We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat, wonderful meat!”

El Gaucho Argentine Grill
Ranked #17 of 225 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $49
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: El Gaucho, is a typical Argentine Steakhouse, famous for serving succulent Steaks grilled the Argentinian way. The decor, ambiance and music is rustic and Argentinian in every way. Leather art on the walls, wooden pillars and barrels,cow hide decor and more. The Restaurant is divided in 7 dinning rooms, each decorated to honor a region of Argentina:Mendoza the wine region, the famous Caminito Way, the Pampas fields.The menu is extensive with many choices of beef, poultry and seafood. The sides are included in the price and so are the fresh garlic bread and the 3 home made sauces to acompany your dinner.With over 38 years, serving the best and the biggest steaks, El Gaucho is the oldest established Restaurant on the Island.
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meat, wonderful meat!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was the best meal during our trip to Aruba. If you like meat, this is the place to go. We enjoyed the Argentine Grill for two special, which included pork ribs, beef short ribs, filet mignon, blood sausage, pork sausage, and chicken breast, all served on a portable grill at our table. Tastefully spiced, and cooked to perfection. The side dishes were also very savory. The portion sizes were plentiful.

We picked this restaurant because when we asked the several taxi drivers and other locals we met, each and everyone of them said this was the best restaurant in town. They were right!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScreenName58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,910
    646
    313
    115
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best steak we've ever had!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Back home we were told by several friends to have dinner at El Gaucho so our second night in Aruba we took a taxi to town and walked until we found it. Not thinking, my husband wore his beach outfit and we were almost turned away because men aren't allowed to wear tank tops to dine there. However, the hostess asked a manger and they let us stay. Being a a steakhouse, we both ordered steak. He got the Gaucho steak, 1lb of meat! I got the surf and turf, shrimp and steak. The meat was THICK and tender... Both of us agreed it was the best cut of steak we had ever had.
The atmosphere was quaint and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. Definitely visit El Gaucho if you're a steak lover!

Helpful?
Thank Smnthcrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beef Lovers paradise.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

A highly recommended resturant by the locals and returning vistors to the island. The ribeye is huge (160z) and melts in your mouth like ice cream. Its that good. The gaucho platter is insanely large as my huband orders this everytime. We love this place and if you want good food and love beef, do try this place. It is a bit hard to find as we drove up and down a few streets until we found it, but if your taking a taxi, they know right where it is. The only complaint I have and it has nothing to do with the food is that they add a 15% service charge to your bill which most resturants on the island do. The only problem I have is that 10% of the service charge goes to the house and the remaining 5% is split among the waiters/waitresses. Sorry but this irritates me as I am use to paying 20% to our own waiter/waitress. When dining out in aruba, you must look at your bill and see if they add a 15% service charge which is the tip. We always gave a bit more to our own waiter/waitress and told them this is for you only. They deeply appreciate this and if they give you good service, they should be compensated for it, after all this is how they make a living.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylK752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

El Gaucho was recommended by friends. We ate there once during our visit and absolutely loved it. Everything was excellent from the food to the service. Our dining experience was amazing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iliana26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Anniversary week”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have been going to thus restaurant since 1998 and truly loved it until this past visit. They mixed up our order, the place was not as presentable as in prior years and quite frankly it just wasn't good. As many times as I gave visited aruba since 1998, this was the 1st time that we only went once. Don't think I will go back....very very disappointed !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jgerken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentine Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Gaucho Argentine Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing