We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast Restaurant in Aruba” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matthew's Beachside Restaurant

Matthew's Beachside Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 220 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual and chic, Matthew's is renowned as one of the best covered open-air beachfront restaurants in Aruba. Upscale Caribbean, International and seafood dishes are prepared using the freshest ingredients.Besides breakfast, lunch, dinner, we offer all you can eat spareribs on Tuesday's, Karaoke night after dinner party on Wednesdays, Italian night on Thursdays and of course our daily happy hours with live music at the bar on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday. If you are a sports fan, you'll be happy to know that there are 3 flat screens at the bar that are always showing your favorite sport.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Restaurant in Aruba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and myself had a breakfast at this restaurant at our last day in Aruba. The food and service was good, and we could have a relax time here. We would like to go back this restaurant again.


眼下に広がる青い海、白いビーチ、人も多いがあまり気にならず、ユッタリと過ごせます。料理は特別なものではなく、味も特別美味しいわけではないですが、朝食だと一人10ドル以下とアルーバにしては格安なので納得。

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wild_Jay_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    492
    165
    56
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a couple of times a lovely lunch and cocktails (a good Maitai and a modest Long Island). The salads were luscious and the service was fine. I love the location almost directly on the beach. Pricing is right.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jvw1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

DH and I had been looking forward to Tuesday night "All You Can Eat Ribs" at Matthew's to end our week-long trip "home" to Aruba. We had an early (5:30 p.m.) reservation which we made a week prior. We were seated promptly at a table which protected us from the on-again, off-again rains. We were lucky not to be under the tarp. Happy Hour is from 4 to 6 p.m. We placed an order for our drinks and waited ... We had a coupon for 10 percent off our meal which the waiter who delivered our drinks took and said he didn't think it would be accepted. We tried to find our waiter to order another round but he was no where to be found so we just took to flagging down whoever we could find. While DH's ribs were delicious my $39 filet was burnt and well done instead of Medium. No one ever checked on us so I just ate half. The bill finally came and we were charged full price for our happy hour drinks and the coupon was not applied. DH asked for a manager who corrected the bill and didn't even apologize. The staff seemed more concerned about moving tables in and out of the rain instead of service. We won't be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JSL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The food and service here was good. I loved the Matthews salad and thought the size was perfect for dinner. My husband had the grouper and thought it lacked flavor. Overall it was decent, but would not go back on our next trip to ARuba

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank marriedinaruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast Beach Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We absolutely loved that we found Matthew's the last day of our last trip. We came every other day for breakfast, and next time will certainly try lunch or dinner. The place is immaculate, the staff is top notch, and the food is yummy. Completely fell in love with the Aruban breakfast! Can't say enough about the service; the wait staff is so hospital. Did I mention that they serve steamed milk with the coffee -- delightful. Thank you for a wonderful start to our mornings!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 100moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthew's Beachside Restaurant also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Matthew's Beachside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing