We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, all around!”

Matthew's Beachside Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 222 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual and chic, Matthew's is renowned as one of the best covered open-air beachfront restaurants in Aruba. Upscale Caribbean, International and seafood dishes are prepared using the freshest ingredients.Besides breakfast, lunch, dinner, we offer all you can eat spareribs on Tuesday's, Karaoke night after dinner party on Wednesdays, Italian night on Thursdays and of course our daily happy hours with live music at the bar on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday. If you are a sports fan, you'll be happy to know that there are 3 flat screens at the bar that are always showing your favorite sport.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic, all around!”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Best breakfast and dinner we had on our vacation, and we actually drove out of the way to go here four times! Breathtaking ocean front, wonderful service, but the food was the best! And it was pretty affordable. We anxiously await our next visit to Aruba, I'm sure we will go here for a few more amazing meals.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    511
    170
    59
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast with a view and excellent service except for the $4 OJ upsell…”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Our breakfasts were the $7.95 specials (American and Aruban) which were great. We took the suggestion by our waiter for some fresh orange juice but possibly should have been told (or asked) about the cost, as the bill shocked us with $3.95 per glass for it! It was very good oj but not $8 worth. We would return, but no juice next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stranieri_divertenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Oceanside dining & food”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

During our vacation, we were lucky to have dinner here on a Tuesday where they had a special on All you can Eat Babyback ribs. We decided to order it and it exceeded our expectations. The ribs fell off the bones with very little fat. The BBQ sauce was delicious and it came with fries and cole slaw. The atmosphere was beautiful as the sun set as we were having dinner. What a great place to dine.
We also had lunch there a couple times and enjoyed some happy hours. I would definitely return and recommend the place to friends. The staff was very friendly too!!
- "The Iguana Whisperer"

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KelleyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riehen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food on the beach”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Enjoy the sunset with your feet in the sand. It's awesome!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank name_hg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This casual restaurant offers beachside dining with really good quality food and service. We were staying about a mile away, but the convenient bus service made this an easy stop for us. Dinner was very good both the meat and the fish exceeded our expectations. After having such a good dinner we returned again for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RKC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthew's Beachside Restaurant also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Matthew's Beachside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing