We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good meal”

El Gaucho Argentine Grill
Ranked #18 of 225 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $49
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: El Gaucho, is a typical Argentine Steakhouse, famous for serving succulent Steaks grilled the Argentinian way. The decor, ambiance and music is rustic and Argentinian in every way. Leather art on the walls, wooden pillars and barrels,cow hide decor and more. The Restaurant is divided in 7 dinning rooms, each decorated to honor a region of Argentina:Mendoza the wine region, the famous Caminito Way, the Pampas fields.The menu is extensive with many choices of beef, poultry and seafood. The sides are included in the price and so are the fresh garlic bread and the 3 home made sauces to acompany your dinner.With over 38 years, serving the best and the biggest steaks, El Gaucho is the oldest established Restaurant on the Island.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another good meal”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Had another great Gaucho slab of beef at El gaucho. I really like the place. Always consistent, very good service, good meal. When you visit Aruba , just go to El gaucho. If you like steaks and other meat dishes, you will enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NY-Spartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,948
    651
    315
    116
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner and a Show”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hop on the bus outside of your hotel on the strip, and $2.50 and 15 minutes later, you are dropped off a block from El Gaucho. The food and wine are excellent, but we expect that from a top-rated Aruban steakhouse. The reasons to go to El Gaucho, however, are more about atmosphere. Excellent service, a guitar serenade table side, and the experience of seeing downtown Aruba make El Gaucho a must- do. Eat here. You won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If You Like Steak...”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Well worth the cab ride from the High Rise Hotel Area to the restaurant. Service was very good and the staff was friendly and courteous. Food is served on wooden plates that are sanitized, but this may creep some. You have the option to ask for a real plate. The atmosphere is wonderful and there is musical entertainment. We stayed at an "All Inclusive" hotel, but had to try El Gaucho based on recommendations from friends. We were not disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nsl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the Tenderlion Trio steak, pork and lamb At El Gaucho it was very nice. My wife liked the steak and lobster combo. Finished off with cheesecake and tiramisu and 2 Irish coffees. Good service and great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeldriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pretty good.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

From the reviews I read, and first hand history from other people, I was expecting this to be the best steak ever. Wile it was not, it was pretty good. We both ordered Gaucho steaks, which were all of 16oz. And we also started with the calimari. I thought the calimari was a bit rubbery, and was better at Zuzuroh. The service was fantastic and ambiance was just as good. If you haven't been here before, and you're driving, it can be a little difficult to find. I would eat here again on special occasions, but I think there are better value restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank washmjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentine Grill also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to El Gaucho Argentine Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing