We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #60 of 229 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Price range: $1 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Aruba
1 review
“Bad food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

food was disgusting, service was bad. the lady was not paying attention. no wonder it is empty half of the time. plus the lady took a wrong order.....i wouldnt recommend it. we ordered chicken tikka, dont know what she gave us. it was chicken in gravy. also the naan were really bad. seemed like very old. it was just warmed up with a little butte on top.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank temperature_bd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taj Mahal”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

During the years 2001 through 2005, i spent approximately 80% of my paycheck on [various] vehicles and their constant repair, and the remaining 20% on Taj Mahal's paneer makhanwala. Following my stint on Aruba, I moved to India itself and never consumed finer paneer makhanwala than that of Aruba's Taj.

Taj Mahal serves better Indian food than even the finest restaurants in India--because TM fare is healthy and not laden with oil. Taj owner Rajesh is famous for his refusal to use preservatives of any kind; all ingredients are fresh and all dishes delicious. The lunch special is a great deal, but if you want a perfect meal, you must order this:

Green salad w/ raita
(mix green chutney + tamarind chutney together on top)

Paneer makhanwala + two roomali rotis (amazingly thin handkerchief bread)

RAJESH, PLEASE FEDEX ME SOME MAKHANWALA TO COSTA RICA!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brijin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh M, Owner at Taj Mahal, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you Brijin, I will surely fed ex you the paneer makhanwala

Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We ate there twice during our week on Aruba. Both times the food was excellent and there were no crowds.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really Great Indian Food”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a fantastic find during our trip to Aruba. The food was really, really good and we recommend this place to anyone. Prices were reasonable and everything was delicious! Well worth it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Indian cuisine at its best!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Taj Mahal is located smack in the heart of Oranjestad. It's just behind the big pink Royal Plaza Mall. The restaurant is small and intimate and serves some of the bets Indian food I have ever had anywhere. Jus ask for how spicy you want your food and they'll get it right on. Food lovers know all about Indian specialties so I'll just say this: you must try the garlic nan bread and the dal makhani!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing