We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious steak”

El Gaucho Argentine Grill
Ranked #18 of 225 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $49
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Gaucho, is a typical Argentine Steakhouse, famous for serving succulent Steaks grilled the Argentinian way. The decor, ambiance and music is rustic and Argentinian in every way. Leather art on the walls, wooden pillars and barrels,cow hide decor and more. The Restaurant is divided in 7 dinning rooms, each decorated to honor a region of Argentina:Mendoza the wine region, the famous Caminito Way, the Pampas fields.The menu is extensive with many choices of beef, poultry and seafood. The sides are included in the price and so are the fresh garlic bread and the 3 home made sauces to acompany your dinner.With over 38 years, serving the best and the biggest steaks, El Gaucho is the oldest established Restaurant on the Island.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious steak”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Took the family (3 kids, ages 15, 13, and 9) to El Gaucho after getting recommendations from friends. We ordered the Mixed Grill special: steak, pork ribs, chicken, and blood sausage, bottle of wine, side dishes, and dessert for $100. Two kids also ordered ribs and Caesar salad. Exceptional food and service. This restaurant is best for a date night without the kiddos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,946
    650
    315
    116
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Steak on Aruba? Yes”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having lived on Aruba for many years, there are times I wonder why anyone visiting Aruba would want a steak dinner. Aruba is a Caribbean island surrounded by water. The fish dishes are fantastic, fresh and the restaurants are plentiful.

However, IF that's what you really want, you cannot go wrong by making a reservation at El Gaucho. El Gaucho is located downtown in an old townhouse. It was the first Argentine restaurant to open on Aruba (1977) and it never forgot it's roots. Compared to some of the newer restaurants, El Gaucho's older, and not so intimate ambiance may not be to your liking, but if it's really good steak you want, this is the place the locals go.

My favorite here is the Gaucho Steak. It is 16 ozs of tender and perfectly cooked meat. When I'm not too hungry I might have the petite tenderloin; 8 ozs of equally well prepared meat. There is an excellent selection of sides, including broccoli sauteed with olive oil and garlic, and fried plantains which are a special treat. Generally I pass up dessert because I have already overdone it, BUT if you still have room, try the fried cheesecake. It's different and quite a treat. All the staff are out to make you feel at ease. Our waiter was friendly, attentive and knew the menu inside and out.

There are other "steak" restaurants on Aruba, but if you want the food and taste you cannot get in the US, this is the place to come to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambly, Québec
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A visit well worth it”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although we were staying at the Divi All Inclusives where the food was very good, we took a night out to go at El Gaucho that had been recommended by friends and we were very happy. The meat was excellent and so was the service. Also, we liked the decor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Slacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This food is simply amazing! My husband has been a Butcher for many years and rarely does not order steak out (not satisfied). Well he did order the 16 oz ribeye and I had petite tenderloin and it was the best meal of our 1 week stay! Staff was terrific! So very nice! Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank AngieGuinther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The place to go for a delicious steak dinner”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

El Gaucho was recommended to us during our last visit to Aruba and we knew we wanted to go back again this time! My husband had the Gaucho Steak, 16 ozs of juicy deliciousness, and I had a petite tenderloin (8 ozs of juicy deliciousness). They have an excellent selection of sides, including broccoli sautéed with olive oil and garlic, and fried plantains which are a special treat. For dessert we split the fried cheesecake which was quite good and very decadent. Our waiter was friendly and attentive, and even though I usually hate this sort of thing, the mariachi singer had such a beautiful voice that I couldn't help enjoying his serenade. Looking forward to returning to El Gaucho next time we're in Aruba!

Helpful?
Thank KGfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentine Grill also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to El Gaucho Argentine Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing