over pasta was generous and perfectly cooked with the pasta just slightly aldente. The shrimp was ordered with light garlic and it came exactly as requested. Deserts were all generous and the perfect end to an excellent meal. Meals were a few dollars more than some other restaurants $29 - $39 but the quality made it a good value. Service was very good without being fussy. The staff was friendly and accommodating

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy_Old_Man848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not bad, but...”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It seems to me that all of the 5 star ratings are from people who eat frozen TV dinners on a regular basis. Yes, the fish was fresh, and that was really their only saving grace. While it would be a good place to come if our kids were with us, they weren't. Instead, in our early 40s, we were the youngest by 30 years. Worse still, they have coupons. Apparently LOTS of coupons, because they were incredulous that we didn't bring some with us. We instead asked for the special menu, which was a reasonably good deal, if they had actually had the dessert we requested. We asked for it when we ordered and were told to wait until we were done, but by then the flan was gone. We didn't want ice cream or cake (not gluten free), so we got nothing. My shrimps were fresh, but the creole sauce was terrible. Baked potatoes were fresh and flaky, and the vegetable medley wasn't bad.

There was wine. Not much of a selection, but at least something. Service was very good from the assistants, but Frances, our main waiter, was busy and inattentive.

I think this is just what passes for food in Aruba. By far, our best meal was lunch at a roadside stand with Dominican fare that cost almost nothing. That tells me that there is hope here. Good luck with your search for good food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
271 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

As soon as we walked in, our expections dropped several notches downward. No restaurant that big with that extensive a menu and that many groups of 10 to 15 diners can crank out consistently top notch food. Driftwood was no exception.

The garlic bread was forgettable. The snails okay but could have used more garlic. The fish soup -- I've had tastier dish water. The shrimp and pasta was odd. Not bad, just odd. And the broiled wahoo, far from wonderful.

Service was attentive but given the size of the place and the number of large groups, the kitchen was slow.

If you do go (and I don't recommend it) there is one final word of warning. Driftwood offers a $25.95 3 course special where the regular menu price of the special menu mains exceeds that of the full dinner. But unless you know about the dinner and ask for it, the Driftwood servers won't mention it.

Is there anything positive I can say? The portions were huge. So if quantity is high on your list of restaurant attributes, keep Driftwood in mind.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Watsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Driftwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing